Alternate Per User Bandwith Monitoring (Directly On Router)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Contributions Upload
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
vortex05
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Mar 2014
Posts: 81

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 17:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you are running the lighttpd version by enabling the web server the timer is automatically 1.

and you can't change it to 0 your cpu on the router will be at full load and it won't route.
Sponsor
Cameron_Nicholson
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Apr 2015
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 17:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
vortex05 wrote:
If you are running the lighttpd version by enabling the web server the timer is automatically 1.


With the risk of asking too much, would you happen to know a good tutorial to install a lighttpd server?

If not, is it easier for me to change the count down haha

Thanks
vortex05
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Mar 2014
Posts: 81

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 18:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
On DDWRT routers with more than 16mb of flash you only need to enable it on Services -> WebServer

it's built in.

I would not recommend going the optware route to install lighttpd.
Cameron_Nicholson
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Apr 2015
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 18:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
vortex05 wrote:
On DDWRT routers with more than 16mb of flash you only need to enable it on Services -> WebServer

it's built in.

I would not recommend going the optware route to install lighttpd.


Hmm just like you state on github, but I don't seem to have that option...

Also

I'm following this guide but unfortunately when I enter "~ # mkdir /jffs/opt" in terminal, i get permission denied, and when I enter it in 'command' on DD-WRT i get sh: eval: line 1: /: Permission denied. I won't do it as you suggest not to, but why am I getting denied?

https://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Optware-ByHand

Thanks for you patience, I'm not overly experienced in this area
Cameron_Nicholson
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Apr 2015
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2016 4:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Cameron_Nicholson wrote:
vortex05 wrote:
On DDWRT routers with more than 16mb of flash you only need to enable it on Services -> WebServer

it's built in.

I would not recommend going the optware route to install lighttpd.


Hmm just like you state on github, but I don't seem to have that option...

Also

I'm following this guide but unfortunately when I enter "~ # mkdir /jffs/opt" in terminal, i get permission denied, and when I enter it in 'command' on DD-WRT i get sh: eval: line 1: /: Permission denied. I won't do it as you suggest not to, but why am I getting denied?

https://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Optware-ByHand

Thanks for you patience, I'm not overly experienced in this area


I fixed the permissions issue. What should I do regarding the web server?

Thanks
lucas86
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Sep 2015
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 4:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, i started to use bwmon today... after hours of trying to install it (i'm on windows 10) and i don't use linux at all. Embarassed

I got a few questions. I've used a 2gb pendrive, using ddwrt r26622 on a tplink wdr4300-

1st, i downloaded a ubuntu distro, formatted the pendrive to ext4, then i downloaded the bwmon.tar.gz. and i copied the extracted folder to the pendrive.

2nd, i've also copied the bwmon folder to the /tmp folder on my router using WinSCP.

See the pic below,


So, the question is this configured OK? i mean the "run-on-mount" script part, and the "mount this partition to /jffs".

I can see and navigate the page http://192.168.1.1/user/bwmon.html, but i can only see my computers as MAC addresses, how can i change that?



Thanks to anyone who can help me Laughing

and much thanks vortex05 for this thing!!

_________________
Linksys WRT54GL v1.1 --- (r14929-std)-RETIRED
Linksys EA2700 v1 --- (r29409)
TP-Link WR841N v9.3 --- (r27506)
TP-Link WDR4300 v1.7 --- (r26622)
raqua
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Feb 2014
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 6:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
I believe you have to set static IPs to get hostnames. That is what I use and it works. If an unknown machine is connected to my network, I also see only mac address.
_________________
Netgear R7000 running BS DD-WRT build 26446 (home)
lucas86
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Sep 2015
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 2:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
raqua wrote:
I believe you have to set static IPs to get hostnames. That is what I use and it works. If an unknown machine is connected to my network, I also see only mac address.


Yes, in my home all of my PCS are with static ip addresses. Sad , only the smarthphones are with DHCP. Maybe its this version of bwmon, or my script is bad configured.

----------
Edit 05/19

Ok, so I've fixed this issue using this post https://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=333648#333648

Also, i've changed the bwmon folder location, 'cause if my router is rebooted the /tmp folder gets cleaned.. so I've moved it to /tmp/mnt/sda1 that points to my pendrive.

_________________
Linksys WRT54GL v1.1 --- (r14929-std)-RETIRED
Linksys EA2700 v1 --- (r29409)
TP-Link WR841N v9.3 --- (r27506)
TP-Link WDR4300 v1.7 --- (r26622)
vibez
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Oct 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2016 20:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Great script. I may have misunderstood it's use or found a bug. I was streaming a video from my set top box to my laptop. The laptop is connected to the router by WiFi and the set-top box is connected to the router via Ethernet. No download rate was displayed in the script, but if I look at at the status->bandwidth page I can see the traffic
heatl0rd
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Dec 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 13:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just DDWRT'ed my R7000 and immediately went to work on this.

So confusing because im not a linux guy but managed to get things running - but i ran into a bunch of errors along the way.

1. i cant seem to mount my usb to jffs - i dont understand what i should be putting into the 'Mount this Partition to /jffs' section of ddwrt. I assumed it was the actual path of the usb which was listed as '/dev/sda5 mounted to /tmp/mnt/sda5' so i put '/tmp/mnt/sda5'.

screenshot of settings: http://i.imgur.com/uInq4e5.png

2. despite doing the above i couldnt locate 'bwmon.tar.gz' so i did 'cd /tmp/mnt/sda5' and found 'bwmon.tar.gz'. I simply just executed the following from there.

Code:
BusyBox v1.24.2 (2016-12-18 23:10:03 CET) built-in shell (ash)

root@R7000:~# cd /jffs
root@R7000:/jffs# ls -a
.   ..
root@R7000:/jffs# cd /tmp/mnt/sda5
root@R7000:/tmp/mnt/sda5# ls -a
.                          System Volume Information
..                         bwmon.tar.gz
root@R7000:/tmp/mnt/sda5# tar -xzvf bwmon.tar.gz
bwmon/
bwmon/backup.sh
bwmon/bwmon-autobackup.sh
bwmon/bwmon-running.sh
bwmon/bwmon.sh
bwmon/clean.sh
bwmon/install.sh
bwmon/lighttpd-running.sh
bwmon/start.sh
bwmon/startup.sh
bwmon/stop.sh
bwmon/www/
bwmon/www/angular.min.js
bwmon/www/arrow-left.png
bwmon/www/bootstrap.min.css
bwmon/www/bwmon.css
bwmon/www/bwmon.html
bwmon/www/bwmon.js
bwmon/www/bwreader.php
bwmon/www/mac-names.js
bwmon/www/ui-bootstrap-tpls.min.js
root@R7000:/tmp/mnt/sda5# cd /tmp/mnt/sda5/bwmon/ && sh install.sh
Installation completed.
Type /tmp/mnt/sda5/bwmon/startup.sh to start the script
You can visit the stats page by navigating to http://routerip/user/bwmon.html
root@R7000:/tmp/mnt/sda5/bwmon# /tmp/mnt/sda5/bwmon/startup.sh
killall: bwmon-running.sh: no process killed
killall: bwmon-autobackup.sh: no process killed
killall: bwmon.sh: no process killed
killall: sleep: no process killed
cp: can't stat '/tmp/www/usage.js': No such file or directory
backup completed
rm: can't remove 'angular.min.js': No such file or directory
rm: can't remove 'arrow-left.png': No such file or directory
rm: can't remove 'bootstrap.min.css': No such file or directory
rm: can't remove 'bwmon.css': No such file or directory
rm: can't remove 'bwmon.html': No such file or directory
rm: can't remove 'bwmon.js': No such file or directory
rm: can't remove 'bwreader.php': No such file or directory
rm: can't remove 'mac-names.js': No such file or directory
rm: can't remove 'ui-bootstrap-tpls.min.js': No such file or directory
rm: can't remove 'dnsmasq-conf.js': No such file or directory
rm: can't remove 'dnsmasq-leases.js': No such file or directory
bandwidth monitor shutdown completed
bandwidth monitor started use /tmp/mnt/sda5/bwmon/bwmon-stop.sh to stop
root@R7000:/tmp/mnt/sda5/bwmon# bandwidth monitor autobackup started use /tmp/mn                               t/sda5/bwmon/stop.sh to stop
bandwidth monitor started with cycle time of 10 use /tmp/mnt/sda5/bwmon/stop.sh                                to stop
cat: can't open '/tmp/in_2430.tmp': No such file or directory
cat: can't open '/tmp/out_2430.tmp': No such file or directory
sh: 0: unknown operand
cat: can't open '/tmp/in_2430.tmp': No such file or directory
cat: can't open '/tmp/out_2430.tmp': No such file or directory
sh: 0: unknown operand


appreciate if any gurus can confirm if i should be worried about the above. As per below - it all seems to be working fine =]

http://i.imgur.com/VWfHPrQ.png
Phatty2x4
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Feb 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 13:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm not a linux person.

How do you reset or clear the data?

I would like to clear this every month so I have a fresh listing.

Ninja edit - I was able to figure out which file to clear in order to start a fresh count.
lucas86
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Sep 2015
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 3:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
i'm getting this bug... image below, the red rectangle


_________________
Linksys WRT54GL v1.1 --- (r14929-std)-RETIRED
Linksys EA2700 v1 --- (r29409)
TP-Link WR841N v9.3 --- (r27506)
TP-Link WDR4300 v1.7 --- (r26622)
shrowell
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Feb 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2017 5:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can we please be clear what the automount path needs to be? I have the "jffs" partition mapped to /tmp/mnt/sda1 in dd-wrt, but after saving and applying (with my ext4-formatted USB plugged), I cannot even copy a file to jffs as it's readonly, apparently.

Also, the wget does not work - I get the following error:

wget: error getting response: Address family not supported by protocol

All I want to do is find out where all my internet usage is, and this is sooo complicated. Please help!

Netgear R7000 (AC1900) with DD-WRT v3.0-r31205M kongac (02/03/17)

Simon
lucas86
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Sep 2015
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2017 23:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
shrowell wrote:
Can we please be clear what the automount path needs to be? I have the "jffs" partition mapped to /tmp/mnt/sda1 in dd-wrt, but after saving and applying (with my ext4-formatted USB plugged), I cannot even copy a file to jffs as it's readonly, apparently.

Also, the wget does not work - I get the following error:

wget: error getting response: Address family not supported by protocol

All I want to do is find out where all my internet usage is, and this is sooo complicated. Please help!

Netgear R7000 (AC1900) with DD-WRT v3.0-r31205M kongac (02/03/17)

Simon


Hi, just apply this config and you'll get it.

In my case, this tplink wdr4300 where i've it mounted the thumbdrive with NTFS, its working great the latest version of bwmon 1.9, just download the .tar.gz from github, unrar, put the bwmon folder inside the formatted thumbdrive, configure as below, and thats all.


_________________
Linksys WRT54GL v1.1 --- (r14929-std)-RETIRED
Linksys EA2700 v1 --- (r29409)
TP-Link WR841N v9.3 --- (r27506)
TP-Link WDR4300 v1.7 --- (r26622)
al_c
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Apr 2013
Posts: 1679
Location: Ottawa Canada

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 12:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
lucas86 wrote:
i'm getting this bug... image below, the red rectangle


At first blush, it looks like you have an integer overflow issue...
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 Display posts from previous:    Page 4 of 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Contributions Upload All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum