New BS release (r25139-testing)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
smapdi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Sep 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 14:44    Post subject: New BS release (r25139-testing) Reply with quote
So it seems there is a new build out:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/other-downloads?path=betas%2F2014%2F10-22-2014-r25139-testing%2F

Has anyone flashed it? If so, did you go back to stock then go to the BS version? Can a Kong release be flashed to a BS release? If so, is a reset required?

On a side note: I miss the simple Kong changelog...

EDIT: changed the link to point to the generic directory instead of the R7000 specific one.

MOD EDIT:
This build thread is for reporting successes and problem with loading this experimental test build. This is important info for developers and users. Always state your hardware and SPECIFIC build. (eg: 25139_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega-nv64k.bin). Do not ask questions about your specific router or how to configure it in this thread; create your own thread to discuss any specific problems you have or need resolved. This thread is to report info, not to seek it. Posts that do not add to understanding this build will be deleted. Make sure you know how to flash properly and the risk before using this build. It is important to adhere to these requirements, to keep this thread from becoming impossibly long and useless.
If you don't know what build to flash and how to flash properly and have a means of recovery if things should go wrong, do NOT flash this experimental test build.


Last edited by smapdi on Wed Oct 22, 2014 19:11; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
An@l0gue
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jul 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 18:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Succesfully flashed from Kong 25100M to BS r25139.

2.45Ghz disabled as i don't use it, but 5Ghz running nicely up time of 1h15mins, so early days.
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 10939
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 18:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Running K3.x big build on my RT-N16 unit. All is working but the Country Regulatory Domain can not be changed from Europe to anything else.

Other than this...its working fine in Repeater mode.

redhawk

_________________
I currently test dd-wrt on Asus, Buffalo, Linksys, and Netgear. Too many to list.

Looking for more test units (newer models) for the project...got a brick?...PM me to make a hardware donation. (USA) A donation is not a debricking service....it is a way to "Give back" to the dd-wrt project.

I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
s-f-r-j
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 18:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
An@l0gue wrote:
Succesfully flashed from Kong 25100M to BS r25139.

2.45Ghz disabled as i don't use it, but 5Ghz running nicely up time of 1h15mins, so early days.


Did you do factory reset\reconfigure, or just upgrade?

_________________
Kong DD-WRT firmware (download)
http://ddwrt.serdarevic.net
An@l0gue
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jul 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 18:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
I flashed with WebUI and selected 'Reset to Default Settings' from the drop down list before pressing upgrade. I did not 'Restore to Factory defaults' before the flash.
Gingernut
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Jul 2007
Posts: 227

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 18:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
ex6200 states a succsseful upgrade but reboots to the same Kong build 25015M
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6096
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 18:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
redhawk0 wrote:
Running K3.x big build on my RT-N16 unit. All is working but the Country Regulatory Domain can not be changed from Europe to anything else.

Other than this...its working fine in Repeater mode.

redhawk


interesting. thats not supposed as it should be

_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

DD-WRT supported Concerts @ Bunker Dresden
03.10.2014 - Front 242 / Haujobb / Planet Myer Day
s-f-r-j
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 19:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
is pptp working properly here? *Client*

tnx

_________________
Kong DD-WRT firmware (download)
http://ddwrt.serdarevic.net
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 10939
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 19:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
BrainSlayer wrote:
redhawk0 wrote:
Running K3.x big build on my RT-N16 unit. All is working but the Country Regulatory Domain can not be changed from Europe to anything else.

Other than this...its working fine in Repeater mode.

redhawk


interesting. thats not supposed as it should be


Regulatory Mode and TPC Mitigation Factor can be changed...and they keep...but the Regulatory Domain won't change from EUROPE

redhawk

_________________
I currently test dd-wrt on Asus, Buffalo, Linksys, and Netgear. Too many to list.

Looking for more test units (newer models) for the project...got a brick?...PM me to make a hardware donation. (USA) A donation is not a debricking service....it is a way to "Give back" to the dd-wrt project.

I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6096
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 20:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
s-f-r-j wrote:
is pptp working properly here? *Client*

tnx


yes. as always its working properly.

_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

DD-WRT supported Concerts @ Bunker Dresden
03.10.2014 - Front 242 / Haujobb / Planet Myer Day
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6096
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 20:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
redhawk0 wrote:
BrainSlayer wrote:
redhawk0 wrote:
Running K3.x big build on my RT-N16 unit. All is working but the Country Regulatory Domain can not be changed from Europe to anything else.

Other than this...its working fine in Repeater mode.

redhawk


interesting. thats not supposed as it should be


Regulatory Mode and TPC Mitigation Factor can be changed...and they keep...but the Regulatory Domain won't change from EUROPE

redhawk


already fixes. see trac

_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

DD-WRT supported Concerts @ Bunker Dresden
03.10.2014 - Front 242 / Haujobb / Planet Myer Day
NiTrus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 168
Location: Coon Rapids, MN

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 20:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
upgraded from 25090 to 25139..dnsmasq must not be updated to 2.72? need for ipv6 and enable-ra's..
_________________
RT-R7000 | 25139 [BS]
AP-WNDR3700 | 25139 [BS]
JohnnySL
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Oct 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 20:50    Post subject: Linksys E3000 Reply with quote
Router: Linksys WRT610N-V2 modded to E3000
was running: Kong 22000++
Am a long time lurker on these forums (i think 10+ years Embarassed), and DD-wrt user since like forever.

This is the first time i'm running into completely broken code.

First upgraded to dd-wrt.v24-25139_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin, after reboot the router showed up as a Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS, with 2* 2.4GHZ wireless (instead of 1*2.4ghz and 1*5ghz). nvram reset did not cure this issue.

Afterwards upgraded to dd-wrt.v24-25139_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega-nv60k.bin
Router was no longer reachable via LAN afterwards, did a 30-30-30. Router was still not reachable via lan afterwards, but now did show up via WIFI. Via WIFI i could see that the LAN mac-addresses were lost (showing 00:00:00:00:00:02 on both wan and lan).

There is definitively something seriously broken with this build for the E3000.

Flashed the router back to Kong 22000++ for now.

If wanted i can supply screenshots from the status and wifi pages of the builds tested.
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6096
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 21:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
NiTrus wrote:
upgraded from 25090 to 25139..dnsmasq must not be updated to 2.72? need for ipv6 and enable-ra's..


dnsmasq cannot be upgraded so easy since they also removed features i need. for ipv6 you dont need dnsmasq since everything else like dhcpv6 etc is included (see ipv6 tab)

_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

DD-WRT supported Concerts @ Bunker Dresden
03.10.2014 - Front 242 / Haujobb / Planet Myer Day
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6096
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 21:02    Post subject: Re: Linksys E3000 Reply with quote
JohnnySL wrote:
Router: Linksys WRT610N-V2 modded to E3000
was running: Kong 22000++
Am a long time lurker on these forums (i think 10+ years Embarassed), and DD-wrt user since like forever.

This is the first time i'm running into completely broken code.

First upgraded to dd-wrt.v24-25139_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin, after reboot the router showed up as a Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS, with 2* 2.4GHZ wireless (instead of 1*2.4ghz and 1*5ghz). nvram reset did not cure this issue.

Afterwards upgraded to dd-wrt.v24-25139_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega-nv60k.bin
Router was no longer reachable via LAN afterwards, did a 30-30-30. Router was still not reachable via lan afterwards, but now did show up via WIFI. Via WIFI i could see that the LAN mac-addresses were lost (showing 00:00:00:00:00:02 on both wan and lan).

There is definitively something seriously broken with this build for the E3000.

Flashed the router back to Kong 22000++ for now.

If wanted i can supply screenshots from the status and wifi pages of the builds tested.


if it shows up as wrong detected router, then your homebrew modification likelly run wrong. the router model is detected by the nvram parameters specific for the device. wrong detection means, wrong nvram settings

_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

DD-WRT supported Concerts @ Bunker Dresden
03.10.2014 - Front 242 / Haujobb / Planet Myer Day
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum