[Howto] Charter 6rd with wndr3700 on 17201 firmware

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
mafiatfc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Jan 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Dec 05, 2011 0:53    Post subject: [Howto] Charter 6rd with wndr3700 on 17201 firmware Reply with quote
Just wanted to post my results on getting Charter's 6rd working with the wndr3700. Most of this information was adapted from the Wiki.

Charter's 6rd Information:

6rd Prefix = 2602:100::/32
Border Relay Address = 68.114.165.1
6rd prefix length = 32
IPv4 mask length = 0

Primary DNS Address = 2607:f428:1::5353:1
Secondary DNS Address = 2607:f428:2::5353:1

Startup script:

Code:
insmod ipv6
sleep 5
HOST6RD=$(nslookup 6rd.charter.com | grep "Address" | awk '{print $3}'|grep -v 10.0.0.1 -m1)
WANIP=$(ip -4 addr show dev eth1 | grep 'inet' | awk '{print $2}' | cut -d/ -f1)
if [ -n "$WANIP" ]
then
V6PREFIX=$(printf ' 2602:100:%02x%02x:%02x%02x' $(echo $WANIP | tr . ' '))
ip tunnel add tun6rd mode sit ttl 255 remote any local $WANIP
ip link set tun6rd mtu 1280
ip link set tun6rd up
ip addr add $V6PREFIX:0::1/32 dev tun6rd
ip addr add $V6PREFIX:1::1/64 dev br0
ip -6 route add 2000::/3 via ::$HOST6RD dev tun6rd
kill -HUP $(cat /var/run/radvd.pid)
fi
echo "interface br0 { \
MinRtrAdvInterval 3; MaxRtrAdvInterval 10; AdvLinkMTU 1280; AdvSendAdvert on; \
prefix $V6PREFIX::/64 { AdvOnLink on; AdvAutonomous on; AdvValidLifetime 86400; \
AdvPreferredLifetime 86400; }; RDNSS 2607:f428:1::5353:1 2607:f428:2::5353:1 { }; };" \
> /tmp/radvd.conf
radvd -C /tmp/radvd.conf start


Steps for configuring:

1: On your router, go to Administration -> Management
2: Under "IPv6 Support" click "Enable", leave "Radvd" disabled.
3: Grab the script I have pasted above. Change 10.0.0.1 to your router's internal IP address.
4: Paste your modified script into Administration -> Commands
5: Click "Save Startup"
6: Reboot your router
Sponsor
mbreslin
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jan 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 23:58    Post subject: re: charter 6rd Reply with quote
Hi can I ask if you're using windows 7? If so how did you configure it on the windows side? I take it you didn't use the teredo 6to4 tunnel?

Thanks.
neuman1812
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 17:15    Post subject: Re: [Howto] Charter 6rd with wndr3700 on 17201 firmware Reply with quote
Hey I know this is an old post, but im hopping someone sees this that can help. I put in the script as below and changed the 10. to 192.168.1.1 and rebooted. But it doesn't seem to be working. Here's the output from my router.

Code:
ip -6 addr show
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,MULTICAST,UP>
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host
3: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,PROMISC,UP>
    inet6 fe80::213:10ff:fefe:913a/64 scope link
4: eth1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,PROMISC,UP>
    inet6 fe80::213:10ff:fefe:913c/64 scope link
5: vlan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,PROMISC,UP>
    inet6 fe80::213:10ff:fefe:913a/64 scope link
6: vlan1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP>
    inet6 fe80::213:10ff:fefe:913b/64 scope link
8: br0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP>
    inet6 fe80::213:10ff:fefe:913a/64 scope link


mafiatfc wrote:
Just wanted to post my results on getting Charter's 6rd working with the wndr3700. Most of this information was adapted from the Wiki.

Charter's 6rd Information:

6rd Prefix = 2602:100::/32
Border Relay Address = 68.114.165.1
6rd prefix length = 32
IPv4 mask length = 0

Primary DNS Address = 2607:f428:1::5353:1
Secondary DNS Address = 2607:f428:2::5353:1

Startup script:

Code:
insmod ipv6
sleep 5
HOST6RD=$(nslookup 6rd.charter.com | grep "Address" | awk '{print $3}'|grep -v 10.0.0.1 -m1)
WANIP=$(ip -4 addr show dev eth1 | grep 'inet' | awk '{print $2}' | cut -d/ -f1)
if [ -n "$WANIP" ]
then
V6PREFIX=$(printf ' 2602:100:%02x%02x:%02x%02x' $(echo $WANIP | tr . ' '))
ip tunnel add tun6rd mode sit ttl 255 remote any local $WANIP
ip link set tun6rd mtu 1280
ip link set tun6rd up
ip addr add $V6PREFIX:0::1/32 dev tun6rd
ip addr add $V6PREFIX:1::1/64 dev br0
ip -6 route add 2000::/3 via ::$HOST6RD dev tun6rd
kill -HUP $(cat /var/run/radvd.pid)
fi
echo "interface br0 { \
MinRtrAdvInterval 3; MaxRtrAdvInterval 10; AdvLinkMTU 1280; AdvSendAdvert on; \
prefix $V6PREFIX::/64 { AdvOnLink on; AdvAutonomous on; AdvValidLifetime 86400; \
AdvPreferredLifetime 86400; }; RDNSS 2607:f428:1::5353:1 2607:f428:2::5353:1 { }; };" \
> /tmp/radvd.conf
radvd -C /tmp/radvd.conf start


Steps for configuring:

1: On your router, go to Administration -> Management
2: Under "IPv6 Support" click "Enable", leave "Radvd" disabled.
3: Grab the script I have pasted above. Change 10.0.0.1 to your router's internal IP address.
4: Paste your modified script into Administration -> Commands
5: Click "Save Startup"
6: Reboot your router
Da_G
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Sep 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2015 14:03    Post subject: dd-wrt / Netgear R6300v2 (Charter) / ipv6 Reply with quote
Hi, I wanted IPv6 support on Charter working, given some experience setting it up on dd-wrt and openwrt with AT&T U-Verse, which also uses 6rd..

This script/process is tested against the following build, and working great: Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r28575M kongac (12/21/15)

Note that the settings in the IPv6 tab alone are not quite the full configuration, and won't work by itself, but is enough to enable radvd/ipv6 support to the point where the startup script can complete the setup and get it working.

Setup - IPv6

IPv6 - Enable
IPv6 Type: 6in4 Static Tunnel
Prefix Length: 64
Static DNS 1:
Static DNS 2:
Assigned / Routed Prefix: 2602:100
Router IPv6 Address:
Tunnel Endpoint IPv4 Address: 68.114.165.1
Tunnel Client IPv6 Address: /64
MTU: 1280
Dhcp6c Custom: Disable
Dhcp6s: Disable
Radvd: Enable
Radvd config:
Code:

interface br0 {
MinRtrAdvInterval 3; MaxRtrAdvInterval 10; AdvLinkMTU 1280; AdvSendAdvert on;
prefix 2602:100::/32 { AdvOnLink on; AdvAutonomous on; AdvValidLifetime 86400;
AdvPreferredLifetime 86400; }; RDNSS 2607:f428:1::5353:1 2607:f428:2::5353:1 { }; };


Administration - Commands

Startup -

Code:

HOST6RD=$(nslookup 6rd.charter.com | grep "Address" | awk '{print $3}' | grep -v ::1 | grep -v 127.0.0.1)
WANIP=$(ip -4 addr show dev vlan2 | grep 'inet' | awk '{print $2}' | cut -d/ -f1)
V6PREFIX=$(printf '2602:100:%02x%02x:%02x%02x' $(echo $WANIP | tr . ' '))
ip tunnel del ip6tun
ip tunnel add ip6tun mode sit ttl 255 remote any local $WANIP
ip link set ip6tun mtu 1280
ip link set ip6tun up
ip addr add $V6PREFIX:0::1/32 dev ip6tun
ip addr add $V6PREFIX:1::1/64 dev br0
ip -6 route add 2000::/3 via ::$HOST6RD dev ip6tun
kill -HUP $(cat /var/run/radvd.pid)
rm /var/run/radvd.pid
echo "interface br0 { MinRtrAdvInterval 3; MaxRtrAdvInterval 10; AdvLinkMTU 1280; AdvSendAdvert on; prefix $V6PREFIX::/64 { AdvOnLink on; AdvAutonomous on; AdvValidLifetime 86400; AdvPreferredLifetime 86400; }; RDNSS 2607:f428:1::5353:1 2607:f428:2::5353:1 { }; };" > /tmp/radvd.conf
radvd -C /tmp/radvd.conf start
jes13
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Apr 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2016 17:49    Post subject: thanks Da_G Reply with quote
Used your info to change from HE tunnel to 6rd for Charter on my R7000, running v3.0-r28600M kongac (12/31/15).

IPv6 still works and now Netflix is happy. Very Happy

Thanks
coletrain
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Oct 2016
Posts: 172
Location: St.louis, MO USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2016 2:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have a netgear r6300v2 and I realize I am not in the Broadcom section, but I cant find the reason why my ipv6 isnt working. you think this will work there too?
_________________
[MAIN GATEWAY] Netgear R7000 DD-WRT v3.0-r43324 std (06/02/20)
[AP1-wired] Asus RT-AC68U - D-WRT v3.0-r44467 std (09/24/20)
[AP2-wired] Asus RT-AC68RD-WRT v3.0-r44467 std (09/24/20)
(switch) 1 AP WRT160N v3 - DD-WRT v3.0-r30731 mini (10/06/16)
==
YOU CAN'T STOP THE COLETRAIN BABY!


Last edited by coletrain on Thu Nov 24, 2016 3:16; edited 1 time in total
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 2319
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2016 4:21    Post subject: Newer Builds Reply with quote
I would suggest you update to a newer build at least to protect your router from the heartbleed bug, amoung other fixes.

I would suggest you update to the latest here: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/11-01-2016-r30826/

Upgrade at your own risk. All of my routers are currently running 30826.

I would suggest you read the svn timeline: http://svn.dd-wrt.com/timeline

and the approriate build thread, ex: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=305303

_________________
Before asking a question on the forums, update dd-wrt: Where do I download firmware? I suggest reading it all.
QCA Best WiFi Settings


Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one.

Atheros:
Netgear R7800 x3 - WDS AP / station, gateway, QoS
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - NU
D-Link 615 C1/E3/I1 x 7 - 1 WDS station
D-Link 825 B1 - NU
D-Link 862L A1 x2 - WDS Station
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - NU
UBNT loco M2 x2 - airOS

Broadcom
Linksys EA6400 - Gateway, QoS
Asus N66U - AP
Netgear WNDR3700v3 - not used
MediaTek
UBNT EdgeRouter X - switch
coletrain
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Oct 2016
Posts: 172
Location: St.louis, MO USA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2016 13:37    Post subject: Re: Newer Builds Reply with quote
ian5142 wrote:
I would suggest you update to a newer build at least to protect your router from the heartbleed bug, amoung other fixes.

I would suggest you update to the latest here: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/11-01-2016-r30826/

Upgrade at your own risk. All of my routers are currently running 30826.

I would suggest you read the svn timeline: http://svn.dd-wrt.com/timeline

and the approriate build thread, ex: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=305303



I absolutely appreciate your reply. I had been following the build threads, and had seen a few issues, so I was tentative. My build is only a month old. If you have all those routers running that build its enough for me to try.

I will read the other threads as well.
I guess I don't need ipv6. Just don't understand why its not working, like never had it working try to start it working, for me.

Have a good one.

_________________
[MAIN GATEWAY] Netgear R7000 DD-WRT v3.0-r43324 std (06/02/20)
[AP1-wired] Asus RT-AC68U - D-WRT v3.0-r44467 std (09/24/20)
[AP2-wired] Asus RT-AC68RD-WRT v3.0-r44467 std (09/24/20)
(switch) 1 AP WRT160N v3 - DD-WRT v3.0-r30731 mini (10/06/16)
==
YOU CAN'T STOP THE COLETRAIN BABY!
coletrain
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Oct 2016
Posts: 172
Location: St.louis, MO USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2016 3:52    Post subject: Re: dd-wrt / Netgear R6300v2 (Charter) / ipv6 Reply with quote
Da_G wrote:
Hi, I wanted IPv6 support on Charter working, given some experience setting it up on dd-wrt and openwrt with AT&T U-Verse, which also uses 6rd..

This script/process is tested against the following build, and working great: Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r28575M kongac (12/21/15)

Note that the settings in the IPv6 tab alone are not quite the full configuration, and won't work by itself, but is enough to enable radvd/ipv6 support to the point where the startup script can complete the setup and get it working.

Setup - IPv6

IPv6 - Enable
IPv6 Type: 6in4 Static Tunnel
Prefix Length: 64
Static DNS 1:
Static DNS 2:
Assigned / Routed Prefix: 2602:100
Router IPv6 Address:
Tunnel Endpoint IPv4 Address: 68.114.165.1
Tunnel Client IPv6 Address: /64
MTU: 1280
Dhcp6c Custom: Disable
Dhcp6s: Disable
Radvd: Enable
Radvd config:
Code:

interface br0 {
MinRtrAdvInterval 3; MaxRtrAdvInterval 10; AdvLinkMTU 1280; AdvSendAdvert on;
prefix 2602:100::/32 { AdvOnLink on; AdvAutonomous on; AdvValidLifetime 86400;
AdvPreferredLifetime 86400; }; RDNSS 2607:f428:1::5353:1 2607:f428:2::5353:1 { }; };


Administration - Commands

Startup -

Code:

HOST6RD=$(nslookup 6rd.charter.com | grep "Address" | awk '{print $3}' | grep -v ::1 | grep -v 127.0.0.1)
WANIP=$(ip -4 addr show dev vlan2 | grep 'inet' | awk '{print $2}' | cut -d/ -f1)
V6PREFIX=$(printf '2602:100:%02x%02x:%02x%02x' $(echo $WANIP | tr . ' '))
ip tunnel del ip6tun
ip tunnel add ip6tun mode sit ttl 255 remote any local $WANIP
ip link set ip6tun mtu 1280
ip link set ip6tun up
ip addr add $V6PREFIX:0::1/32 dev ip6tun
ip addr add $V6PREFIX:1::1/64 dev br0
ip -6 route add 2000::/3 via ::$HOST6RD dev ip6tun
kill -HUP $(cat /var/run/radvd.pid)
rm /var/run/radvd.pid
echo "interface br0 { MinRtrAdvInterval 3; MaxRtrAdvInterval 10; AdvLinkMTU 1280; AdvSendAdvert on; prefix $V6PREFIX::/64 { AdvOnLink on; AdvAutonomous on; AdvValidLifetime 86400; AdvPreferredLifetime 86400; }; RDNSS 2607:f428:1::5353:1 2607:f428:2::5353:1 { }; };" > /tmp/radvd.conf
radvd -C /tmp/radvd.conf start



I am sorry, this did not result in the internet working for me.

_________________
[MAIN GATEWAY] Netgear R7000 DD-WRT v3.0-r43324 std (06/02/20)
[AP1-wired] Asus RT-AC68U - D-WRT v3.0-r44467 std (09/24/20)
[AP2-wired] Asus RT-AC68RD-WRT v3.0-r44467 std (09/24/20)
(switch) 1 AP WRT160N v3 - DD-WRT v3.0-r30731 mini (10/06/16)
==
YOU CAN'T STOP THE COLETRAIN BABY!
imuntean
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jan 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 20:07    Post subject: Re: [Howto] Charter 6rd with wndr3700 on 17201 firmware Reply with quote
mafiatfc wrote:
Just wanted to post my results on getting Charter's 6rd working with the wndr3700. Most of this information was adapted from the Wiki.

Charter's 6rd Information:

6rd Prefix = 2602:100::/32
Border Relay Address = 68.114.165.1
6rd prefix length = 32
IPv4 mask length = 0

Primary DNS Address = 2607:f428:1::5353:1
Secondary DNS Address = 2607:f428:2::5353:1

Startup script:

Code:
insmod ipv6
sleep 5
HOST6RD=$(nslookup 6rd.charter.com | grep "Address" | awk '{print $3}'|grep -v 10.0.0.1 -m1)
WANIP=$(ip -4 addr show dev eth1 | grep 'inet' | awk '{print $2}' | cut -d/ -f1)
if [ -n "$WANIP" ]
then
V6PREFIX=$(printf ' 2602:100:%02x%02x:%02x%02x' $(echo $WANIP | tr . ' '))
ip tunnel add tun6rd mode sit ttl 255 remote any local $WANIP
ip link set tun6rd mtu 1280
ip link set tun6rd up
ip addr add $V6PREFIX:0::1/32 dev tun6rd
ip addr add $V6PREFIX:1::1/64 dev br0
ip -6 route add 2000::/3 via ::$HOST6RD dev tun6rd
kill -HUP $(cat /var/run/radvd.pid)
fi
echo "interface br0 { \
MinRtrAdvInterval 3; MaxRtrAdvInterval 10; AdvLinkMTU 1280; AdvSendAdvert on; \
prefix $V6PREFIX::/64 { AdvOnLink on; AdvAutonomous on; AdvValidLifetime 86400; \
AdvPreferredLifetime 86400; }; RDNSS 2607:f428:1::5353:1 2607:f428:2::5353:1 { }; };" \
> /tmp/radvd.conf
radvd -C /tmp/radvd.conf start


Steps for configuring:

1: On your router, go to Administration -> Management
2: Under "IPv6 Support" click "Enable", leave "Radvd" disabled.
3: Grab the script I have pasted above. Change 10.0.0.1 to your router's internal IP address.
4: Paste your modified script into Administration -> Commands
5: Click "Save Startup"
6: Reboot your router



All,
Thanks to mafiatfc for the code.
I just wanted to warn you about a potential problem with the command ip. It does not work properly on my LINKSYS router (Broadcom chip), it simply does not render the ip address. IN Mafiatfc code, i needed to replace ip with ifconfig to get my IPV4 address. strangely, all the other lines worked fine.
Here is how my second line looks like:


WANIP=$(ifconfig vlan2 | grep 'inet addr:' | cut -d: -f2 | awk '{ print $1}')

i needed not to replace other codes, but i think that others may have problems with ip command. I think it is partially implemented or it has an older version. can we get a fully fledged ip command in the future? The only router I have is a e4200 linksys.
After I modified this script i get 10/10 score when testing IPV6.
Thanks to all the contributors.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum