Buffalo WZR-D1800H

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 47, 48, 49  Next
Author Message
mbze430
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2012 23:15    Post subject: wl1 40mhz 2.4ghz Reply with quote
Ok, looks like I already found a problem.

And yes I already did a 30-30-30 reset

WL1 is now the 2.4ghz/5ghz radio

but for some reason I can't get it to run in Mix Mode or NG-Mixed (2.4ghz) in 40mhz bandwith. The Wireless Status always shows "-1 + 1" at 216mbits

(already set WPA-Peronsal + AES)

And I have checked with inSSID, it doesn't show it being on 1 + 3



Last edited by mbze430 on Sat Jun 09, 2012 3:06; edited 2 times in total
Sponsor
Fractal
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1179

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 1:50    Post subject: Re: wl1 40mhz 2.4ghz Reply with quote
mbze430 wrote:
Ok, looks like I already found a problem.

And yes I already did a 30-30-30 reset

WL1 is now the 2.4ghz/5ghz radio

but for some reason I can't get it to run in Mix Mode or NG-Mixed (2.4ghz) in 40mhz bandwith. The Wireless Status always shows "-1 + 1" at 216mbits

(already set WPA-Peronsal + AES)

And I have checked with inSSID, it doesn't show it being on 1 + 3


I have been able to connect with Intel 6300 450mb wifi card I get link speed on 2ghz at 300mb link speed.. I did do a complete nvram erase and commit, and rebooted before I made any changes. Going to update my intel card drivers now to see if she connects at 450mb/s Smile and I will also test the 5ghz band..

so far so good...

-Fractal
tysonedwards
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Dec 2010
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 3:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
To clarify, is this build supposed to contain 802.11ac support, or simply 802.11n at present?

I attempted to set up a wireless bridge between two WZR-D1800H devices utilizing the following settings, however have only associated at 288M TX and 260M RX at a distance of 5 feet (288M TX / 273M RX at 20 feet as well).

AP Side:
Physical Interface wl0
Wireless Mode: Mixed
Wireless Network Name (SSID): Media
Wireless Channel: Auto
Channel Width: 80 MHz
Extension Channel: lower lower
Wireless SSID Broadcast: Enable
Sensitivity Range (ACK Timing): 2000
Network Configuration: Bridged

Physical Interface wl1
Disabled

Client Side
Physical Interface wl0
Wireless Mode: Client Bridge
Wireless Network Name (SSID): Media
Sensitivity Range (ACK Timing): 2000
Network Configuration: Bridged

Physical Interface wl1
Disabled

Wireless Security was disabled for the purposes of this test.
All other settings were set to defaults.

Speed tests conducted between both sides of the bridge only show 9.93MB/s on average.

This test was conducted between two identical Macbook Pros with Crucial M4 SSDs attached via Gigabit Ethernet directly to the network interfaces on both sides of the bridge using rsync of an 8GB file.

I am still screwing around with settings to see whether there is anything that I can do on my end to receive a more favorable results.
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6068
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 8:25    Post subject: Re: wl1 40mhz 2.4ghz Reply with quote
mbze430 wrote:
Ok, looks like I already found a problem.

And yes I already did a 30-30-30 reset

WL1 is now the 2.4ghz/5ghz radio

but for some reason I can't get it to run in Mix Mode or NG-Mixed (2.4ghz) in 40mhz bandwith. The Wireless Status always shows "-1 + 1" at 216mbits

(already set WPA-Peronsal + AES)

And I have checked with inSSID, it doesn't show it being on 1 + 3



for 40 mhz use n only and not mixed
and the AC interface is wl0 and not wl1. so use wl0 which is the 5 ghz interface for 802.11ac. wl1 is not a 802.11ac card

_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

DD-WRT supported Concerts @ Bunker Dresden
18.7.2014 - London After Midnight


Last edited by BrainSlayer on Sat Jun 09, 2012 8:28; edited 1 time in total
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6068
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 8:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
tysonedwards wrote:
To clarify, is this build supposed to contain 802.11ac support, or simply 802.11n at present?

I attempted to set up a wireless bridge between two WZR-D1800H devices utilizing the following settings, however have only associated at 288M TX and 260M RX at a distance of 5 feet (288M TX / 273M RX at 20 feet as well).

AP Side:
Physical Interface wl0
Wireless Mode: Mixed
Wireless Network Name (SSID): Media
Wireless Channel: Auto
Channel Width: 80 MHz
Extension Channel: lower lower
Wireless SSID Broadcast: Enable
Sensitivity Range (ACK Timing): 2000
Network Configuration: Bridged

Physical Interface wl1
Disabled

Client Side
Physical Interface wl0
Wireless Mode: Client Bridge
Wireless Network Name (SSID): Media
Sensitivity Range (ACK Timing): 2000
Network Configuration: Bridged

Physical Interface wl1
Disabled

Wireless Security was disabled for the purposes of this test.
All other settings were set to defaults.

Speed tests conducted between both sides of the bridge only show 9.93MB/s on average.

This test was conducted between two identical Macbook Pros with Crucial M4 SSDs attached via Gigabit Ethernet directly to the network interfaces on both sides of the bridge using rsync of an 8GB file.

I am still screwing around with settings to see whether there is anything that I can do on my end to receive a more favorable results.


again. wrong networking mode. use n-only

ac is fully supported

_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

DD-WRT supported Concerts @ Bunker Dresden
18.7.2014 - London After Midnight
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6068
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 8:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
for consideration. my working setup with 1.3 gbit

WL0

Wireless Mode AP
Wireless Network Mode N-Only
Wireless Network Name (SSID) BLAHBLAH
Wireless Channel 149
Channel Width 80
Extension Channel lower lower


and again. consider. WL1 does not support 802.11ac. only wl0 does support it

_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

DD-WRT supported Concerts @ Bunker Dresden
18.7.2014 - London After Midnight
mbze430
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 8:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
NO BUENO... Changed to N Only (2.4ghz) still shows up weird with the -1 + 1

(I did a reboot of the router after I changed it as well)

Also checked inSIDDer, only shows up as 20mhz

PS: The Stock Buffalo firmware supported 2.4ghz in 40mhz width. I had it set on Channel 1, and inSIDDer shows it as 1 + 3



Last edited by mbze430 on Sat Jun 09, 2012 9:08; edited 2 times in total
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6068
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 9:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
could you please setup a channel setup? consider my example
_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

DD-WRT supported Concerts @ Bunker Dresden
18.7.2014 - London After Midnight
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6068
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 9:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
and again. wl1 is not a 802.11ac interface. wl0 is 802.11ac supported. you are only showing wl1 here and this is the wrong interface. 802.11ac is 5 ghz only
_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

DD-WRT supported Concerts @ Bunker Dresden
18.7.2014 - London After Midnight
mbze430
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 9:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am not trying to set up 801.11ac bridge.. that's someone else. I am just trying get regular N and G device to work in the 40mhz width.

Back to MY problem..

I also found out that no matter what channel I changed it to 1, 6, 11...etc... it's ALWAYS stuck on 1 according to inSIDDer. And it ALWAYS shows -1 + 1


---------------------------------------------------

Further testing. If I set WL1 to 40mhz width. It will ALWAYS be stuck at Channel 1 according to inSSIDer.

If I change WL1 to 20mhz width. It works fine. I can change it to 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11. It will show up correctly in inSSIDer.

So there is definitely a bug. Unless my flash is bad.

I already did 3x the 30-30-30 reset. I don't know how else to clear any bad "nvram".
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6068
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 9:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
for 40 mhz you need to setup a valid channel with the correct lower / upper combination. not all channels are valid for 40 mhz
_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

DD-WRT supported Concerts @ Bunker Dresden
18.7.2014 - London After Midnight
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6068
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 9:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
beside this 40 mhz has a default collision check by default. so it will check if the channel space is already used by other networks. if another network has been found, 40 mhz will get disabled. this is why 40 mhz wont work that good in 2.4 ghz. (the band is simply used by too many devices today)
in atheros based devices i made some patches to disable that behaviour if the user doesnt want such checks. but broadcom chipsets are different and the drivers are harder to patch

_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

DD-WRT supported Concerts @ Bunker Dresden
18.7.2014 - London After Midnight
mbze430
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 9:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
you don't find it strange that when I put it in 40mhz width, no matter what channel I set it to... let say I set it up for channel 6, but ALWAYS stays on channel 1?

Or I set it up for channel 11 at 40mhz, it also stays at channel 1.


What about the -1 + 1 in the status?

All these things lead me to think

1) bug
2) or something is stuck in my firmware(?)<- like I said I did the 30-30-30 reset 3 times. I don't know how else to "clean" it.

I originally have another Broadcom SoC router running WNDR3400 running at the same location and I have it set at 40mhz on Channel 1, and it never dropped. I moved the WNDR3400 to another location now running on 40mhz on Channel 11, works fine. And the WZR-D1800H is now sitting on the same spot that the WNDR3400 used to be. This make me to believe there isn't a problem with the collision check "detection".
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7042

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 9:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
mbze430 wrote:


I originally have another Broadcom SoC router running WNDR3400 running at the same location and I have it set at 40mhz on Channel 1, and it never dropped.


You can not create a 40MHz channel in channel 1, you would transmit outside the bandedge.

You can create the 40MHz channel in channel 3 and control channel as upper and then channel 1 will be the extension channel.

Show your wifi settings page for the D-1800, the wifi status page doesn't tell enough of your settings.
mbze430
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2012 10:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok.. just for argument sake.. Here.. I changed it to Channel 3 still @ 40mhz

Then Apply Setting follow by a complete reboot

Look for yourself... you guys make it sound like I am nutz but here are the proof



Here is the inSSIDer:
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 47, 48, 49  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 49
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum