DD-WRT v24 RC-6 (01/02/08) mini repeater mode

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
jfb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:45    Post subject: DD-WRT v24 RC-6 (01/02/08) mini repeater mode Reply with quote
I tried to setup my WRT54G as a repeater for mys wireless network based on a WRT150N.
After testing many version of DD-WRT V24 from RC1 to the latest RC8-xxxx , my result are :

The repeater mode is OK if connect by ethernet on wRT54G but not on virtual wireless wl0.1 ssid named repeater in my case

repeater is displayed in ssid network list on client side but no connection is possible with or without encryption key ??? ( signal strength 0%)

note:with v24 RC4 connection is ok ( signal strength 100%) but dhcp not working ???
Sponsor
seti
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Jun 2007
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
why not try "repeater bridge" mode? Running like a champ here...with DHCP
_________________
EnGenius ESR9850 - Stock Firmware V2.1.0 - 07/08/2011
Netgear WNDR3300 - DD-WRT (12/19/2010) dd-wrt.v24_NEWD_mini-hotspot-kaid - Eko build 15943
Dlink DIR-825 Extreme REV.B - DD-WRT (11/17/2010) - BS build 15747
Linksys WRT-320N/E2000 converted X3 - DD-WRT (05/17/11) - NEWD 2 K26 Eko build mini nv60k 17084
Linksys WRT-150N - Resurrected DD-WRT (02/17/2011) - BS build 16214
Buffalo WHR-G54S - Resurrected DD-WRT (02/17/2011) = BS build 16214
stalonge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1251
Location: Fortaleza Ce Brazil

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 10:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
For repeater bridge works well .. you must flash the EKO versions .. try Eko 8790


BS is working hard to fix the official releases .

Very Happy

_________________
DDwrt ...it rocks ....

1 WZR1750 23919
1 DDx86 VMware 23919
1 E3000 23838 K3 USB NAS
1 E3200 23838 4G
1 WRT610Nv2 22000+ Kong
1 WHR G125 Voip 15962
1 WRT150N 15962 BW
1 WHR HP 54 like Repeater Bridge 15962


Last edited by stalonge on Sat Feb 09, 2008 10:01; edited 1 time in total
jfb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 10:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
already tested with the same results ,the virtual wireless interface is not ok. displayed but no connection possible
jfb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 10:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
test eko 8790 in repeater mode
wireless virtual interface is now ok ( signal strength 100%)
but dhcp not working
will test repeater bridge mode soon
jfb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 10:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
repeater bridge gave the same result
jfb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
test eko 8790 in repeater bridge mode
wireless virtual interface is now ok ( signal strength 100%)
dhcp is working without security on repeater side

Any kind of security from wep to WPA2 desable dhcp and or connexion

what to do ?? ( i need security of course)
jfb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2008 10:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
I set the vlan ssid name to the ssid name I am bridging , and now it works , with wpa2/psk key
security

my config

WRT150N with linksys firmware : v1.51.3
WRT54Gv2.2 with Firmware: DD-WRT v24 RC-6 (01/18/0Cool mini

let now test the stability of this setup!!!!
cwchapma
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Feb 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 3:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
jfb,
How do you know you're not connecting to the router you're trying to bridge to when the SSIDs are the same?

Clint
jfb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 7:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
cwchapma

good question

I see both AP on client side one is 25 % level
the other one is 100 % so I know on which ap to connect
anyway I can check the mac AP adress I am connected to be sure

I also made test from a place where I can only connect to the bridge , the main Ap is too far and
007consulting
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Nov 2007
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 20:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
In order to stay on the BR you need a unique SSID otherwise it will pass you off to the AP...

WPA wont work with lots of B devices like PSP's, etc
ckx
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Aug 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2008 1:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
JUST DONT USE RC6!!! Trust me, i've been having my dd-wrt v24 working on a network with 2 repeaters working for almost a year before any RC was released, when I updated to RC6 everything stopped working....then I tried v24 micro RC 5 and everything worked much better than before.....just do the tutorial on RC 5 and you will see that it will work if you use "REPEATER" mode and use different subnet IPs everytime you configure a repeater...make sure one uses 192.168.1.1 and the other one 192.168.2.1 for example....
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum