Port 4 Vlan

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
wmoore032
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 7:42    Post subject: Port 4 Vlan Reply with quote
Hi

I have lost my hair trying to figure this out, tried following this http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=1160

and I failed and another http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/VLAN_Detached_Networks_(Separate_Networks_With_Internet)

also I failed.

What I am trying to do is have ports 1-3
what my network is now 10.10.20.1

and port 4
10.10.30.1

I have a Linksys WRT610N V2
running Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/07/10) mega
build 14896

I have done the hard reset 30-30-30
and I am waiting to start over with any help and input.

PS. Also I do not want port 4 talking to 1-3 only have WAN access

Thanks!
Sponsor
DarkKnight93
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jun 2010
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 9:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
one thing you can try is doing that config:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=155220&highlight=

if you have any questions or the setup does not work, then just respond (;
wmoore032
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 14:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
thanks,

I tried all on the link you showed me and I can now access the virtual network at 10.192.168.1
but it is not handing out any ip's

on the ops screen shot he has

vlan3,3 for the dnsmmasq , is that supposed to be listed twice for 3?

this is what I have

[code]interface=vlan3
dhcp-option=vlan3,3,10.192.168.1
dhcp-range=vlan3,10.192.168.100,10.192.168.150,255.255.255.0,24h

Also, I know from virtual wirless setups I had to enable DHCPD on the Networking tab, does this also need to be done for vlan3 or does the above suppose to do the same thing?

this is what I have for firewall rules
copied same thing


[code]VLAN2=WAN
VLAN3=Detatched Network

#Internet Access
iptables -I FORWARD -i vlan3 -o vlan2 -m state --state NEW -j ACCEPT
#Network Access to br0 block
iptables -I FORWARD -i vlan3 -o br0 -m state --state NEW -j DROP
#Block Router Access
iptables -I INPUT -i vlan3 -m state --state NEW -j DROP
#Allow DHCP Access
iptables -I INPUT -i vlan3 -p udp --dport 67 -j ACCEPT[/code]

I did notice when I deleted the firewall rules making sure I did nothing wrong the devices did pull the 10.192.168.x for a second then went back to the main network ip.

Any more ideas?

Thanks again for your help.
DarkKnight93
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jun 2010
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 15:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
okay so your vlan3 is now online with its own gateway on 10.192.168.1 but you have no DHCP server on that subnet as is seems.
What settings did you do on the Setup/Basic Setup page? Is there the tick set on "Use DNSMasq for DHCP" (under the IP Settings)?

[qoute]dhcp-option=vlan3,3,10.192.168.1 for the dnsmmasq , is that supposed to be listed twice for 3?[/quote]

This means that for vlan3 the DNSMASQ Option 3 (IP Adress of the DHCP Server) is set to 10.192.168.1 -so it just one of the Options like Option 6 for handing out a custom DNS Server adress to the clients via DHCP.
This is a setting I recommend you to avoid DNS lookups in your seperated vlan.

Just your final code in the DNSmasq options field would be:

Code:
interface=vlan3
dhcp-option=vlan3,3,10.192.168.1
dhcp-range=vlan3,10.192.168.100,10.192.168.150,255.255.255.0,24h
dhcp-option=vlan3,6, 8.8.8.8, 8.8.4.4



vlan3.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  49.87 KB
 Viewed:  4946 Time(s)

vlan3.JPG



dnsmsasq.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  42.87 KB
 Viewed:  4946 Time(s)

dnsmsasq.JPG




Last edited by DarkKnight93 on Wed Jun 13, 2012 15:37; edited 1 time in total
DarkKnight93
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jun 2010
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 15:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
The DHCPD on the networking tab for our vlan3 has not to be enabled because we use dnsmasq as DHCP server ;)

For the iptables, the correct part of my post is this:

Code:

#Internet Access
iptables -I FORWARD -i vlan3 -o vlan2 -m state --state NEW -j ACCEPT
#Network Access to br0 block
iptables -I FORWARD -i vlan3 -o br0 -m state --state NEW -j DROP
#Block Router Access
iptables -I INPUT -i vlan3 -m state --state NEW -j DROP
#Allow DHCP Access
iptables -I INPUT -i vlan3 -p udp --dport 67 -j ACCEPT



iptables.jpg
 Description:
just enter the code above and click "Save Firewall"
 Filesize:  125.48 KB
 Viewed:  4947 Time(s)

iptables.jpg


wmoore032
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 16:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
thanks for the explanation

here is what I have, still no luck, rebooted router as well



3.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  35.93 KB
 Viewed:  4936 Time(s)

3.jpg



2.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  37.35 KB
 Viewed:  4937 Time(s)

2.jpg



1.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  54.38 KB
 Viewed:  4939 Time(s)

1.jpg




Last edited by wmoore032 on Wed Jun 13, 2012 16:42; edited 1 time in total
wmoore032
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 16:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
and other 2 shots


5.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  40.66 KB
 Viewed:  4932 Time(s)

5.jpg



4.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  52.46 KB
 Viewed:  4935 Time(s)

4.jpg


DarkKnight93
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jun 2010
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 17:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
mhm the only thing you can try... mhm... well don't know.

can you just try to leave the spaces out in dhcp-option=6, 8.8.8.8...?

which build have you installed? I've got the current 18946 from eko - but QoS is brocken -.-
wmoore032
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 17:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have build 14896
DarkKnight93
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jun 2010
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 17:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
mhm... might you try to update to a newer build like 15962. this build i had 2 years on my E2000 and everything worked like charm :)

also try to reset the router, do the configuration setp by step and due an endless pinging - sometimes changes like vlan setting to an port only affects when you wait a little - you mostly see an "hop" with ping 1ms, 1ms, No response, 1ms...

another idea: when you plugin any computer to port 4 so the new vlan3 and set a manual IP like 10.192.168.10 - then try to get internet access or ping other ips in your subnet - if it does work then our only open issue is the DHCP server ;)
wmoore032
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 17:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
that is the only build I see on the database page for my model.

Will try the manual method and will see what happens
DarkKnight93
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jun 2010
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 17:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
for flashing you might try this guide:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_WRT610N_v2.0#Installation
wmoore032
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 18:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
thanks uploaded to build 15962
will play with when I get back from doing some errands

thanks for your help
wmoore032
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 20:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
got it! Thanks, figured out port 4 is actually port 1 in the settings. All seems good now. Thanks for your help
wmoore032
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Jun 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 0:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
hrmm for some reason now I cannot connect to any virtual wireless lans after getting the above to work.

Tried with and without the vwlans on a seperate ip address.

I get wi-fi association failed on wireless devices. This is only on wl0.1 and wl0.2 which are all virtual off the main wlan.

Right now just trying to get the virtual wlans to work off my main network which is 10.10.20.x

once I can get this fixed will worry about separating them later

thanks



13.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  118.39 KB
 Viewed:  4812 Time(s)

13.jpg


Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum