Repeater bridge - very slow

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Pr0xiMUS
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:02    Post subject: Repeater bridge - very slow Reply with quote
I have repeater bridge configuration and one annoying problem: I have very low speeds when connected like this. I got only 80 KB/s (less 1 Mbps) even thou my Internet speed is capable of ~180 KB/s.
In network connections says signal quality excellent and speed is 48-54 Mbps.

I have DD-WRT v24 RC-7 (02/18/0Cool std (SVN revision 9068M Eko)istalled on Buffalo WHR-HP-G54.

Is there a solution to increase speed?
Sponsor
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 10946
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
You do realize that the Bandwidth is cut in half when you are using repeater mode right?

It takes twice the time to take that extra hop....its just pure physics.

So Repeater modes provide 50% of the AP's Bandwidth...if you gang more repeaters in the chain each is cut by another 50%...so the second repeater would only be 25% of the AP.....and so on.

redhawk

_________________
I currently test dd-wrt on Asus, Buffalo, Linksys, and Netgear. Too many to list.

Looking for more test units (newer models) for the project...got a brick?...PM me to make a hardware donation. (USA) A donation is not a debricking service....it is a way to "Give back" to the dd-wrt project.

I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
Pr0xiMUS
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
hmm... but I was talking about Internet connection only.. And then your point is correct, but WLAN to LAN connection is at almost the same speed, isn't that too slow? For example, I have NAS connected to switch which is connected to ADSL WLAN router and when accessing it from notebook (full speed and excellent signal) via WLAN I got the same speed. Sad
Jays
DD-WRT User


Joined: 02 May 2007
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 3:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Disable

Wireless -> Advanced Settings ->

Afterburner
Frameburst

on both routers if enabled. And also look for similar settings on your client.

Also doublecheck link quality between client -> bridge and bridge -> router.
GeeTek
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 3742
Location: I'm the one on the plate.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 6:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Play around with the TCP timings on the computer. That is likely all that you have wrong.

http://www.speedguide.net/downloads.php

_________________
http://69.175.13.131:8015 Streaming Week-End Disco. Station Ripper V 1.1 will do.
Pr0xiMUS
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2008 12:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
GeeTek wrote:
Play around with the TCP timings on the computer. That is likely all that you have wrong.

http://www.speedguide.net/downloads.php


Thanks, that really worked! Now I have full speed Smile
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum