WRT3200ACM Real world experience and feedback

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.)
Author Message
cave_monkey
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jul 2017
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2017 8:32    Post subject: WRT3200ACM Real world experience and feedback Reply with quote
Im looking to get a new router for VPN ...Ive got down to The WRT3200 as the theoretically fastest VPN throughput..

I was intending to Run DDWRT, But some reviews i read, suggest people are having issues with the Marvel chipset and Issues with the Performance and stability..

Is this all smoke or is there any truth in it...

I want a fast VPN router with the option to break out locally for certain devices, namely PS4 for gaming..but all other content to be VPN'd but still break out in the Uk, mainly to get around buffering issues and traffic management.. if any one has any other options for about up to 50mbish VPN throughput
Sponsor
ad19
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 May 2017
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
The firmware is pretty much stable now and so is the Marvell driver.
See attached screenshot.
05dyna
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Jan 2008
Posts: 544

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2017 14:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Agree with ad19 running two wrt3200’s here with different builds. BS has been getting these dialed-in nicely. The wireless range and performance of the 2.4 and 5ghz bands has been excellent in several of the last builds..
_________________

Linksys WRT3200ACM DD-WRT v3.0-r32753std 07/19/17) OpenVPN client
Linksys EA8500 DD-WRT v3.0-r32802M kongat (07/24/17) Primary router
Not a Guru, just a dd-wrt aficionado...
hawkway
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 May 2017
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2017 14:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've had my WRT3200ACM for about 6 months now and I think it's a very good router. I have to kids with smart phones and tablets, I stream Sling TV, two PCs and two laptops. I never experience performance issues due to the amount of users. The stock firmware works well if you just want to set it up and never really have to do much maintenance. However, I've been using DD-WRT because it offers so much more. The drivers for the router had issues and through the great work of Brainslayer, it has become stable enough for me to start using. I always keep the Linksys stock FW on one partition in case I need to switch to it. DD-WRT is still a work in progress for this router so if you can stand a couple of hiccups along the way, it's worth loading it. As far as the router itself, I'd recommend it.
_________________
WRT3200ACM V1.0 --> Stock FW
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 3120

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2017 14:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Review Netgear R7800 as an alternative.
cave_monkey
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jul 2017
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat Jul 15, 2017 21:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
thanks for the feedback....
cave_monkey
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jul 2017
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
05dyna wrote:
Agree with ad19 running two wrt3200’s here with different builds. BS has been getting these dialed-in nicely. The wireless range and performance of the 2.4 and 5ghz bands has been excellent in several of the last builds..


Where did you get r32670, i can only find 32597 in betas
ad19
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 May 2017
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
cave_monkey wrote:
05dyna wrote:
Agree with ad19 running two wrt3200’s here with different builds. BS has been getting these dialed-in nicely. The wireless range and performance of the 2.4 and 5ghz bands has been excellent in several of the last builds..


Where did you get r32670, i can only find 32597 in betas


You have the same question on two different threads. Here http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=304086&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=1770
cave_monkey
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jul 2017
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 13:31    Post subject: Ath0,1,2 Reply with quote
There is three Wireless radios... ok

could anyone share there config and or understandings of them...

The ath1 and ath2 are a bit confusing.. ath1 has Turboqam? what ever that is ? and ath2 is seemingly both 2.4 and 5ghz

however i can only change width on the ath0 to 80, 1 and 2 seem to be fixed at 20

i also tend to split of the SSIDs from 2.4 and 5 but thats just habit
cave_monkey
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jul 2017
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 13:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
ad19 wrote:
cave_monkey wrote:
05dyna wrote:
Agree with ad19 running two wrt3200’s here with different builds. BS has been getting these dialed-in nicely. The wireless range and performance of the 2.4 and 5ghz bands has been excellent in several of the last builds..


Where did you get r32670, i can only find 32597 in betas


You have the same question on two different threads. Here http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=304086&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=1770



Oppps sorry for double posting, my brain was fried that day
d0ug
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Jul 2015
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 14:20    Post subject: Re: Ath0,1,2 Reply with quote
cave_monkey wrote:
There is three Wireless radios... ok

could anyone share there config and or understandings of them...

The ath1 and ath2 are a bit confusing.. ath1 has Turboqam? what ever that is ? and ath2 is seemingly both 2.4 and 5ghz

however i can only change width on the ath0 to 80, 1 and 2 seem to be fixed at 20

i also tend to split of the SSIDs from 2.4 and 5 but thats just habit


ATH1 and ATH2 are you two separate wireless radios. Appears your's is a bit different than my WRT1200AC. In my case ATH0 is the 5GHZ radio and ATH1 is the 2.4GHZ radio.

It should tell you on the top of the config section for that radio what it is. This is what shows on mine

Wireless Physical Interface ath0 [5 GHz/802.11ac] - 88W8864 802.11ac

Wireless Physical Interface ath1 [2.4 GHz TurboQAM] - 88W8864 802.11ac
cave_monkey
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jul 2017
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 14:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yeah I have three on the WRT3200

ath0 is 5ghz ac
ath1 is the 2.4 turboQAM? what is TurboQAM
ath2 is 2.4 / 5ghz which was a little confusing

also the bandwidth on the 1 and 2 are seemingly locked at 20hz

just curios , for the initial setup ive only got one enabled anyway
ad19
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 May 2017
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 14:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
ath2 can be safely disabled in wrt3200acm. It will probably be used for radar detection at a later date.
ATHF
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 14 Dec 2015
Posts: 502

PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 4:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
cave_monkey wrote:
Yeah I have three on the WRT3200

ath0 is 5ghz ac
ath1 is the 2.4 turboQAM? what is TurboQAM
ath2 is 2.4 / 5ghz which was a little confusing

also the bandwidth on the 1 and 2 are seemingly locked at 20hz

just curios , for the initial setup ive only got one enabled anyway


TurboQAM is a Broadcom specification, uses 256 QAM on 2.4, and both radios must support it (Client and Station). As this is a Marvell unit, I believe it would not work, probably some of the changes in the web GUI that has been going on it may have been missed. Kind of like CSS (Cascading Style Sheets) in HTML.

If you are locked at 20 Mhz, on ATH0 and ATH1, are you using WPA2 as security?

_________________
WRT3200ACM - No WiFi-r32028
APs: WRT1200ACv1,WRT1900AC-r31899
TWC/Spectrum - 300/25
SysLog Watcher 4, Security Onion VB
tutorial for flashing "WRT" series: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=287813
cave_monkey
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jul 2017
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2017 12:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the feedback..
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Marvell MVEBU based Hardware (WRT1900AC etc.) All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum