R6400 - Simple VLAN Tagging config confirmation request

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Acumen
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Nov 2014
Posts: 221

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 9:11    Post subject: R6400 - Simple VLAN Tagging config confirmation request Reply with quote
Hi All,

Since a couple days I have a TP-Link LT-SG108E switch with vlan tagging support.
On my Netgear R6400 I configured LAN port 4 to Tagged, and sending over VLAN 1 and 2 to the switch at Setup -> VLAN.
At the Setup -> Networking tab, section Tagging, I gave vlan2 Tag Number 2, Prio 0.

It all seems to work fine, but I am wondering if it is the right way to do this or am I forgetting something?

I configured the LT-SG108E switch to expect a tagged VLAN2 at the port that is connected to the R6400. It is not possible to add VLAN1 as tagged too, because VLAN1 is default of the switch and it does not support having it tagged. If it is best to have all VLANs tagged, I probably have to add VLAN3 of give VLAN1 Tag Number 3 I guess.

But as said, the question is, is this the right way to do this or am I forgetting something/doing something wrong?

Thanks!

_________________
Netgear WNDR4300v1 DD-WRT v3.0 BS r29837 | Netgear R6400 DD-WRT v3.0 KB r33525M | Tickets: 5429
IPv4 & IPv6-PD | ProFTP & Samba to USB thumb | DNSMasq DHCPv6 | Pi-Hole on RasPi

Found a bug, report it so the it can be fixed: http://svn.dd-wrt.com/
Sponsor
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 6868
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2017 19:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Use the CLI to configure VLAN.

What is the output of "nvram show | grep vlan.*ports"?
Acumen
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Nov 2014
Posts: 221

PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2017 21:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
Use the CLI to configure VLAN.

What is the output of "nvram show | grep vlan.*ports"?

Sorry for my late reply, I somehow missed your response. The result:
Code:
nvram show | grep vlan.*ports
size: 49102 bytes (81970 left)
vlan2ports=0 5u
vlan1ports=1 2 3 4 5*

On my Atheros WNDR4300 I once added a 3rd vlan by putting this at Administration -> Commands -> Startup:
Code:
# Add VLAN3 to LAN, to extend br1 - over LAN port 1
# Set/leave LAN ports 2,3,4 to VLAN1
  swconfig dev eth0 vlan 1 set ports "0t 2 3 4"
  swconfig dev eth0 set enable_vlan 3
  swconfig dev eth0 vlan 3 set ports "0t 1"
  swconfig dev eth0 set apply
  vconfig add eth0 3
  ifconfig vlan3 up

If it works the same way on the Broadcom, that would probably result in something like this right?
Code:
swconfig dev eth0 vlan 1 set ports "0t 2 3 4"
swconfig dev eth0 vlan 2 set ports "4"
swconfig dev eth0 set apply


Edit: added the vlan CLI commands for vlan

_________________
Netgear WNDR4300v1 DD-WRT v3.0 BS r29837 | Netgear R6400 DD-WRT v3.0 KB r33525M | Tickets: 5429
IPv4 & IPv6-PD | ProFTP & Samba to USB thumb | DNSMasq DHCPv6 | Pi-Hole on RasPi

Found a bug, report it so the it can be fixed: http://svn.dd-wrt.com/
Acumen
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Nov 2014
Posts: 221

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 5:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
The 'nvram show | grep vlan.*ports' made me think and search. Based on this DDWRT wiki page, I did this:
Code:
nvram set vlan2ports="0 4t 5"
nvram set port4vlans="1 2 16 18 19 21"
nvram commit
reboot

Instead of 'nvram show | grep vlan.*ports' I did 'nvram show | grep vlan | grep port | grep -v tables', which resulted in:
Code:
vlan1ports=1 2 3 4 5*
vlan2ports=0 4t 5
port0vlans=2 18 19 21
port1vlans=1 18 19 21
port2vlans=1 18 19 21
port3vlans=1 18 19 21
port4vlans=1 2 16 18 19 21
port5vlans=1 2 16

16 stands for taged, according to Wiki page and to my experience when switching on/of tagged in the VLANs tab.

But, I believe I am pretty much on the right track. Can anyone confirm that?

_________________
Netgear WNDR4300v1 DD-WRT v3.0 BS r29837 | Netgear R6400 DD-WRT v3.0 KB r33525M | Tickets: 5429
IPv4 & IPv6-PD | ProFTP & Samba to USB thumb | DNSMasq DHCPv6 | Pi-Hole on RasPi

Found a bug, report it so the it can be fixed: http://svn.dd-wrt.com/
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum