WRT54GL Memory Mod (hardware mod)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Hardware DIY / Hardware Mods
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
Seth7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 670
Location: DN17IQ

PostPosted: Fri Sep 22, 2006 22:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Or mabey the M58LW064D110N6 ... 17.XX in the us pluss tax/shipping
_________________
WRT54G,GS v1.1, V2, V3 V4, V5
WR850G V2, V3
Fonera 2100
Sponsor
anectine17
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 1536
Location: Idaho

PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2006 4:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Seth7 wrote:
Or mabey the M58LW064D110N6 ... 17.XX in the us pluss tax/shipping


Which thread are you in?

_________________
Clear 4G Wimax.
Linksys WRT54G-TM w/14929 std-nokaid, fan-cooled, 2 GB SD mod, Primary Router.
Linksys WRT54G v.3 w/15230 std-nokaid, Client Bridge.
Linksys E2000 w/15200 "Big"
Linksys WRT54G v.4
La Fonera 2100, fan-cooled
Linksys WRT54G v.3.1
Linksys WRT54G v.1.1
Linksys WRT54GS v.1
2x Linksys WRT54G v.2.2

Peacock Thread - READ THOROUGHLY
Seth7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 670
Location: DN17IQ

PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2006 6:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hows that wholeflash coming??
_________________
WRT54G,GS v1.1, V2, V3 V4, V5
WR850G V2, V3
Fonera 2100
JustRob
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 5:38    Post subject: 32Mx16 - need help Reply with quote
mbellot wrote:

2. If I can get my hands on a 32Mx16 DDR I just might try swapping the DRAM again. Address line A12 is the highest on both the 16M and 32M because of the row/column scheme used for memory access. In theory it should work, the Broadcom flyer claims up to 128MB of RAM is addressable by the 5352 IC.


Any update on this? I have soldered those chips onto my WHR-HP-G54 and the board won't boot. I removed the 54-pin TSOP chips on the back, which were:
Mira 64Mbit/SDRAM 4M*16 P2V64S40
RAM : mira p2v28s40btp [5409fa03-6]
spec: http://www.deutron.com.tw/data_sheets/sdram/p2v28s_0btp11_07024.pdf

I also put all decoupling caps from a similar design (scrap boards but memory is fine). These are the parts I used:

66-pin TSOP
Micron 32Mx16 MT46V32M16TG

I have also created a JTAG DB25-to-2x6 connector (passive), and with HairyDairyMaid's utility, it correctly reads the flash and BCM5352EKPBG (in fact, I have dumped the entire flash contents twice, did MD5sum and they are identical). I also have a serial mod, using Max3202. Gotta find that extra serial port pins (not the obvious one with header pins).

Anyone have any ideas as to the new config register settings and location in flash (address)?
X7JAY7X
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Nov 2006
Posts: 109

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 17:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
What are you trying to do? Upgrade a 54 pin RAM chip or a 66 pin RAM chip?
JustRob
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 1:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
X7JAY7X wrote:
What are you trying to do? Upgrade a 54 pin RAM chip or a 66 pin RAM chip?


Upgrade the memory from 16MB to 128MB. Next would be the flash, but I want to get the DDR SDRAM working first.
X7JAY7X
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Nov 2006
Posts: 109

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 5:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, what memory does it use now? 54pin or 66 pin? Did you check to see if the A12 address line was run (is there a trace for it?). I have found with WRT54G v6's that the A12 line is not run. This limits the ram to 16MB ONLY!

If you dont have the A12 line your stuck at 16MB.

When you change the ram configuration you have to update the NVRAM sdram_XXXX entries. Did you do this? That will cause it not to boot or it could be a bad solder job.
Jaredster
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 18:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
JustRob wrote:
X7JAY7X wrote:
What are you trying to do? Upgrade a 54 pin RAM chip or a 66 pin RAM chip?


Upgrade the memory from 16MB to 128MB. Next would be the flash, but I want to get the DDR SDRAM working first.


Is the router firmware even capable of accessing that much memory?
JustRob
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 4:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Jaredster wrote:

Is the router firmware even capable of accessing that much memory?


That is an interesting question, because the router firmware actually isn't the issue; the config registers being incorrect will prohibit the BCM5352 from correctly accessing the memory. Next task is to determine if all the address lines are pinned out to the BGA.
X7JAY7X
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Nov 2006
Posts: 109

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 5:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
Is the router firmware even capable of accessing that much memory?


Yes in theory. My intention was to put a 128MB ram chip in when I found out that the A12 line is not run on the G v6. The config registers should support that much by looking at the different options available. Has anyone done it on an older G or GL?
JustRob
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 17:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
X7JAY7X wrote:
Quote:
Is the router firmware even capable of accessing that much memory?


Yes in theory. My intention was to put a 128MB ram chip in when I found out that the A12 line is not run on the G v6. The config registers should support that much by looking at the different options available. Has anyone done it on an older G or GL?


That stinks... does it even get routed out to pads (hopefully on the backside - same side as the memory I assume).
booBot
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Sep 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 17:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Have a look here, please.

I've just soldered the MT46V32M16 and only 32MB are available...

Please comment.
Thank you in advance.

_________________
OpenWRT RC6 powered WRT54GL v1.0 (64MB RAM mod)
RT31P2-EU(v1.30.07/v3.1.09LId)
JustRob
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 5:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
booBot wrote:
Have a look here, please.

I've just soldered the MT46V32M16 and only 32MB are available...

Please comment.
Thank you in advance.


Isn't MT46V32M16 a DDR SDRAM chip? I tried that on my WHR-HP-G54 but DDR requires 2.5V source (and different clock rate, etc.). Had to go back to SDR SDRAM (MT48LC32M16A2) but even two of those I am only detecting 32MB. Either the highest address line is routed to the BGA but not to the pads (it is there!) or something else is wrong.
booBot
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Sep 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 13:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
JustRob wrote:
booBot wrote:
I've just soldered the MT46V32M16 and only 32MB are available...

Isn't MT46V32M16 a DDR SDRAM chip?

Sorry, probably I do not understand your question.

My WRT54GL v1.0 works fine with the MT46V32M16 chip, so, it's definately the correct type to use.
The only problem here is that the half of the total capacity is available.

_________________
OpenWRT RC6 powered WRT54GL v1.0 (64MB RAM mod)
RT31P2-EU(v1.30.07/v3.1.09LId)
oninous
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 May 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2008 3:56    Post subject: Compatible RAM Chips and Flash Chips Reply with quote
I was interested in a compiled list of all the compatible RAM and Flash chips. I'm currently preparing to do this MOD and thought it would make things go smoother if there was a list somewhere for everyone to see. I'm also interested to know if USB Flash Drive (Chip Inside) would be compatible. I think I've read that USB is typically 5 volts.. It would be nice to find a chip that works and link it here. I've completed the 2GB SD/MMC Mod, I have heatsinks ready to go in after the mods and a fan I may add, Also have added a third antenna connector that is more universal. I also found a tiny 3.3v and 5v super small power supply board if that would help in trying a USB MOD. I'm not extremely technically skilled but I was guessing that USB would work if all the connectors for data went to the board and the socket went to a seperate but newly integrated 5v power supply board!
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Hardware DIY / Hardware Mods All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum