Cisco Linksys EA6500 V2 AC Router and DD-WRT?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
not1ofthepack
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Sep 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2014 2:53    Post subject: Cisco Linksys EA6500 V2 AC Router and DD-WRT? Reply with quote
I have been looking for a tutorial on how to get DD-WRT on an EA6500 V2 with no luck. I see some have been successful in getting it on, but no details no how it was done.

How did you guys do it?
Sponsor
kewiha
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Sep 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2014 17:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Go to the main ddwrt site and under other downloads > betas > [build #] > ea6500v2 and upload the .bin over wired to the router via the linksys gui (poke around, don't remeber where). Usually the largest build # is the most stable, look up that build before using long-term. You will need to flash an older build because the file is too big. Once you're in ddwrt you can flash whatever size build you like.

The EA series has a bug where when nvram (the place settings are stored) has more than 32kb, stuff like 2.4ghz wifi breaks when you reboot. The latest build uses ~29kb right off the bat, so it's really tight. In theory you could back up your config (probably before you hit 32kb) and use a battery backup so the router never reboots.

Effectively you can't use many of the features of ddwrt if you want to be under 32kb. If you're doing it for the lulz the stock firmware will be less of a headache provided you don't have intermittant 2.4ghz like I did.
not1ofthepack
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Sep 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 3:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you for the reply. It sounds like it would be better to sell this one and find a newer model.
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 553

PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2014 15:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
kewiha wrote:
Go to the main ddwrt site and under other downloads > betas > [build #] > ea6500v2 and upload the .bin over wired to the router via the linksys gui (poke around, don't remeber where). Usually the largest build # is the most stable, look up that build before using long-term. You will need to flash an older build because the file is too big. Once you're in ddwrt you can flash whatever size build you like.

The EA series has a bug where when nvram (the place settings are stored) has more than 32kb, stuff like 2.4ghz wifi breaks when you reboot. The latest build uses ~29kb right off the bat, so it's really tight. In theory you could back up your config (probably before you hit 32kb) and use a battery backup so the router never reboots.

Effectively you can't use many of the features of ddwrt if you want to be under 32kb. If you're doing it for the lulz the stock firmware will be less of a headache provided you don't have intermittant 2.4ghz like I did.


Does this apply to the EA6500 V1 as well?

TIA

Al
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum