Firmware Upgrade Successful but No Change

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
cas8100
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Nov 2009
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 2:22    Post subject: Firmware Upgrade Successful but No Change Reply with quote
Have some weirdness going on with my E2500 V3. I flashed Fractal's 23569 to the V3 which worked marvelously. Afterwards I flashed 23598 which also worked well.

But... now I'm trying to go back to 23569. The webGUI firmware upgrade happens very fast, and says that the upgrade was successful. However, when it reboots I'm still stuck with 23598 and no change.

Have tried 30/30/30 before and after with no luck. Router still appears to be functioning 100% with the exception that it won't take an update.

Any ideas?

Thx.
Sponsor
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 11414

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 2:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Clear browser cache.
_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor. So See this:
http://i31.tinypic.com/24mz3ms.png

LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
cas8100
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Nov 2009
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 2:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
No joy. Using IE. Have tried to flash both back to Fractals initial trailed build for the V3 and to Shibby's TomatoUSB 123 (for E2500V3). It says the upgrade is successful and only takes 5-10 seconds. The router reboots and I'm back to the same place where I started.
cas8100
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Nov 2009
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 3:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
More information...

Was able to successfully upgrade to K3.X 23838 from K3.X 23598.

However, I'm unable to go BACK to Fractal's initial trailed build for the V3 which is a K2.6 build.

Also still unable to flash over to Shibby's TomatoUSB (end goal).

Is there some unique difference to the K3.X that once I've left the initial trailed build, I can't go back?
Gameman Advanced Kid
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2012
Posts: 602

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 3:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
did you check your ethernet cable?

update network drives on computer?

did you try flashing the router on another computer?

did you try flashing the latest BS build?

do you know how to do a serial recovery?

_________________
-CURRENT ROUTERS-

Netgear R6250 - Kong build 25090

Linksys E3000 - Tomato Shibby 123

Linksys WRT300n - Brainslayer build 19519 k2.4
cas8100
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Nov 2009
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 3:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
ethernet cable is good. Will try a different computer tomorrow. I was able to get to 23838 so I'm thinking it has to be some type of issue with going backwards from K3.x.

I was hoping I could get back to the initial trailed build for the V3 so that I could jump to Shibby.

Sadly, I don't know how to do a serial recovery. It's not that I can't figure it out, but the $35.00 to replace the router may not justify the time and equipment involved to learn how to do a serial recovery.

Will report back on if a different computer works...
cas8100
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Nov 2009
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 14:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
New cable. New computer. Still no luck. The update takes about 10 seconds, says it was successful and I'm still at 23838. I even downloaded a different copy of Fractal's initial trailed build for the V3 in case there was an issue with the bin.

Any other ideas aside from a serial recovery? The router isn't bricked, works great at 23838 so I'm still confused about what is going on. [/img]
cas8100
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Nov 2009
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 22:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tried going back to Stock and same thing. Quick flash and "Upgrade Successful," but no dice.

Have tried TFTP with the stock firmware this afternoon but can't seem to get it to successfully connect.
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 11414

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2014 23:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
use a different browser.
_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor. So See this:
http://i31.tinypic.com/24mz3ms.png

LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
cas8100
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Nov 2009
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried both Chrome and IE with the same result. On the advice of a different forum, I think I got myself up the river without a paddle.

From SSH I gave the commands "erase linux" and "erase nvram" hoping that I could tftp the stock firmware.

Green light just blinks now and I can't get a ping response from the router.

Time for a new box??
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 11414

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2014 15:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Note 6 of the peacock announcement.
_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor. So See this:
http://i31.tinypic.com/24mz3ms.png

LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
cas8100
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Nov 2009
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 22:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
OK - So I haven't given up yet. I have been successful getting a ttl=100 ping from the router on 192.168.1.1.

I am using tftp-hpa on Ubuntu to attempt the transfer of both/either stock firmware from Linksys and/or Fractal's initial trailed build.

The tftp client successfully connects to the router on port 69 but I keep getting timeouts. While I attempt the "Put" command the ping is continuously responding with TTL=100.

From Terminal:
tftp> status
Connected to 192.168.1.1.
Mode: octet Verbose: on Tracing: off Literal: off
Rexmt-interval: 1 seconds, Max-timeout: 60 seconds
tftp> put E2500.bin
putting E2500.bin to 192.168.1.1:E2500.bin [octet]
Transfer timed out.

Any suggestions on getting the tftp to work? It seems like the router is just waiting for new firmware....
cas8100
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Nov 2009
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 2:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Fixed!! via the Maintenance Mode as described here:

http://blog.rim3y.net/2010/02/unbrick-your-linksys-router-wrt54gs-v7/

I have not tried flashing Tomato yet, but it's at least back to DD-WRT.

Hope it helps someone else out down the road. Thanks for all the suggestions folks.
jmheisz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Nov 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 21:52    Post subject: Issues flashing e2500v3 (rapid failure) Reply with quote
cas8100 wrote:
No joy. Using IE. Have tried to flash both back to Fractals initial trailed build for the V3 and to Shibby's TomatoUSB 123 (for E2500V3). It says the upgrade is successful and only takes 5-10 seconds. The router reboots and I'm back to the same place where I started.


I had the same problem, flash through the trailed build and then tried Shibby's build 123. Got the same thing, quickly exited the load and restarted into dd-wrt. Then I noticed that the 123 build is 16Mb but the ROM space on the E2500 is only 8Mb. Tried build 121 (6.7Mb) and it worked fine, even though it isn't labelled for the V3...
cas8100
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Nov 2009
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2014 4:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
After my whole ordeal, I attempted to re-flash 123 and got the same issue. The build that Shibby has designated as V3 wouldn't take but the regular 123 build worked just fine. I think had I attempted that build in the first place I wouldn't have had to go through all the trouble.

I'm still having significant stability issues with the V3 running 123. It reboots several times a day. Haven't had any issues with my V1 running 123 so I'm not sure what is up with it. Hoping to swap it out for a V2 this weekend
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum