TP-Link WR941ND v2

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Yuna
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2008 20:27    Post subject: TP-Link WR941ND v2 Reply with quote
I have TP-Link TL-WR941ND router, hardware version 2.

It's atheros based, i would like to flash it with DD-WRT. Is it possible?

Pics here:
http://shareua.com/photos/show/316261/CIMG0293.JPG
http://shareua.com/photos/show/316271/CIMG0294.JPG

I think i found serial connector (2'nd pic, left corner from top, at left from label C376).

It has:
Hynix 802A memory flash, Atheros AR9132-AC1E CPU.
Sponsor
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17395
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 9:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
how much flash/ram?
fcc-id?

_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Yuna
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 20:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
can't figure myself how much ram.
fcc id is NOT imprinted on it, so i can't say it too.

bottom photo:

http://shareua.com/photos/show/317581/CIMG0295.JPG
http://shareua.com/photos/show/317601/CIMG0296.JPG

it's using madwifi driver for wireless and vxworks as operating system + busybox and some tp-link NOT opensource httpd for config.

here is os files i managed to decrypt from firmware file:
http://rapidshare.com/files/119399738/SquashFS.gz.html

here is original firmware:
http://www.tp-link.com/english/soft/2008512151728.rar

according to this i have there Hynix HY5DU561622ETP-5 flash rev. C

googled - can't find anything
but since original firmware file (gzipped) is about 3.54 mb and 7.1 mb unpacked i think it's 8mb (at least) flash...
according to this:

http://wiki.openwrt.org/TableOfHardware
20. CC&C
WA-6208-V2

Atheros AR9132, 200MHz
8MB
16MB
Atheors AR9106, dual band
Atheros AR8316
Yes
Yes
No
Yes
Yes
WiP

mine has similar cpu. and probably it's too 8 mb flash and 16 ram
Yuna
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 21:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
looks like 8 mb flash and 16 mb ram, is it suitable for dd-wrt?
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17395
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 19:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
shure it is.

can you check voa serial if redboot is running?

_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Yuna
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 21:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
ok, for com i must connect cables.

can i use simple connection?:
1. Stick connector on router
2. Plug cable with terminator into it and then to PC or need some switchers?
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17395
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
on your 1st pic on the right side of the switch chip...beyond the tape should be the serial port.

you probably need a ttl level shifter.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WRT54GL_MAX232_Serial
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/LaFonera_Hardware_Serial-Cable-Port#Accessing_serial_console_on_the_Fon

_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Yuna
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can i connect without buying chips (or how to create myself one)?

Edit: Found one :)

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/LaFonera_Hardware_Serial-Cable-Port#Very_simple_console_adapter
Yuna
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 20:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is there a way to get info about redboot NOt connecting to router via serial? I can't manage to connect (/dev/hands are broken)
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17395
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
in general redboot is accessible via port 9000 on a fixed ip. but this ip is vendor and board specific and hard to find.
_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Yuna
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 13:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
hard to find, is how much hard? i am system administrator (it specialist), so i don't think it will be realy hard for me.

can you give me instructions?
Yuna
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
up pliz Smile
Yuna
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 17:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
what is general method of finding redboot ip?
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17395
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 18:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
adding serial connection and logging in
_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Yuna
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 18:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
any other way? arp -a? what else?

i can't connect via serial now...
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum