TJTAG - EJTAG De-Brick tool - IMPORTANT CHANGE:See 1st Post.

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 83, 84, 85  Next
Author Message
Wingit
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 43
Location: Independence, Louisiana

PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 0:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok here are a few things since getting my wrt54gs v7 back from the dead.
1. When I plug into the internet port on the router, it does not see my ISP survice. But when I plug into one of the 4 other ports I get service.
2. The first time I was able to get to the admin service it was Linksys software. but today I had to log onto the DD-WRT software. Strange.
3. I'm unable to save settings.

So should I run the killer program and re-install the DD_WRT software or revert back to Linksys.

Will to try anything to help with getting this corrected. I'll also add that I'm currently surfing the net with wireless which is good.
Sponsor
Wingit
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 43
Location: Independence, Louisiana

PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 0:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok for some reason it's alowing me to save now. I logged back into it. All is working now but the internet port. strange.
Also I noticed it is running the DD-WRT v24 RC-3 (09/13/07) micro - build 7953.

I upgrade it to: DD-WRT v24 RC-4 (10/10/07) micro - build 8151M . But it still is not letting me connect to the internet port. But it is working
Wingit
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 43
Location: Independence, Louisiana

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 16:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
So I'm guessing there is no fix for the internet port.

Also might add I'm trying to erase the flash and do this over again. sometimes I get Linksys software and other times I gett DD-WRT software. SO I'm starting over.
Tornado
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2087
Location: Odessa, Ukraine

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 11:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
@Wingit

After reading all your posts, and what you have done, I have to say I am completly lost as to where you stand. What is your current situation ?

_________________
Want JTAG support - Donate a router
or Donate with PayPal !

My preferred parallel jtag adapter:
TIAO Parallel adapter

Tjtag website - http://tjtag.com

Compiling DD-WRT on:
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3926.667 Mhz

Aptosid X64 - Debian SID X64
Ubuntu 10.10 X64 - Arch X64
Wingit
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 43
Location: Independence, Louisiana

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 14:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Don't feel bad I'm lost also. Right now I have been erasing cfe, bsp, wholeflash and anything to clean out the old linksys software and have not had luck. I will probably just put this one on the side for now and get another and wait till there is a working script.

The wrt54gs was alive at one time, but all of the ports were not working. Each time I logged onto the router I either had the linksys or the dd-wrt software. It was a crap shoot as to which one would come up. So for the last few days I have been running erase programs. Then let it set and run them again. Which is probably a waste of time.

The port for the internet connection does not work. I have to connect it to one of the out bound ports (1-4)to get any ping results.

I don't know If what I’m saying is making any since to anyone, But I will leave this thread alone. I'm the only one in here talking to myself as of late.

Thanks Tornado for all of your help. But I think the router has a fried internet port. But who knows, I will continue to erase and maybe in a few days try loading the software back on.
Blackraven
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 397
Location: NL

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 19:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
In my visualisation, the flash would look like something like this:
Code:
[CFE][Kernel][JFFS2 (if mounted)][NVRAM]

But where would I picture the BSP, behind the CFE?
Is it only applicable for the VXworks hardware or also for my WRT54GL?

_________________
WRT54GL v1.1 DD-WRT v24-SP2 vpn - build 10550
WRT610N v1 DD-WRT v24-SP2 mega - build 14929
DIR825 B1 DD-WRT v24-SP2 std - build 21061
Tornado
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2087
Location: Odessa, Ukraine

PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 6:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
It would be where the CFE is, it is a different bootloader, VxWorks has there own bootloader.

Another thing to mention is the BSP - for Example
GSv8 / GSv7 are 320k
not
256k or 128k like broadcoms CFE.

_________________
Want JTAG support - Donate a router
or Donate with PayPal !

My preferred parallel jtag adapter:
TIAO Parallel adapter

Tjtag website - http://tjtag.com

Compiling DD-WRT on:
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3926.667 Mhz

Aptosid X64 - Debian SID X64
Ubuntu 10.10 X64 - Arch X64
labrat_x
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Nov 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 16:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm currently running the commnand...

tjtag.exe -erase:nvram /noerase /noemw

The output immediately said there were five read errors, and then the program appeared to have stalled. The program's CPU usage is around 95% and hasn't printed anything further. How long does the erase/ flash usually take?
Tornado
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2087
Location: Odessa, Ukraine

PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 17:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
I would read a little more of the documentation /noerase is used when a flash has already been erased and doesn't need to be erased again during the flash operation. to erase the NVRAM.

Tjtag -erase:nvram /noemw
or
Tjtag -erase:nvram /noreset

erasing the wholeflash on a 8MB flash only takes me about 30 seconds...maybe a little longer

_________________
Want JTAG support - Donate a router
or Donate with PayPal !

My preferred parallel jtag adapter:
TIAO Parallel adapter

Tjtag website - http://tjtag.com

Compiling DD-WRT on:
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3926.667 Mhz

Aptosid X64 - Debian SID X64
Ubuntu 10.10 X64 - Arch X64
labrat_x
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Nov 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 17:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
That second command made quite a difference, but i still seem to be stuck. Here is the output the command produces.

D:\windows>tjtag.exe -erase:nvram /noreset

=================================================
WRT54G/GS EJTAG Debrick Utility v4.8-Tornado-MOD
=================================================

Probing bus ... Done

Instruction Length set to 8

CPU Chip ID: 00010101001101010100000101111111 (1535417F)
*** Found a Broadcom BCM5354 KFBG Rev 1 CPU chip ***

- EJTAG IMPCODE ....... : 00000000100000010000100100000100 (00810904)
- EJTAG Version ....... : 1 or 2.0
- EJTAG DMA Support ... : Yes

Issuing Processor / Peripheral Reset ... Skipped
Enabling Memory Writes ... Done
Halting Processor ... <Processor did NOT enter Debug Mode!> ... Done
Clearing Watchdog ... Done

Probing Flash at (Flash Window: 0x1fc00000) ... Done

*** Unknown or NO Flash Chip Detected ***

*** REQUESTED OPERATION IS COMPLETE ***

D:\windows>
labrat_x
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Nov 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 17:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tried running the command immediately after power on (had forgotten to do this for my last post). It seems to be doing something now, I'll keep you updated on the progress.
labrat_x
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Nov 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 21:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
The quest continues...

Router I'm working with:
WRT54Gv8
spansion: S29AL
samsung: K4S64

Tornado: I've discovered an annoying bug with the Tjtag program, it appears to not work correctly under Windows 2003. If I run the command
"tjtag.exe -probeonly /noemw"
the command freezes on "Probing Flash at (Flash Window: 0x1fc00000)". However, if I run
"tjtag.exe -probeonly /noemw > output.txt"
the command completes as expected. Furthermore, none of the erase or write commands seem to work at all.

When I switched over to my friend's XP machine, all the commands began working as expected.


Second comment, I'm trying to recover a bricked router. Using the Tjtag utility, I performed a whole flash erase, completed sucessfully, and then flashed vxworkskillerGv8.bin from the download page. The router would not respond to ping, so I re-erased the flash and flashed CFE_Updater-Gv8-GSv7.bin with the same result.

Is there a different file I should be jtagging to the router? If so, where can I get it?
johnk
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Nov 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

I tried to load dd-wrt on my WRT54Gs v7 router, but I loaded the wrong vxkiller and it bricked my router. I tried flashing BSP (vxkiller8) using Tornado's debrick utility and it stops at ~ 31 %. All ethernet lights are on.

Tjtag -probeonly /noemw

=================================================
WRT54G/GS EJTAG Debrick Utility v4.8-Tornado-MOD
=================================================

Probing bus ... Done

Instruction Length set to 8

CPU Chip ID: 00100101001101010100000101111111 (2535417F)
*** Found a Broadcom BCM5354 KFBG Rev 2 CPU chip ***

- EJTAG IMPCODE ....... : 00000000100000010000100100000100 (00810904)
- EJTAG Version ....... : 1 or 2.0
- EJTAG DMA Support ... : Yes

Issuing Processor / Peripheral Reset ... Done
Enabling Memory Writes ... Skipped
Halting Processor ... <Processor Entered Debug Mode!> ... Done
Clearing Watchdog ... Done

Probing Flash at (Flash Window: 0x1fc00000) ... Done

Flash Vendor ID: 00000000000000000000000011101100 (000000EC)
Flash Device ID: 00000000000000000010001001110111 (00002277)
*** Found a K8D1716UBC 1Mx16 BotB (2MB) Flash Chip ***

- Flash Chip Window Start .... : 1fc00000
- Flash Chip Window Length ... : 00200000
- Selected Area Start ........ : 00000000
- Selected Area Length ....... : 00000000

*** REQUESTED OPERATION IS COMPLETE ***

Any ideas ? :-)

Thanks.
Tornado
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2087
Location: Odessa, Ukraine

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
@labrat_x

Let me check and make sure that FLASH CHIP is defined in the tool

_________________
Want JTAG support - Donate a router
or Donate with PayPal !

My preferred parallel jtag adapter:
TIAO Parallel adapter

Tjtag website - http://tjtag.com

Compiling DD-WRT on:
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3926.667 Mhz

Aptosid X64 - Debian SID X64
Ubuntu 10.10 X64 - Arch X64
Tornado
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2087
Location: Odessa, Ukraine

PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
@johnk

You cannot " I tried flashing BSP (vxkiller8) " with tjtag, you need a BSP or CFE to flash it with this tool, those ae only for flashing via GUI

_________________
Want JTAG support - Donate a router
or Donate with PayPal !

My preferred parallel jtag adapter:
TIAO Parallel adapter

Tjtag website - http://tjtag.com

Compiling DD-WRT on:
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3926.667 Mhz

Aptosid X64 - Debian SID X64
Ubuntu 10.10 X64 - Arch X64
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 83, 84, 85  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 85
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> General Questions All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum