QOS Clarification

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
phlegmer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 270
Location: Sector 001

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 15:40    Post subject: QOS Clarification Reply with quote
I was going to play around with QOS on my Guest Wifi. After doing some reading, I was hoping to get some clarification.

1. In a few screen shots of QOS setups online, I've seen the "LAN Max" field was filled in with a number while another had it set to zero. What is the rule of thumb for that particular field?

2. What is the preferred method for actually setting up the QOS. Under the "Interface Priority" or the "Netmask Priority"? I've seen it setup with one or the other.

3. If the only thing I'm throttling is the guest network, does one still need to list the regular network?

I haven't done much testing yet but when I did have both list, initial speed tests seemed to bring down my regular network throughput. Disabled QOS and it went back up. Again, it was just a quick test.

Thanks for the assistance.



Currently installed:
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r31221 giga (02/01/17)
Sponsor
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 2052
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 16:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Simple thing I use for guests network is Interface Priority.
Just select the correct interface (usually wl0.1) then set as 'Bulk'. No need for anything else. It will get full bandwidth if nothing else is using it or it will get as little as 1% of bandwidth if other clients are actively using it up. The boy brings lots friends over from time to time and I get 6 - 8 extra wireless devices connected but it never bothers me a bit Smile
phlegmer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 270
Location: Sector 001

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 16:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hmm, that's interesting. Never looked into the Priority dropdown before. So just leave all the other fields empty (see pic)? Don't need to include the regular network on the list? Only list the guest wifi?

I'm assuming one still needs to set Download and Upload kbps in the QOS section(which I read should be between 80% - 95% of actual).

Thanks!



2017-03-20 11_46_01-Main (build 31221) - Quality of Service.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  7.07 KB
 Viewed:  370 Time(s)

2017-03-20 11_46_01-Main (build 31221) - Quality of Service.png


mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 2052
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2017 17:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yea that should work. AFAIK all connections get the standard priority unless otherwise changed....so what you have done is make sure nothing on the wl0.1 network can ever take priority over your other interfaces.
You can test it easy enough. Get a couple streams or such going on main network then connect to guests run speedtests.
You can of course put on manual and set specific limits but I never seen the point for my needs.
phlegmer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 270
Location: Sector 001

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 3:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Did a little bit of testing this evening and I must have something not quite configured correctly.

My ISP connection is rated for 75Mbps Down 7Mbps up

A quick speed test with my ISP speed test sight showed me 74.77 down and 7.6 up

When I turn on QOS with the bulk settings set for my Guest network, my throughput drops significantly on my regular network (PC connected not wifi)
36 down and 3.6 up

If I then disable QOS, speed returns to normal. I've attached what I have set for my QOS settings.

Any suggestions?

Thanks
Router model is Netgear WNDR4500



Screen Shot 2017-03-20 at 10.18.31 PM.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  39.37 KB
 Viewed:  319 Time(s)

Screen Shot 2017-03-20 at 10.18.31 PM.png


mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 2052
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 3:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
There were some issues with higher speeds & QOS. Not sure if they have all been worked out on the broadcom routers.
You should change queueing discipline to Fq_Codel.
That usually is better.
phlegmer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 270
Location: Sector 001

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 3:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Gave your suggestion a try, still about the same slower speed as before. Sad

Guess I'll hold off on QOS for a while.

Thanks anyway.
Reinvented
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 May 2012
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 4:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
What router are you using? This makes a HUGE difference on which QoS parameters you need to use. For example, MIPS routers seem to work best with HFSC/FQ_Codel, and ARMv7 seem to work best with HTB/FQ_Codel.

So, unless you have a dual core Cpu router, I do not recommend you use HTB, as you will severely tank your bandwidth as you've noticed. It's showing at roughly half, correct?
phlegmer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 270
Location: Sector 001

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
phlegmer wrote:

Router model is Netgear WNDR4500


Yes I'm getting around half speed.

Thanks
Reinvented
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 May 2012
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2017 16:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
phlegmer wrote:
phlegmer wrote:

Router model is Netgear WNDR4500


Yes I'm getting around half speed.

Thanks


So, set your QoS type to HFSC/FQ_Codel and make sure you tick the all the boxes below that except ACK. And you should be fine.
phlegmer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 270
Location: Sector 001

PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 0:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ahh, I didn't try the HFSC. I just used HTB. I did as suggested with the check boxes as well. The speed test is better but not quite there. I'm now noticing about 6-10Mbps loss down and 1Mbps loss up. Better than half across the board I guess.

Would a beefier router help in the situation or is that just the state of QOS?

Thanks
Reinvented
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 May 2012
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 2:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
phlegmer wrote:
Ahh, I didn't try the HFSC. I just used HTB. I did as suggested with the check boxes as well. The speed test is better but not quite there. I'm now noticing about 6-10Mbps loss down and 1Mbps loss up. Better than half across the board I guess.

Would a beefier router help in the situation or is that just the state of QOS?

Thanks


Of course. This is simply because it requires processing power to control TCP packets, etc.

If you turn off QoS and run a speedtest, what are your results? I'm assuming you are on cable as well, correct?

Do 90-95% of your allotted bandwidth on the speedtest that you get. Not 90-95% of your provisioned speed. Because 67k down = 68608 Kbps. At this point, whenever you'd run something you'd over-saturate your allotment. Keep it under a bit, and it'll be just fine. So, for example...If you are provisioned for 75 Mbps, and get 72 from the speedtest, then do 72 * 1024 = 73728. Then 95% of that will be 70,041.

Your results that you are getting are spot on with what you input, and it's not going over.
phlegmer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 270
Location: Sector 001

PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 20:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes, my ISP is the cable company.

I took some sample reads last night and today with QOS disabled:


Code:
kbps down    kbps up
69230          7771
73707          7713
74351          7719
71833          7737
66282          7712
74609          7678
74377          7674
71025          7699
75131          7758
72398          7723

Averages
72294.3        7718.4

95%
68680.155      7332.48


I didn't multiply any of this by 1024 since the cable provider speed test already gives the results in kbps.

If averaging this sample and then taking 95% is a good method, looks like my original entry of 68608 (per your math) is near identical? The up speed could be increased it appears.

I'm still a newb on QOS and don't fully understand why it couldn't just ignore the regular packets speed and only throttle the packets to the interface I listed.

Perhaps instead of QOS, one can give priority to everything except the guest packets?

Thanks
Reinvented
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 May 2012
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 22:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
What is the speeds you get with QoS enabled?

What is the speeds you get with QoS disabled?

What is the maximum you have gotten on a speedtest? The lowest?

I'm not understanding what you are asking me. QoS is designed to control the bandwidth of a given interface. In this case, it's your WAN. The reason for limiting the download/upload is that because when you saturate all of the bandwidth to one device or many devices, you create latency.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum