Netgear R7800 (Nighthawk X4S – AC2600) - status

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56  Next
Author Message
RoidDroidVoid
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Oct 2015
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 23:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
RoidDroidVoid wrote:

I'm going to get a log to see what's happening but it's unusable at this point. I only get 10 minutes before it loses WAN connectivity and watchdog forces a reboot.

I'll update when I can see a log and pinpoint the problem.

RoidDroidVoid wrote:

I'm going to keep logging just to see of there is anything else at play. I'll update if there is anything.


Okay, I finally got my act together and figured this out. When I said "correlation is not causation" I should have taken my own advice!

Even though it would seem like the strangest coincidence that it would happen @ the same time that I did the upgrade, the last valid DNS server in my list began failing.

It took a long way to get to the bottom of this but after replacing my DNS server, it's fixed.

It had nothing to do with the firmware. It was just amazingly bad timing.


Last edited by RoidDroidVoid on Sun Feb 26, 2017 9:20; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 5132
Location: MB, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 0:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
r31500m has working qam256 so far. standard 802.11n devices still connect fine with it enabled, i see vht40 (i have 40mhz on) & max broadcasted rate is 800mbps in beacon info.

confirmed working with my bcm4360 based nic in my desktop.

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


ILU mm/cl/AM never forget..
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 5132
Location: MB, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 8:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
kong could u commit ur fix to qam256 (and even for qos)? cause it works, thank u again.
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


ILU mm/cl/AM never forget..
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 5132
Location: MB, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 9:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
confirm reports, router seems to be "crashing" every 1 hour, may be related to wifi security key renewal or not. my connected devices reset on the hour, as well as router uptime, not happening on brainslayer r31495.

reverting. kong check please.

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


ILU mm/cl/AM never forget..
RoidDroidVoid
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Oct 2015
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 9:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
confirm reports, router seems to be "crashing" every 1 hour, may be related to wifi security key renewal or not. my connected devices reset on the hour, as well as router uptime, not happening on brainslayer r31495.

reverting. kong check please.


I'll watch to see if my problems remain at any interval after changing DNS.

I did notice that watchdog rebooted about 20 minutes ago but I stopped logging so I can't say why.

Tomorrow I'll log some more.

One thing I believe I've seen that may be normal but it doesn't seem right and I never noticed before is that RADIUS initializes even when it's turned off.

After the day I've had trying to track down my issue, I can't really say anything for certain other than it's working, at least for now.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 5132
Location: MB, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 10:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
RoidDroidVoid wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
confirm reports, router seems to be "crashing" every 1 hour, may be related to wifi security key renewal or not. my connected devices reset on the hour, as well as router uptime, not happening on brainslayer r31495.

reverting. kong check please.


I'll watch to see if my problems remain at any interval after changing DNS.

I did notice that watchdog rebooted about 20 minutes ago but I stopped logging so I can't say why.

Tomorrow I'll log some more.

One thing I believe I've seen that may be normal but it doesn't seem right and I never noticed before is that RADIUS initializes even when it's turned off.

After the day I've had trying to track down my issue, I can't really say anything for certain other than it's working, at least for now.


i was mentioning to kong a completely different problem, qam256 has nothing to do with dns or watchdog.

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


ILU mm/cl/AM never forget..


Last edited by tatsuya46 on Sun Feb 26, 2017 10:03; edited 1 time in total
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 3676
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 10:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
confirm reports, router seems to be "crashing" every 1 hour, may be related to wifi security key renewal or not. my connected devices reset on the hour, as well as router uptime, not happening on brainslayer r31495.

reverting. kong check please.


I do not think, that the changes between r31495 and r31500 would break wifi, maybe turboqam is the problem?

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 5132
Location: MB, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 10:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
confirm reports, router seems to be "crashing" every 1 hour, may be related to wifi security key renewal or not. my connected devices reset on the hour, as well as router uptime, not happening on brainslayer r31495.

reverting. kong check please.


I do not think, that the changes between r31495 and r31500 would break wifi, maybe turboqam is the problem?


idk, im not saying its a wifi crash, its a entire router crash, or at least router uptime reset. cause i happened to be using it during that period, no "entire crash" happened, but i did a have random large lag that i didnt think about about, im on Ethernet currently (using client mode over wifi).

already reverted to brainslayer r31495, half way to 1hr, will wait again. will probably be no issue. then will try ur build again with turbo qam off.

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


ILU mm/cl/AM never forget..
RoidDroidVoid
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Oct 2015
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 10:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:

idk, im not saying its a wifi crash, its a entire router crash, or at least router uptime reset. cause i happened to be using it during that period, no "entire crash" happened, but i did a have random large lag that i didnt think about about, im on Ethernet currently.

already reverted to brainslayer r31495, half way to 1hr, will wait again. will probably be no issue. then will try ur build again with turbo qam off.


I was aware that you weren't talking about DNS or watchdog. I'm not sure if you saw my prior posts but what you are describing is exactly what I've been battling.

Since I normally use watchdog, without logging, I cannot tell the difference between a router crash and a watchdog reset.
I only notice the downtime and the uptime reset.

I've had turbo qam enabled but, like I said, with the other issues that I discovered (on my end), I would not presume that the problems are necessarily related.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 5132
Location: MB, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 11:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
<Kong> wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
confirm reports, router seems to be "crashing" every 1 hour, may be related to wifi security key renewal or not. my connected devices reset on the hour, as well as router uptime, not happening on brainslayer r31495.

reverting. kong check please.


I do not think, that the changes between r31495 and r31500 would break wifi, maybe turboqam is the problem?


idk, im not saying its a wifi crash, its a entire router crash, or at least router uptime reset. cause i happened to be using it during that period, no "entire crash" happened, but i did a have random large lag that i didnt think about about, im on Ethernet currently (using client mode over wifi).

already reverted to brainslayer r31495, half way to 1hr, will wait again. will probably be no issue. then will try ur build again with turbo qam off.


back to brainslayer r31495, no issue, back to kong r31500M with turboqam off, no issue again past 1 hr.

so it must be something with turboqam, but turboqam in it's current state is working.. ive had not had any turboqam devices connected during this time test period, im the only one with a turboqam device, and my pc is passworded/unshared, & is plugged in by default via ethernet etc.

over 3 hrs up no issue now with turbo qam256 off. it must be related to that..

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


ILU mm/cl/AM never forget..


Last edited by tatsuya46 on Sun Feb 26, 2017 14:46; edited 1 time in total
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 2056
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 12:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
<Kong> wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
confirm reports, router seems to be "crashing" every 1 hour, may be related to wifi security key renewal or not. my connected devices reset on the hour, as well as router uptime, not happening on brainslayer r31495.

reverting. kong check please.


I do not think, that the changes between r31495 and r31500 would break wifi, maybe turboqam is the problem?


idk, im not saying its a wifi crash, its a entire router crash, or at least router uptime reset. cause i happened to be using it during that period, no "entire crash" happened, but i did a have random large lag that i didnt think about about, im on Ethernet currently (using client mode over wifi).

already reverted to brainslayer r31495, half way to 1hr, will wait again. will probably be no issue. then will try ur build again with turbo qam off.


back to brainslayer r31495, no issue, back to kong r31500M with turboqam off, no issue again past 1 hr.

so it must be something with turboqam, but turboqam in it's current state is working.. ive had not had any turboqam devices connected during this time test period, im the only one with a turboqam device, and my pc is passworded/unshared, & is plugged in by default via ethernet etc.

r31500M on the EA8500 running QAM256 + single & multi BF all clients are still fine after 8+ hours - no dropouts ... but these are not QAM256 capable clients.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 5132
Location: MB, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 12:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
<Kong> wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
confirm reports, router seems to be "crashing" every 1 hour, may be related to wifi security key renewal or not. my connected devices reset on the hour, as well as router uptime, not happening on brainslayer r31495.

reverting. kong check please.


I do not think, that the changes between r31495 and r31500 would break wifi, maybe turboqam is the problem?


idk, im not saying its a wifi crash, its a entire router crash, or at least router uptime reset. cause i happened to be using it during that period, no "entire crash" happened, but i did a have random large lag that i didnt think about about, im on Ethernet currently (using client mode over wifi).

already reverted to brainslayer r31495, half way to 1hr, will wait again. will probably be no issue. then will try ur build again with turbo qam off.


back to brainslayer r31495, no issue, back to kong r31500M with turboqam off, no issue again past 1 hr.

so it must be something with turboqam, but turboqam in it's current state is working.. ive had not had any turboqam devices connected during this time test period, im the only one with a turboqam device, and my pc is passworded/unshared, & is plugged in by default via ethernet etc.

r31500M on the EA8500 running QAM256 + single & multi BF all clients are still fine after 8+ hours - no dropouts ... but these are not QAM256 capable clients.


me too as i said, we are only similar for architecture (ipq806x), for radios, we are somewhat different :/

qca9980 is quite different from qca9984, qualcomm atheros somewhat fuckedup again (like from their qca988x), go figure big companies screwing up.

but they are still far the best versatile company compared to broadcom or mediatek, even qca9880, & AR5xx etc Smile also as brainslayer told me, he is right here too.

i learned this the hard way. i tried brcmfmac, NEVER AGAIN, OH, GOD, NO. NO. NO.... NEVER.

(as u see ath10k fw 10.4.3 vs ath10k fw 10.4-3.4), i too, think its dumb qualcomm atheros is favoring 9984 over 9980, both are good chips, ONLY difference is 160 & 80+80 MHz....

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


ILU mm/cl/AM never forget..


Last edited by tatsuya46 on Sun Feb 26, 2017 12:42; edited 1 time in total
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 2056
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 12:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
mrjcd wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
<Kong> wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
confirm reports, router seems to be "crashing" every 1 hour, may be related to wifi security key renewal or not. my connected devices reset on the hour, as well as router uptime, not happening on brainslayer r31495.

reverting. kong check please.


I do not think, that the changes between r31495 and r31500 would break wifi, maybe turboqam is the problem?


idk, im not saying its a wifi crash, its a entire router crash, or at least router uptime reset. cause i happened to be using it during that period, no "entire crash" happened, but i did a have random large lag that i didnt think about about, im on Ethernet currently (using client mode over wifi).

already reverted to brainslayer r31495, half way to 1hr, will wait again. will probably be no issue. then will try ur build again with turbo qam off.


back to brainslayer r31495, no issue, back to kong r31500M with turboqam off, no issue again past 1 hr.

so it must be something with turboqam, but turboqam in it's current state is working.. ive had not had any turboqam devices connected during this time test period, im the only one with a turboqam device, and my pc is passworded/unshared, & is plugged in by default via ethernet etc.

r31500M on the EA8500 running QAM256 + single & multi BF all clients are still fine after 8+ hours - no dropouts ... but these are not QAM256 capable clients.


me too as i said, we are only similar for architecture (ipq806x), for radios, we are somewhat different :/

qca9980 is quite different from qca9984, qualcomm atheros somewhat fuckedup again, go figure big companies screwing up.

but they are still far the best versatile company compared to broadcom or mediatek, even qca9880, & AR5xx etc Smile also as brainslayer told me, he is right here too.

i learned this the hard way. i tried brcmfmac, NEVER AGAIN, OH, GOD, NO. NO. NO.... NEVER.

(as u see ath10k fw 10.4.3 vs ath10k fw 10.4-3.4), i too, think its dumb qualcomm atheros is favoring 9984 over 9980, both are good chips, ONLY difference is 160 & 80+80 MHz....

Yea kinda pisses me they are leaving the 9980 and seem to be pushing for the 160 width ....not sure why. It will be long time before see that many active clients that can do 160
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 5132
Location: MB, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 12:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
mrjcd wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
<Kong> wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:
confirm reports, router seems to be "crashing" every 1 hour, may be related to wifi security key renewal or not. my connected devices reset on the hour, as well as router uptime, not happening on brainslayer r31495.

reverting. kong check please.


I do not think, that the changes between r31495 and r31500 would break wifi, maybe turboqam is the problem?


idk, im not saying its a wifi crash, its a entire router crash, or at least router uptime reset. cause i happened to be using it during that period, no "entire crash" happened, but i did a have random large lag that i didnt think about about, im on Ethernet currently (using client mode over wifi).

already reverted to brainslayer r31495, half way to 1hr, will wait again. will probably be no issue. then will try ur build again with turbo qam off.


back to brainslayer r31495, no issue, back to kong r31500M with turboqam off, no issue again past 1 hr.

so it must be something with turboqam, but turboqam in it's current state is working.. ive had not had any turboqam devices connected during this time test period, im the only one with a turboqam device, and my pc is passworded/unshared, & is plugged in by default via ethernet etc.

r31500M on the EA8500 running QAM256 + single & multi BF all clients are still fine after 8+ hours - no dropouts ... but these are not QAM256 capable clients.


me too as i said, we are only similar for architecture (ipq806x), for radios, we are somewhat different :/

qca9980 is quite different from qca9984, qualcomm atheros somewhat fuckedup again, go figure big companies screwing up.

but they are still far the best versatile company compared to broadcom or mediatek, even qca9880, & AR5xx etc Smile also as brainslayer told me, he is right here too.

i learned this the hard way. i tried brcmfmac, NEVER AGAIN, OH, GOD, NO. NO. NO.... NEVER.

(as u see ath10k fw 10.4.3 vs ath10k fw 10.4-3.4), i too, think its dumb qualcomm atheros is favoring 9984 over 9980, both are good chips, ONLY difference is 160 & 80+80 MHz....

Yea kinda pisses me they are leaving the 9980 and seem to be pushing for the 160 width ....not sure why. It will be long time before see that many active clients that can do 160


bombshell..VHT160 & VHT80+80 is ONLY, 2x2, not the 4x4 our hardware supports upfront. sad..

i now think qualcomm rushed out VHT160/80+80 for media reasons, cause thats fucking stupid. only VHT80 is 4x4, & ill mostly take that any day, as VHT160 is basicly same rates as VHT80 but while doing 2x2, with -3 signal. as we know with dBm, every -3 is half strength, so basically no point here...

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r31722 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


ILU mm/cl/AM never forget..
RoidDroidVoid
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Oct 2015
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 7:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:

r31500M on the EA8500 running QAM256 + single & multi BF all clients are still fine after 8+ hours - no dropouts ... but these are not QAM256 capable clients.


On the R7800, I have had no dropouts or resets either once I resolved an unrelated issue.

I have no qam256 clients either though.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 52 of 56
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum