Netgear R7800 (Nighthawk X4S – AC2600) - status

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 83, 84, 85 ... 102, 103, 104  Next
Author Message
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 5613
Location: WPG, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 7:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
stalonge wrote:
@tatsuya


After last 8 builds for R7800 with some issues , i want to give a try Lede fw .


do i need to restore back to netgear fw ? is There a specific fw to do this ?


Is a good idea go straight to Lede from DD ?






Very Happy Very Happy


i still havent touched lede with this unit yet, every time i think about it i put it off some more but maybe ill try it soon.. just tftp the img to it, then erase settings from lede, same to go back to ddwrt, dont need to put stock on it first

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33519 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33492 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33492 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33492 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33492 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


Love you AM never forget 10/26/2013..

RIP dad 1945 ~ 2017..
Sponsor
stalonge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1667
Location: Fortaleza Ce Brazil

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 11:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Folks

I flashed LEDE .. My R7800 is running it

i got a file in Kong FTP to restore Netgear factory and after flashed LEDE ..


Some points

features DD is a champ ... nothing compare to it

Because its modular design , default installation dont have many features that i think is essential .. DD is everything under the roof .. thats good

steady .. i flashed LEDE wondering i will have a steady wifi ... i was wrong ... same litle problems ..


I think that LEDE is a good option if you use a simple configuration ,,, its not my case


Now i will stick with it some time to check more and i am looking for a way to go back to DD ...

Someone has a hint to go back ? Stock or DD




Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
DDwrt ...it rocks ....
1 R8500 33525 Kong
1 R7800 33525
1 R7000 335205 4G
1 WZR1750 33435 Kong
1 DDx86 Vmware 31571
1 E3000 25527 K3 @500 4G
1 E3000 30805 K3 @500
1 WRT610Nv2 28598 K26 @500


Last edited by stalonge on Sun Aug 13, 2017 13:14; edited 1 time in total
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 5844
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 12:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Put the router in recovery mode. Turn it off, hold the reset button in, turn the router off, after 15 seconds let go of the reset buttons and tftp the firmware.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
stalonge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1667
Location: Fortaleza Ce Brazil

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 12:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
Put the router in recovery mode. Turn it off, hold the reset button in, turn the router off, after 15 seconds let go of the reset buttons and tftp the firmware.


Thanks Malachi ...

Put the router in recovery mode. Turn it off, hold the reset button in, turn the router 'ON ' , after 15 seconds let go of the reset buttons and tftp the firmware.


Right ?


I can place any FW ? . DD or Netgear ?

Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
DDwrt ...it rocks ....
1 R8500 33525 Kong
1 R7800 33525
1 R7000 335205 4G
1 WZR1750 33435 Kong
1 DDx86 Vmware 31571
1 E3000 25527 K3 @500 4G
1 E3000 30805 K3 @500
1 WRT610Nv2 28598 K26 @500


Last edited by stalonge on Tue Aug 15, 2017 12:33; edited 2 times in total
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 5844
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 12:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've only ever done it with netgear. That's always said its best to go back to stock before another third part firmware.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
hyppo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Mar 2015
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 14:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
Put the router in recovery mode. Turn it off, hold the reset button in, turn the router off, after 15 seconds let go of the reset buttons and tftp the firmware.


What do you mean by tftp? Open the case and connect with tftp-USB cable?

stalonge wrote:


features DD is a champ ... nothing compare to it

Because its modular design , default installation dont have many features that i think is essential .. DD is everything under the roof .. thats good

steady .. i flashed LEDE wondering i will have a steady wifi ... i was wrong ... same litle problems ..

Very Happy Very Happy


What wifi problem? I am on Lede one week and it is all stable for me and wireless is even faster than on voxel f/w

But I use hnyman builds from here
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/ew0gap0crn30wyk/AADQLCBF5All8wc8RXmxisqAa
stalonge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1667
Location: Fortaleza Ce Brazil

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 14:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
hyppo wrote:
Malachi wrote:
Put the router in recovery mode. Turn it off, hold the reset button in, turn the router off, after 15 seconds let go of the reset buttons and tftp the firmware.


What do you mean by tftp? Open the case and connect with tftp-USB cable?

stalonge wrote:


features DD is a champ ... nothing compare to it

Because its modular design , default installation dont have many features that i think is essential .. DD is everything under the roof .. thats good


R7000 and R8500 broadcom units there is no problems .. works like a charm ...



steady .. i flashed LEDE wondering i will have a steady wifi ... i was wrong ... same litle problems ..

Very Happy Very Happy


What wifi problem? I am on Lede one week and it is all stable for me and wireless is even faster than on voxel f/w

But I use hnyman builds from here
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/ew0gap0crn30wyk/AADQLCBF5All8wc8RXmxisqAa



OK , its work for you , but for me i have here a weird setup .. some wifi clients dont connect ..

i have a broadcom R7000 client than cant connet with qualcomm R7800 ... Its works with some old dd builds and with netgear factory .. but with LEDE and new dd builds dont ..

I tried many diferent wifi configurations ... but no sucess

Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
DDwrt ...it rocks ....
1 R8500 33525 Kong
1 R7800 33525
1 R7000 335205 4G
1 WZR1750 33435 Kong
1 DDx86 Vmware 31571
1 E3000 25527 K3 @500 4G
1 E3000 30805 K3 @500
1 WRT610Nv2 28598 K26 @500
stalonge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1667
Location: Fortaleza Ce Brazil

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 14:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
These wifi issues doesnt happens with Broadcom units ( R7000 & R8500 )


both works like a cham

Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
DDwrt ...it rocks ....
1 R8500 33525 Kong
1 R7800 33525
1 R7000 335205 4G
1 WZR1750 33435 Kong
1 DDx86 Vmware 31571
1 E3000 25527 K3 @500 4G
1 E3000 30805 K3 @500
1 WRT610Nv2 28598 K26 @500
rawd
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Jan 2014
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 15:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
From reading up on LEDE, setting up policy based client OpenVPN looks daunting and a time sink compared to the DDWRT GUI.

If I land myself a second router to experiment with LEDE I will but for now I just have the one 7800 and I don't want a cranky family while I test it out
ju0n
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jul 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 16:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
stalonge wrote:
Folks

I flashed LEDE .. My R7800 is running it

i got a file in Kong FTP to restore Netgear factory and after flashed LEDE ..


Some points

features DD is a champ ... nothing compare to it

Because its modular design , default installation dont have many features that i think is essential .. DD is everything under the roof .. thats good

steady .. i flashed LEDE wondering i will have a steady wifi ... i was wrong ... same litle problems ..


I think that LEDE is a good option if you use a simple configuration ,,, its not my case


Now i will stick with it some time to check more and i am looking for a way to go back to DD ...

Someone has a hint to go back ? Stock or DD

Hi,
I've bought a R7800 a few weeks ago. It's running stock firmware yet. Can i ask You after testing several builds wich dd-wrt firmware are you going to go back?
Regards,
Juan
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 1356
Location: London,UK

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 17:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
for me 31900 was good for R7800 as well im on the current 33010 no problems so far....but im not a VPN user and do not have a complicated set ups as well im not using 5ghz WiFi...
my unit is solid as a rock fingers crossed Razz

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv4 .......DD-WRT 31791 (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 33492 (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 33492 (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,No Wi-Fi)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2.......... Gargoyle OS 1.9.2(AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 ------------DD-WRT 33435M Kong (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,DNSCrypt x4)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---------DD-WRT 33435M Kong (AP,NAT,Privoxy,Country Block,Firewall,DNSCrypt x4)
Others
Netgear ProSAFE-GS105Ev2 ....(LAN Switch)
RandomJerk
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Jun 2016
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 1:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alozaros wrote:
for me 31900 was good for R7800 as well im on the current 33010 no problems so far....but im not a VPN user and do not have a complicated set ups as well im not using 5ghz WiFi...
my unit is solid as a rock fingers crossed Razz


Hi. Where can I get 31900 ? Can you please share the file if you have it ?
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 5613
Location: WPG, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 4:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2017/04-24-2017-r31899/

?

and r31900 is a marvell change thats absolutely pointless to this unit..

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33519 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33492 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33492 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33492 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r33492 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers


Love you AM never forget 10/26/2013..

RIP dad 1945 ~ 2017..
Alozaros
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Nov 2015
Posts: 1356
Location: London,UK

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 10:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2017/04-24-2017-r31899/

?

and r31900 is a marvell change thats absolutely pointless to this unit..


naah 31900 its a Kong build for R7800...
here you are...

_________________
Atheros
TP-Link WR740Nv4 .......DD-WRT 31791 (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 33492 (AP,PPPoE,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2 ------DD-WRT 33492 (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,No Wi-Fi)
TP-Link WR1043NDv2.......... Gargoyle OS 1.9.2(AP,NAT,QoS,Quotas)
Qualcomm/IPQ8065
Netgear R7800 ------------DD-WRT 33435M Kong (AP,NAT,AD Blocking,Firewall,DNSCrypt x4)
Broadcom
Netgear R7000 ---------DD-WRT 33435M Kong (AP,NAT,Privoxy,Country Block,Firewall,DNSCrypt x4)
Others
Netgear ProSAFE-GS105Ev2 ....(LAN Switch)
stalonge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1667
Location: Fortaleza Ce Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 12:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
I've only ever done it with netgear. That's always said its best to go back to stock before another third part firmware.


Malachi .. i have here a linux box ( linuxmint 18 ) .. what command a should do to use tftp to flash stock fw ..


in google there are many howto ... i want to do right one ..

tftp %%%%%%%%%%%%%%


thanks in advance

Very Happy Very Happy

_________________
DDwrt ...it rocks ....
1 R8500 33525 Kong
1 R7800 33525
1 R7000 335205 4G
1 WZR1750 33435 Kong
1 DDx86 Vmware 31571
1 E3000 25527 K3 @500 4G
1 E3000 30805 K3 @500
1 WRT610Nv2 28598 K26 @500
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 83, 84, 85 ... 102, 103, 104  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 84 of 104
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum