QCA >1 5GHz WDS Stations Does Not Work / DIR-862

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
netdale
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 19:40    Post subject: QCA >1 5GHz WDS Stations Does Not Work / DIR-862 Reply with quote
A long-time DD-WRT user and have working WDS installs on Broadcom & Atheros.
Per tatsuya46's suggestion, I purchased 6x (six) DIR-862L off eBay. Great value.
My goal: 1 WDS AP with ~3 WDS Stations over 5GHz.

Individually as APs each unit works fine; hardware seems fine.

2.4GHz with two WDS Stations works fine; no go on 5GHz.
With one 5GHz station it works fine. The moment the 2nd WDS Station powers up it appears to knock the other WDS Station offline and both Stations become erratic. The WDS AP can only ever ping one of the Stations and usually the last one to be powered-up.

Items I've tried without success:
-Use 20MHz (vs VHT80)
-Disable Encryption
-Add MAC addresses into the ath1 WDS tab on both WDS AP & WDS Stations (as I would do for Broadcom).

WDS AP
192.168.1.1
CH149/Upper
United States/Short Preamble


WDS Station A
192.168.1.2
WDS Station
United States/Short Preamble
Disable WAN
Router Mode
Disable Firewall


WDS Station B
192.168.1.3
WDS Station
United States/Short Preamble
Disable WAN
Router Mode
Disable Firewall

...

Any ideas?
Is there a limitation with the ath10k driver?
Thanks.
Sponsor
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 5544
Location: WPG, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 21:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
dont touch the wds tab in qualcomm atheros, its broken & not needed too so remove anything u put in there. when i was starting wds i also tried using it, created boot loops..on the wireless settings page just select wds ap for network mode on the host & wds station on the clients with matching security type/passwords.
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33345 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


Love you AM never forget 10/26/2013..

RIP dad 1945 ~ 2017..
netdale
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 21:32    Post subject: Tried Reply with quote
I've tried.
Have you attempted more then one WDS station?
I just did another factory reset on all of them again and configured WDS AP and Stations.
No encryption.
Same result. One Starion works fine. Adding a second doesn't work.
FYI - I saw your bug report on odd VHT80 on QCA; I'm seeing the same thing wit very high, unrealistic link speeds.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 5544
Location: WPG, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2016 21:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
dont think i did, can try that later today. which bug report of mine?

i have an idea, try each dir-862L 1 at a time, what is the mac address displayed for each of them on the host beside ath1.sta#?

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33345 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


Love you AM never forget 10/26/2013..

RIP dad 1945 ~ 2017..
netdale
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 0:23    Post subject: 00:03:07:12:34:56 Reply with quote
Good catch; the MAC address isn't correct for either wdssta and is 00:03:07:12:34:56.

According to this: https://wireless.wiki.kernel.org/en/users/drivers/ath10k/faq there is an issue with the ath10k & the DIR-862L.

I sincerely appreciate the help.

This was the ticket I mentioned:
http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/4957
I've seen this a few times but wasn't able to recreate it tonight with a screenshot.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 5544
Location: WPG, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 0:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
its probably the incorrect mac then, mine also uses the same bogus mac as wds station. that ticket is a different issue, that ones just cosmetic.
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33345 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


Love you AM never forget 10/26/2013..

RIP dad 1945 ~ 2017..
netdale
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 0:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
What is the next step to get it resolved?
Is this specific to the DIR-862L?
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 5544
Location: WPG, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 0:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
dont know its either an ath10k problem or ath10k + dir-862L problem. if someone with an archer c5/c7 v2 could try wds station then we'll know depending what their mac is.

http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/5275

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33345 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


Love you AM never forget 10/26/2013..

RIP dad 1945 ~ 2017..
netdale
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 23:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you for working with BrainSlayer and the devs; hopefully it can get resolved and it's a straightforward fix.
netdale
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2016 11:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Any updates? Any way I can help?
Did the config file reveal anything?
No MAC cloning.
Thanks again.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 5544
Location: WPG, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2016 19:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
still no response yet
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33345 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


Love you AM never forget 10/26/2013..

RIP dad 1945 ~ 2017..
netdale
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 1:43    Post subject: Ping Reply with quote
Tested a few recent builds and the MAC address issue I believe is preventing the multiple WDS stations.
Friendly reminder to pursue with BS.
Thank you again for your help.
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 2843
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 2:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
If using multiple WDS try enable STP on main setup page see if that helps..... on all WDS routers
netdale
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 12:37    Post subject: What hardware are you using? Reply with quote
What hardware are you using?
Appears to be an issue with duplicate MAC addresses preventing WDS on the DIR-862L.
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 2843
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 12:42    Post subject: Re: What hardware are you using? Reply with quote
netdale wrote:
What hardware are you using?
Appears to be an issue with duplicate MAC addresses preventing WDS on the DIR-862L.


I'm not using multiple WDS on any ath boxes but I would turn on STP if I was.
Yea... most likely the MAC issus is your problem though --
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum