ArcherC8 v2.0 Help Factory to DD-WRT (Solved 06-17-2017)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
SSVegeta
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Feb 2017
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 4:53    Post subject: ArcherC8 v2.0 Help Factory to DD-WRT (Solved 06-17-2017) Reply with quote
Please some one help me to install DD-WRT on ArcherC8 v2.0

Last edited by SSVegeta on Sat Jun 17, 2017 4:14; edited 2 times in total
Sponsor
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 1391
Location: London,UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 9:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
well, i can see it's supported https://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices#TP-Link

but i cant see the firmware for it

ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2017/02-07-2017-r31277/

as well there is a dedicated forum tread for it
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=300761&sid=3a3a5abb88b2f67d3fe5bfb24dc3061d

better ask there !

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv4 .......DD-WRT 31791 (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 33555 (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 33492 (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,No Wi-Fi)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2.......... Gargoyle OS 1.9.2(AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 ------------DD-WRT 33435M Kong (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,DNSCrypt x4)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---------DD-WRT 33435M Kong (AP,NAT,Privoxy,Country Block,Firewall,DNSCrypt x4)
Others
Netgear ProSAFE-GS105Ev2 ....(LAN Switch)
Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 967

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2017 16:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
As the table says. Use v1 file.
_________________
R7800 - BS 31924 running since 05/26/17 - (AP - OpenVPN Client - DNSMasq)
R7000 - BS 30771 running since 12/16/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - OpenVPN Server - Transmission - DDNS - DNSMasq)
R6250 - BS 29193 running since 03/20/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - DNSMasq)
SSVegeta
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Feb 2017
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2017 3:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Xeon2k8 wrote:
As the table says. Use v1 file.


V1 file send update error on the file
SSVegeta
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Feb 2017
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 20:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Up, please help
SSVegeta
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Feb 2017
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 4:01    Post subject: Factory to DD-WRT DONE!!! Reply with quote
After a lot of time of research I finally installed on my Archer C8 V2.

I found new information today on this link:
https://meszarosgabor.wordpress.com/2017/03/17/flash-dd-wrt-on-tp-link-archer-c8-v2-0/

Thats helps with the final solution, I will explain:

1. Download the original FW of Archer C8 V1 from TP-Link webpage (Archer_C8_V1_150515.zip) and extract it
2. Download gvim80.exe and any TFTP software
3. Download ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/11-14-2016-r30880/tplink_archer-c8v1/factory-to-ddwrt.bin, version 30880 for Archer C8 V1
4. Edit with gVim the original FW (archer_c8v1_un-up-ver3-17-0-P1[20150515-rel34700].bin and factory-to-ddwrt.bin of the C8 V1) at the end of the file you must change this line:
{product_name:ArcherC8,product_ver:1.0.0,special_id:00000000}
For:
{product_name:ArcherC8,product_ver:2.0.0,special_id:00000000}

5. Change the file name to ArcherC8v1_tp_recovery.bin
6. Set lan address to 192.168.0.66/24
7. Open TFTP software in the same folder of the .bin file (you must disable you firewall & antivirus)
8. press reset button on the back of the router for a long time (I was watching network traffic and keeped it pressed until the whole FW got pulled to the router)

9. Check the firmware was loaded Ok so go to http://192.168.0.1 at the button of the page you will see the Firmware version:3.17.0-P1 Build 20150515 Rel.34700 (this is the Archer C1) but in Hardware Version you must see Archer C8 V2

10. Now change the name of the ArcherC8v1_tp_recovery.bin to working.bin
11. Now change the name of the factory-to-ddwrt.bin to ArcherC8v1_tp_recovery.bin
12. Repeat the step 7, after finish
13. Set lan address to 192.168.1.66/24 or to DHCP
14. logging to DD-WRT web http://http://192.168.1.1/Management.asp
15. Enjoy it
16. You can also update to the latest version using the archer-c8-webflash.bin of the V1

Always you can back or recover the original firmware just download the latest original version and rename it to ArcherC8v1_tp_recovery.bin and use the step 6 and 7 to load it on the router.

Hope this tutorial help you.

Use this with careful I'm not responsible if you brick your router



Capture.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  113.47 KB
 Viewed:  3819 Time(s)

Capture.JPG


Xeon2k8
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 967

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 5:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nice tut man (y)
_________________
R7800 - BS 31924 running since 05/26/17 - (AP - OpenVPN Client - DNSMasq)
R7000 - BS 30771 running since 12/16/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - OpenVPN Server - Transmission - DDNS - DNSMasq)
R6250 - BS 29193 running since 03/20/16 - (AP - NAS - FTP - SMB - DNSMasq)
gabizegrean
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Oct 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 16:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
@SSVegeta,
Are you satisfied with DD-WRT on the Archer C8 v2?
You have good speed on 2.5 and 5 GHz wireless network?
Is stable?
TNX!
SSVegeta
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Feb 2017
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 0:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
gabizegrean wrote:
@SSVegeta,
Are you satisfied with DD-WRT on the Archer C8 v2?
You have good speed on 2.5 and 5 GHz wireless network?
Is stable?
TNX!

Yes, I'm very satisfied, the only issues is the lights doesn't work fine, but the connectivity work fines for me
gabizegrean
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Oct 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 5:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
I installed dd-wrt on my c8, but the wifi speed dropped a lot. From 250 Mbps to 80-100 Mbps (in the 5 GHz band) and in 2.4 GHz, under 50 Mbps.
DD-WRT v3.0-r30880


Last edited by gabizegrean on Fri Jul 07, 2017 10:26; edited 1 time in total
gabizegrean
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Oct 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 17:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Unfortunately, returning to the original firmware is no longer working ... Sad
SSVegeta
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Feb 2017
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 15:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
gabizegrean wrote:
I installed dd-wrt on my c8, but the wifi speed dropped a lot. From 250 Mbps to 80-100 Mbps (in the 5 GHz band) and in 2.4 GHz, under 50 Mbps.
DD-WRT v3.0-r30880

For me it´s works fine, the problem is when restart the router I have to restart httpd and wan services.
SSVegeta
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Feb 2017
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Jul 24, 2017 15:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
gabizegrean wrote:
Unfortunately, returning to the original firmware is no longer working ... Sad


Try to download the original firmware of C8 V1 and recover with the reset button.

5. Change the file name to ArcherC8v1_tp_recovery.bin
6. Set lan address to 192.168.0.66/24
7. Open TFTP software in the same folder of the .bin file (you must disable you firewall & antivirus)
8. press reset button on the back of the router for a long time (I was watching network traffic and keeped it pressed until the whole FW got pulled to the router)
gabizegrean
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Oct 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 12:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
SSVegeta wrote:
gabizegrean wrote:
Unfortunately, returning to the original firmware is no longer working ... Sad


Try to download the original firmware of C8 V1 and recover with the reset button.

5. Change the file name to ArcherC8v1_tp_recovery.bin
6. Set lan address to 192.168.0.66/24
7. Open TFTP software in the same folder of the .bin file (you must disable you firewall & antivirus)
8. press reset button on the back of the router for a long time (I was watching network traffic and keeped it pressed until the whole FW got pulled to the router)


I followed this procedure exactly. Repeatedly.
The firmware loads 100%, then the router restarts but with the previous firmware version.
And reset button not function. Pressed short or long time.
qzem
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Nov 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:53    Post subject: TP-Link Archer C8 v2 Reply with quote
Is DDWRT still developed for this router? I wonder if there are any significant issues when using it. I would really like to install DDWRT on my archer, but now I am not sure if itis worth the trouble, since some user is reporting wifi speed drop and being unable to revert back to factory firmware.

Also if some is having go experience with ddwrt on this router, let me know Smile
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum