"EA6300V1" (Q87-EA6400) BCM4360

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 88, 89, 90  Next
Author Message
jhasty01
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Apr 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 21:27    Post subject: "EA6300V1" (Q87-EA6400) BCM4360 Reply with quote
Hello, I am surprised after looking around quite a bit and not being able to find this anywhere..

I was wondering about future support for this product (assuming it's a yes, but just want to make sure) -- and also in general want to let people know about it.


Here is an article about it with technical information on radios/etc http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-features/32089-a-nice-surprise-for-early-linksys-ea6300-buyers

CPU BCM4708A0
Switch BCM4708A0 Gigabit
Ram 128MB (Hynix H5PS1G63JFR-S6C)
Flash 128MB (Spansion S34ML01G100TF100)
2.4 GHz BCM43217 2x2 802.11b/g/n
5GHz BCM4360, RMFD RFFM4501 802.11a/n/ac (x3)

I hope that I am posting this in the right area and that there are no duplicates, as I did not see it in the Linksys thread and I did a google search with dd-wrt.com and EA6300 / 6400.

take care
John
Sponsor
jhasty01
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Apr 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 21:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
No replies? Really?

Very interesting. .
Fractal
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1239

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 3:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
jhasty01 wrote:
No replies? Really?

Very interesting. .


Same hardware as defined in this forum thread.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=162802

-Fractal
jhasty01
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Apr 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 5:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Fractal wrote:


Same hardware as defined in this forum thread.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=162802

-Fractal


Fantastic! Thank you for pointing that out to me. I just read that entire thread and another thread linked with it. It seems you know a lot about this device. Do you know that if/when the EA6500 is supported, this device will be aswell since it's so similar? Sorry, just clarifying and do not like to assume. If it's a "yes" I will probably go buy one before the second version comes out.

Thank you again.
John
ssnova
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Aug 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Aug 23, 2013 22:42    Post subject: 2 questions about this router.. Reply with quote
Had 2 questions pertaining to this:

First... is there anything on the outside of the box that would indicate that you are getting a V1? I didn't see the fcc-id on the outside of the boxes( I was looking at them in the store today).


Second, as a router, using the stock firmware, how is the V1 treating ya? There seems to be a lot of negative consumer reviews (namely amazon and newegg) stating how slow the performance would get(perhaps indicating massive garbage collection)? Are you happy with it stock?


I didn't mean to threadjack, just wanted to add to the thread. I was thinking about getting this, but seems like it doesn't officially have dd-wrt support yet?(saw a link to the guide, but no guide yet-for the ea6500). So I figured I'd be using it stock until that happens.
--------------------------------------

Edit: Went out and bought one, turned out to be a ea6300v1/ea6400, yay! Thank God, Very Happy !

Updated the firmware, have a bunch of devices connected to it and seems to be working well.
evos
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Oct 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 0:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Are you sure fractal?

The ea6500 is single core and the ea6300 (v1) is exactly the same as the ea6400, both are dual cores.
Gameman Advanced Kid
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2012
Posts: 822

PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 0:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
evos wrote:
Are you sure fractal?

The ea6500 is single core and the ea6300 (v1) is exactly the same as the ea6400, both are dual cores.


what are you talking about? i thought the EA6700 and EA6900 are the only dual core linksys routers out there right now.

_________________
Is everything okay?

WDS AP - R7800
WDS STATION - R7500V2
evos
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Oct 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes sure, I own one!

"EA6300V1" (EA6400) = Broadcom BCM4708A0

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-reviews/32094-linksys-ea6300-advanced-multimedia-ac1200-smart-wi-fi-wireless-router-reviewed?start=1
*From the link above:
Routing performance for the EA6300 using our standard test method is summarized in Table 3, along with the EA6500. The results show that the EA6300 has higher throughput than the higher-priced EA6500, which is based on Broadcom's last-generation single-core BCM4706 router SoC. The EA6300's dual-core CPU brings more processing power to bear and, at least for wired routing throughput, it shows.
Malitiacurt
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Aug 2012
Posts: 190

PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 12:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
EA6400 and EA6300 vs EA6500 are nowhere close to being the same on the firmware coding side.

EA6500 is the only AC router by Linksys that still uses the MIPS architecture with the BCM4706 chip (along with RT-AC66U, etc), all the other Linksys AC models (out right now that I know of) use ARM with BCM4708X chips.

It probably can be ported, seems to share similar hardware as the Asus RT-AC56U and RT-AC68U.

Found the link, yes it's ARM.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/5925/broadcom-announces-bcm4708x-and-bcm5301x-socs-for-80211ac-routers
evos
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Oct 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 18:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
The reason I'm interested in a port is only because my EA6300(v1) keeps sending arp requests every 90 seconds to all my devices. My nas won't go into hibernation after upgrading it's firmware.
The blame is actually this linksys router with its arp requests!

Is there maybe an other solution to stop these arp requests send by this router?
Lightsword
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 13:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Reference code is here http://sourceforge.net/projects/officiallinksysfirmware/files/ea6300/v1/EA6300_v1.1.39.tar.gz/download
evos
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Oct 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 15:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
@lightsword
Thanks, but how is this different from the latests firmware? Or can you customize this tar ball?
Lightsword
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 15:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
evos wrote:
@lightsword
Thanks, but how is this different from the latests firmware? Or can you customize this tar ball?

Thought that would be obvious, this is probably 50 times larger than regular firmware. This is everything needed to build the stock linksys firmware.
evos
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Oct 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 16:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can you give me a hint where to start?
i.e. a few links or so?
Malitiacurt
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Aug 2012
Posts: 190

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 18:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try to build dd-wrt, tomato, openwrt from source, it's a similar process.
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 88, 89, 90  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 90
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum