TP-Link Archer VR200v / how to reduce power consumption?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Hardware DIY / Hardware Mods
Author Message
RIDDICC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Sep 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 7:03    Post subject: TP-Link Archer VR200v / how to reduce power consumption? Reply with quote
Hi!

I found that my Archer VR200v (hw ver:v1 00000001) (fw ver: 0.8.0 0.25 v002f.0 Build 160809 Rel.52803n) uses 30% more power than my default box, that my current ISP gives me (O2 Homebox 6641).

In both boxes I disable WLAN and I use VDSL, 2 Gigabit ports and 2 analog phones (fax+voice).

TP-Link's beta fw (170706) for that Archer made it even worse (by 120mW). LOL

Can I modify that Archer somehow, so that it uses less power?

Would dd-wrt's firmware use less power?

Is it just me or is power consumption of low priority for TP-Link?

Thx.

Bye
Arne
Sponsor
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 5844
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
You can't use dd-wrt on modem/router combos.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
RIDDICC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Sep 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 14:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
You can't use dd-wrt on modem/router combos.

ok... tp-link mentions u on its firmware page...

but: would u b able to reduce power consumption somehow?
i m even willing to cut a trace or two... Smile

or do u mean, that u do not like to talk about modem/router combos?

-arne
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 5844
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 14:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
I mean you can't put dd-wrt on your router.
You can unplug it. That might reduce power.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
RIDDICC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Sep 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 4:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
I mean you can't put dd-wrt on your router.
You can unplug it. That might reduce power.


hm...
do u know any more productive hardware mod? Smile

-arne
danielwritesback
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Aug 2011
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 5:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
RIDDICC wrote:
Malachi wrote:
I mean you can't put dd-wrt on your router.
You can unplug it. That might reduce power.


hm...
do u know any more productive hardware mod? Smile

-arne

I'm assuming that you're not running this on battery power because that would have been an entirely different hardware selection.

Firstly, modern wifi equipment has power management, in which case, the power draw is minimized when its clients are silent. Edit: Is this function turned on? And, is dtim=3?

Secondly, you could put on a bit more efficient power pack. Even if it had somewhat more amperage capacity, cleaner power makes wifi work better, and potentially run cooler.
RIDDICC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Sep 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 6:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
danielwritesback wrote:

Firstly, modern wifi equipment has power management, in which case, the power draw is minimized when its clients are silent. Edit: Is this function turned on? And, is dtim=3?

Secondly, you could put on a bit more efficient power pack. Even if it had somewhat more amperage capacity, cleaner power makes wifi work better, and potentially run cooler.


1.
i disabled WLAN (both 2G4Hz and 5GHz), because i dont need it...
that really reduced power consumption...
but it is still 30% more, than the consumption of the O2 box...
TP-Link just told me, that they use a less power efficient CPU on the VR200v...

2.
I already connected the box to my personal 24Vdc uninterruptible in-house "power grid"... *giggle*
Do u think that TP-Link's on-board dc-dc converters r not so efficient?

-arne
danielwritesback
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Aug 2011
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 3:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
RIDDICC wrote:
danielwritesback wrote:

Firstly, modern wifi equipment has power management, in which case, the power draw is minimized when its clients are silent. Edit: Is this function turned on? And, is dtim=3?

Secondly, you could put on a bit more efficient power pack. Even if it had somewhat more amperage capacity, cleaner power makes wifi work better, and potentially run cooler.


1.
i disabled WLAN (both 2G4Hz and 5GHz), because i dont need it...
that really reduced power consumption...
but it is still 30% more, than the consumption of the O2 box...
TP-Link just told me, that they use a less power efficient CPU on the VR200v...

2.
I already connected the box to my personal 24Vdc uninterruptible in-house "power grid"... *giggle*
Do u think that TP-Link's on-board dc-dc converters r not so efficient?

-arne


As far as regs go, if the amount of voltage drop is none, then the amount of noise filtering is also none.
RIDDICC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Sep 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 20:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
seems like they do not turn off the unused modules (namely DECT and WLAN in my case)...
if i do not initialize those modules the power consumption is slightly lower than the consumption of the O2 homebox... *giggle*
patch http://www0.wgboome.org/archer_VR200vv1_160809.diff.txt
-arne
danielwritesback
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Aug 2011
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Mon Sep 18, 2017 0:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
RIDDICC wrote:
seems like they do not turn off the unused modules (namely DECT and WLAN in my case)...
if i do not initialize those modules the power consumption is slightly lower than the consumption of the O2 homebox... *giggle*
patch http://www0.wgboome.org/archer_VR200vv1_160809.diff.txt
-arne

Are you on solar power?
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 5844
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Sep 18, 2017 0:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Or hamster power?
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
RIDDICC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Sep 2017
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Sep 18, 2017 6:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
danielwritesback wrote:

Are you on solar power?


arent we all? -arne
danielwritesback
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Aug 2011
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2017 5:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
RIDDICC wrote:
danielwritesback wrote:

Are you on solar power?


arent we all? -arne

I have a twice yearly "unplugging party" mainly to remove excess cords and partly to save some electricity.
What I actually use does, eventually, get plugged back in. Even so, that bi-yearly adventure does put dents in the electric bill. Like this: (50+25+12)*2. So, its worth $174. I probably can't buy many solar panels on that; but, unplugging useless things works profitably!
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Hardware DIY / Hardware Mods All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum