ASUS WL-520GU Successful flash!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
mucker
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Feb 2007
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 5:13    Post subject: ASUS WL-520GU Successful flash! Reply with quote
The WL-520GU is very easy to flash to DD-WRT but keep in mind that it contains the newer Broadcom 5354 chip which requires a special version of DD-WRT. The 5354 is also the chip inside the Buffalo WHR-G125. I own a WHR-G125 and it works great with DD-WRT.

Here are the steps to a successful flash:

2 additional files need to be down loaded to perform the procedure. (Right click on the links and use "save link as"):

http://wl500g.dyndns.org/wl500g-clear-nvram.trx
http://wl500g.dyndns.org/wl500g-recover.trx

1. Set PC IP manually to 192.168.1.10 (192.168.1.1 gateway)
2. Unplug power cord from wl-500gu.
3. Press and hold restore button and then insert power cord back into router. When the PWR light starts flashing, release Restore button. Now your wl-500gu is in restore mode.
4. Run Asus Firmware Restoration utility (can be found on asus website or included cd)
5. Choose the wl500g-clear-nvram.trx file and upload it to the router.
6. After the upoad successful message, repeat steps 2 and 3. (the router will not reboot on it's own)
7. Choose the wl500g-recover.trx file and also upload it to your router.
8. After the upoad successful message, repeat steps 2 and 3. (the router will not reboot on it's own)
9. Select a DD-WRT firmware file to upload into the router. The router should reboot after the upload. I am using the file: dd-wrt.v24_generic_nokaid.bin located in the release candidates>RC7>Broadcom>Asus>WL520GU directory. Firmware version shows 9433.
10. Perform a hard reset by holding the reset button in while the router is under power until the router starts flashing (this will clear the nvram). The router should reboot. Enter 192.168.1.1 (root/admin)
11. Reset your PC to obtain IP automatically.
12. You may need to reboot/power cycle all equipment to get everything operating properly.

Enjoy DD-WRT

USB print server function does not work even with either the EKO or Brainslayer builds (yet). Hopefully it will be supported someday. (I am a Windows user, LINUX users may have it working). I would like to thank the DD-WRT authors for their hard work, thanks a ton!

Reverting back to the ASUS firmware is very easy too. Just use the above procedure and at step 9, flash in the newest ASUS firmware 2.0.0.8. It's that easy.

m Very Happy


Last edited by mucker on Sun May 04, 2008 2:33; edited 25 times in total
Sponsor
mucker
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Feb 2007
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2008 22:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well. I am up 2-1/2 days strong and stable as a rock. The Asus WL-520GU is looking good so far, performance is good.

I have a Buffalo WHR-G54S and WHR-G125 and I'll have to say the Asus is right there with them as far as performance goes.

My Asus has the newer 5354 Broadcom chip Rev. 2 @ 240 MHz with 16 MB ram and 4 MB flash.

I purchased it at mwave.com for $47 + $7 shipping.

As typical, the USB function is lost, but nonetheless, very happy with this router.


Last edited by mucker on Wed Jan 23, 2008 2:25; edited 3 times in total
mucker
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Feb 2007
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 0:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have just flashed Eko build RC6 8790 nokaid for 535x. So far so good......

This one: http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/others/eko/RC6-8790/dd-wrt.v24_RC6-8790_535x_nokaid.bin

Use this file in step 9 from the original post.


Last edited by mucker on Wed Jan 23, 2008 1:50; edited 1 time in total
slimey
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Feb 2007
Posts: 322
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 1:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
nice good lookin out Smile
mucker
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Feb 2007
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 1:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Good price too, $52 shipped in U.S.: http://www.pcconnection.com/IPA/Shop/Product/Detail.htm?sku=7722170&oext=1038A&ci_src=14110944&ci_sku=7722170

I'll stop bumping the thread now, just wanted to say it's a pretty good DD-WRT router for the price.

m Cool
Westacular
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jan 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Actually you don't even need to bother with the clear-nvram.trx / recover.trx stuff.

I got one of these units a couple weeks ago and was able to flash directly from the stock firmware directly to one of the then-latest Eko's -535x RC6 builds using the Asus Firmware Recovery tool. Dead simple, and works great. I used a nokaid version but any of them should be fine, as long as they have -535x in the filename.

The router is definitely a nice little package; looks good, has 4 MB flash, and it only cost $45 CDN.
dhultin
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Mar 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 21:08    Post subject: asus 520gu wont save any settings i apply Reply with quote
I recently purchased a asus 520gu and installed Firmware: DD-WRT v24 RC-6 (01/02/0Cool std onto it using the asus firmware recovery tool. The router boots up fine, and I can login and look at everything.

There is one HUGE MAJOR problem though. If I change ANYTHING and hit apply the screen says "apllying please wait" for about ½ second then instantly goes white and I'm like wtf just happend. So I check and the settings didnt apply....... OK? So I try to do the same thing only this time I push the save button... SAME F'ING THING HAPPEND. Pure white screen and nothing saves. I have tried 4 different firmwares of DDWRT that work on this router and they all give me the same problem. Not a single setting I change will save, I cant configure a damn thing. Does anyone know why I am having this problem?

For the moment its ok because I can get on the internet, but I will run into problems shortly. I cant open ports, I cant change the transmit power, I cant put on wireless security... NOTHING !!!!! ARGHHHHHH

P.S.
Yes I have read the wiki and restarted my router. I still have the same problem.....
Westacular
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jan 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 23:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm pretty sure that's not a problem with the router: it's a browser compatibility issue in the web interface's javascript.

I can't remember which way it goes: if you're using Firefox, try IE; if you're using IE, try Firefox.




Joined: 01 Jan 1970
Posts:

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 0:36    Post subject: can't get the IP address Reply with quote
I tried the steps in OP. But I'm not getting the IP address from the router. I tried several times (steps 1-9). But can't seem to get the IP address. any clues?

Thanks
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 6:23    Post subject: Re: can't get the IP address Reply with quote
gekonmission wrote:
I tried the steps in OP. But I'm not getting the IP address from the router. I tried several times (steps 1-9). But can't seem to get the IP address. any clues?

Thanks

Set your PC to use static IP address, eg. 192.168.1.10
Westacular
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jan 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 7:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Believe me when I say that steps 5-8 are completely unnecessary for the 520gu. That stuff was to address some quirk with the older wl-500g. The wl-520gu works perfectly fine if you skip it.
geekonmission
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 15:32    Post subject: wl-520gu Reply with quote
Thanks for reply guys. It's a brick now Sad. I tried to set this up as bridge for my DLink WBR 1310 and I powered off (while trying reboot when changed the IP of WL520gu). I never seen any post saying anyone bricked the WL-520gu.
grokus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Mar 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 19:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Westacular was right, I was able to flash my Asus WL-520gU router to "DD-WRT v24 RC-6 (01/18/0Cool std - build 8790M Eko" without going through steps 5-8.
cinowell
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Mar 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 19:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
I successfully flashed my ASUS WL-520g router with ASUS tool. DD-WRT works good but WAN port is not working. When I plug cable to WAN, I can't reach the internet. With LAN I can reach.

Modem: ASUS AAM6030BI (192.168.1.1)
Access Point: ASUS WL-520g (192.168.1.100)
Firmware: DD-WRT v24 RC-6 (01/02/08) micro // http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/release%20candidates/DD-WRT%20v24%20RC6.2/Broadcom/Asus/WL520GC/dd-wrt.v24_micro_generic.bin

Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 22:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
cinowell wrote:
I successfully flashed my ASUS WL-520g router with ASUS tool. DD-WRT works good but WAN port is not working. When I plug cable to WAN, I can't reach the internet. With LAN I can reach.

Try build 9300_NEWD or Branslayer 9307. (downloads -> others-> eko... )
Or set
Code:
nvram set vlan1ports="4 5"
nvram commit
reboot
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 8
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum