Meraki MR33

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
riahc3
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 May 2007
Posts: 310

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 12:17    Post subject: Meraki MR33 Reply with quote
Currently Cisco is donating the Meraki MR33.

All the DD-WRT team needs to do is basically signup to the webinar, leave it open, and confirm shipping address. Boom. In 2 days you have a MR33 donated by Cisco.
Sponsor
Gameman Advanced Kid
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Nov 2012
Posts: 831

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 14:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
care to explain how all of this works in more detail?

and why do you want dd-wrt support for this unit?

have you not seen the nighthawk r7500v2 and 7800? or netgears r9000 router?

_________________
Is everything okay?

WDS AP - R7800
WDS STATION - R7500V2
riahc3
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 May 2007
Posts: 310

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 8:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Gameman Advanced Kid wrote:
care to explain how all of this works in more detail?

What do you want explained?

Gameman Advanced Kid wrote:

and why do you want dd-wrt support for this unit?

This unit works 3 years then you have to renew the license (another 300 bucks or so). DD-WRT support would free it.

Gameman Advanced Kid wrote:

have you not seen the nighthawk r7500v2 and 7800? or netgears r9000 router?

First, the Meraki is free. Second, all those you are showing me are routers, not access points. This is a dedicated access point where performance will probably be better.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 5542
Location: WPG, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 10:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
riahc3 wrote:
First, the Meraki is free.


riahc3 wrote:
This unit works 3 years then you have to renew the license (another 300 bucks or so).


thats not "free"..

riahc3 wrote:
Second, all those you are showing me are routers, not access points. This is a dedicated access point where performance will probably be better.


routers by default yes, and..? u know ddwrt can operate as a bridge via wifi or ethernet right? all an ap is is a bridge with wifi capability. a bridged device doesnt do nat or firewall & usually not qos, bridge/ap mode on ddwrt will be the same as a unit sold as an "ap by default" from a manufacturer. i can turn off dhcp/nat/firewall etc on my r7800, specify an ip for it in the subnet of the host router, plug it into the host, id now have an ap, easily get full gigabit that way as its turned into a "dumb switch", all processing is done by the host.

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33345 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


Love you AM never forget 10/26/2013..

RIP dad 1945 ~ 2017..
riahc3
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 May 2007
Posts: 310

PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2017 18:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:

thats not "free"..

The hardware is free, mr picky.

tatsuya46 wrote:

routers by default yes, and..? u know ddwrt can operate as a bridge via wifi or ethernet right? all an ap is is a bridge with wifi capability. a bridged device doesnt do nat or firewall & usually not qos, bridge/ap mode on ddwrt will be the same as a unit sold as an "ap by default" from a manufacturer. i can turn off dhcp/nat/firewall etc on my r7800, specify an ip for it in the subnet of the host router, plug it into the host, id now have an ap, easily get full gigabit that way as its turned into a "dumb switch", all processing is done by the host.

Routers have hardware dedicated mostly to dhcp, nat, routing, firewall, etc.

AP's hardware is strictly dedicated to wireless.

And if you think Cisco's enterprise APs have less performance than any consumer router's wireless, please, give me a few while I recover from laughing in your face.

Back on topic: DD-WRT should work on this AP. Stop with the "DD-WRT is volunteer work. We don't have to do anything" blah blah blah. What I mean is that this is good free hardware to work with.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 5542
Location: WPG, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2017 19:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
riahc3 wrote:
tatsuya46 wrote:

thats not "free"..

The hardware is free, mr picky.

tatsuya46 wrote:

routers by default yes, and..? u know ddwrt can operate as a bridge via wifi or ethernet right? all an ap is is a bridge with wifi capability. a bridged device doesnt do nat or firewall & usually not qos, bridge/ap mode on ddwrt will be the same as a unit sold as an "ap by default" from a manufacturer. i can turn off dhcp/nat/firewall etc on my r7800, specify an ip for it in the subnet of the host router, plug it into the host, id now have an ap, easily get full gigabit that way as its turned into a "dumb switch", all processing is done by the host.

Routers have hardware dedicated mostly to dhcp, nat, routing, firewall, etc.

AP's hardware is strictly dedicated to wireless.

And if you think Cisco's enterprise APs have less performance than any consumer router's wireless, please, give me a few while I recover from laughing in your face.

Back on topic: DD-WRT should work on this AP. Stop with the "DD-WRT is volunteer work. We don't have to do anything" blah blah blah. What I mean is that this is good free hardware to work with.


clearly u seem to know pretty much nothing, that includes reading what was said to u & not trying to put words in mouths Rolling Eyes

since "the hardware is free" then get one & send it to them, mr picky

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33345 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


Love you AM never forget 10/26/2013..

RIP dad 1945 ~ 2017..
ian5142
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 23 Oct 2013
Posts: 584
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2017 1:42    Post subject: Attend a webinar, get a switch Reply with quote
Hello tatsuya46,

This is what riahc3 is referring to: https://meraki.cisco.com/tc/freeap

_________________
Do Not Use the Router Database, it is old and outdated.
DD-WRT Beta ftp: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/
Read the build threads here on the forum and take a peek at the svn timeline: http://svn.dd-wrt.com/timeline
Some dd-wrt wiki pages are up to date, others are not. PM me if you find an old one, I am trying to update them.

Atheros:
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 x2 - WDS AP, WDS Station
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1 - WDS Station
TP-Link 841nd v8 - WDS Station
Linksys WRT400N - WDS Station
D-Link 615 C1 x 4 - WDS Station
D-Link 615 E3 x 2 - WDS Station
D-Link 825 B1 - WDS Station
D-Link 862L A1 - WDS Station (Entware 3X)
Netgear WNDR3700v2 - WDS Station
TP-Link 1043nd v1, inactive, unstable hardware

Broadcom / ARM
Asus N66U - Gateway, DHCP, QoS
Netgear r6300 v1 - Client Bridge
Linksys E2500 - Client Bridge
Linksys EA2700 - Client Bridge
Linksys 160N v3 x2 - not used
Netgear WNDR3700v3 (Entware-3X) - Client Bridge
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 5542
Location: WPG, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2017 5:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
ya i saw it
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33375 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33345 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


Love you AM never forget 10/26/2013..

RIP dad 1945 ~ 2017..
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum