TFTP Times Out, now power light stays off

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Carson
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 14:23    Post subject: TFTP Times Out, now power light stays off Reply with quote
Hey guys, I'm trying to put DD-WRT on my Linksys WRT54GS v7. I updated the firmware to vxworkskillerGSv7-v3.bin. I tried to TFTP the firmware about 6 times, it timed out each time. I followed these instructions, assuming I have an Intel chip (both ways look the same). Now I just want to get my wireless network back up, install the latest Linksys firmware back. But the power light on my router won't come on. Therefore I can't get to 192.168.1.1. Any help? Thanks!

Once again, I am not interested in installing the DD-WRT firmware anymore, I just want it back to original firmware.
Sponsor
Tornado
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2087
Location: Odessa, Ukraine

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 15:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
You will need to install the DD-WRT firmware to revert !! unless you have a jtag...

This is what you can try, tftp the killerv3 for the GSv7, yes tftp it. This will put a CFE on it, the same one that you have, but it will also erase the rest of the flash space.

The reason you have to do this is because you tftp'd linksys firmware to it.. now that firmware is on the router and everytime you reboot it, it will try to start it and fail, this means you have about a two second window to tftp...

Untill you get that firmware off of the router...

If you tftp the killerv3 for the GSv7, after tftping, it should reboot itself, leave it alone for at least 2 min, before trying to do anything...

_________________
Want JTAG support - Donate a router
or Donate with PayPal !

My preferred parallel jtag adapter:
TIAO Parallel adapter

Tjtag website - http://tjtag.com

Compiling DD-WRT on:
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3926.667 Mhz

Aptosid X64 - Debian SID X64
Ubuntu 10.10 X64 - Arch X64
Carson
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 15:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tornado wrote:
You will need to install the DD-WRT firmware to revert !! unless you have a jtag...

This is what you can try, tftp the killerv3 for the GSv7, yes tftp it. This will put a CFE on it, the same one that you have, but it will also erase the rest of the flash space.

The reason you have to do this is because you tftp'd linksys firmware to it.. now that firmware is on the router and everytime you reboot it, it will try to start it and fail, this means you have about a two second window to tftp...

Untill you get that firmware off of the router...

If you tftp the killerv3 for the GSv7, after tftping, it should reboot itself, leave it alone for at least 2 min, before trying to do anything...


Thanks for trying to help!

I did not try to TFTP the Linksys firmware to it.

How can I TFTP that fast? Every time I tried it, I would plug the router back in and instantly hit enter. It would sit for a minute or 2, then say Timed-out.

I'm not sure what vxworkskiller is and how it works, or any of this stuff. So pretty much, you want to connect my router, open CMD and type "tftp -i 192.168.1.1 PUT vxworkskiller.bin"?

Oh, I tried resetting the router. Now no lights come on, used to the Internet and Connection 1 lights would come on.
Tornado
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2087
Location: Odessa, Ukraine

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 15:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, so you didn't put linksys firmware on it, thats good, but here you say, I quote from the first post:

" I'm trying to put DD-WRT on my Linksys WRT54GS v7. I updated the firmware to vxworkskillerGSv7-v3.bin"

This is the killerv3 I was talking about...

If you upgraded thru the firmware page using vxworkskillerGSv7-v3.bin, and waited the proper amount of time, it sounds like you did.. because usually if it failed, all the lan lights would be on.
When it is successful, ALL lights will be off, except the lan port light that you have your computer plugged into. So, try tftping the dd-wrt firmware, micro of course, V24, right after turning the router on, then give it a few mins, watch the lights, and report back.

_________________
Want JTAG support - Donate a router
or Donate with PayPal !

My preferred parallel jtag adapter:
TIAO Parallel adapter

Tjtag website - http://tjtag.com

Compiling DD-WRT on:
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3926.667 Mhz

Aptosid X64 - Debian SID X64
Ubuntu 10.10 X64 - Arch X64
Carson
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 16:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tornado wrote:
Ok, so you didn't put linksys firmware on it, thats good, but here you say, I quote from the first post:

" I'm trying to put DD-WRT on my Linksys WRT54GS v7. I updated the firmware to vxworkskillerGSv7-v3.bin"

This is the killerv3 I was talking about...

If you upgraded thru the firmware page using vxworkskillerGSv7-v3.bin, and waited the proper amount of time, it sounds like you did.. because usually if it failed, all the lan lights would be on.
When it is successful, ALL lights will be off, except the lan port light that you have your computer plugged into. So, try tftping the dd-wrt firmware, micro of course, V24, right after turning the router on, then give it a few mins, watch the lights, and report back.


Yes, I updated to vxkiller through the firmware page. That was Step #1.

I just tried what you said. I connected my Modem to my Router, and my Router to the computer. "Internet" and "1" were lit up. I opened CMD, and this is what happened:

C:\Users\Philip>tftp -i 192.168.1.1 PUT firmware.bin
Timeout occurred
Connect request failed

I have DD-WRT v24 in the directory "C:\Users\Philip", and I renamed it to "firmware.bin". I unplugged the router, plugged it back in and instantly hit enter.
Tornado
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2087
Location: Odessa, Ukraine

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 16:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, you do not want anything plugged into the router except your PC, with a static address of, lets say 192.168.1.2 or greater, meaning .3, .4, .5

Then try tftping the firmware

_________________
Want JTAG support - Donate a router
or Donate with PayPal !

My preferred parallel jtag adapter:
TIAO Parallel adapter

Tjtag website - http://tjtag.com

Compiling DD-WRT on:
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3926.667 Mhz

Aptosid X64 - Debian SID X64
Ubuntu 10.10 X64 - Arch X64
Carson
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 16:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
It's IP right now is 192.168.1.1. How am I supposed to change it if I can't get to the router's page?
Tornado
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2087
Location: Odessa, Ukraine

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 16:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Your PC's IP address should be 192.168.1.2 not .1, the router is 192.168.1.1
_________________
Want JTAG support - Donate a router
or Donate with PayPal !

My preferred parallel jtag adapter:
TIAO Parallel adapter

Tjtag website - http://tjtag.com

Compiling DD-WRT on:
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3926.667 Mhz

Aptosid X64 - Debian SID X64
Ubuntu 10.10 X64 - Arch X64
Carson
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 16:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tornado wrote:
Your PC's IP address should be 192.168.1.2 not .1, the router is 192.168.1.1


This is SO frustrating! I really appreciate you helping me.

I tried it 5 more times, this time only the router connected to my computer. Times out every time. Is there any other way?
Tornado
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2087
Location: Odessa, Ukraine

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 16:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
So, your PC has a static IP address of 192.168.1.2 and a mask of 255.255.255.0 ?

You do not need a gateway at this point, but 192.168.1.1 is fine. What happens when you ping the router ?

ping 192.168.1.1

P.S. Don't worry about it...we will figure it out.

_________________
Want JTAG support - Donate a router
or Donate with PayPal !

My preferred parallel jtag adapter:
TIAO Parallel adapter

Tjtag website - http://tjtag.com

Compiling DD-WRT on:
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3926.667 Mhz

Aptosid X64 - Debian SID X64
Ubuntu 10.10 X64 - Arch X64
Carson
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 16:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tornado wrote:
So, your PC has a static IP address of 192.168.1.2 and a mask of 255.255.255.0 ?

You do not need a gateway at this point, but 192.168.1.1 is fine. What happens when you ping the router ?

ping 192.168.1.1

P.S. Don't worry about it...we will figure it out.


C:\Users\Philip>ping 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 97.89.172.234: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 97.89.172.234: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 97.89.172.234: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 97.89.172.234: Destination host unreachable.

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

And yes, I'm pretty sure Linksys Easylink Advisor set my computer as 192.168.1.2
Tornado
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2087
Location: Odessa, Ukraine

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 16:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, give me this from your PC, and then past it in this window

ipconfig /all

When its connected only to the router

the commands I ask you to issue were from the PC to the router, with only the PC connected to the router, make sure you have the PC plugged into port one(1) the port next to your wan or internet port !

_________________
Want JTAG support - Donate a router
or Donate with PayPal !

My preferred parallel jtag adapter:
TIAO Parallel adapter

Tjtag website - http://tjtag.com

Compiling DD-WRT on:
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3926.667 Mhz

Aptosid X64 - Debian SID X64
Ubuntu 10.10 X64 - Arch X64
Carson
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 16:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tornado wrote:
Ok, give me this from your PC, and then past it in this window

ipconfig /all

When its connected only to the router

the commands I ask you to issue were from the PC to the router, with only the PC connected to the router, make sure you have the PC plugged into port one(1) the port next to your wan or internet port !


Yes I understand, when I do these commands I unplug the modem from my computer, and plug in the router directly to the computer.

C:\Users\Philip>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Philip-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : sc.charter.com

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : sc.charter.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8053 PCI-E Gigabit E
net Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-E6-84-54-6F
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a9e8:d188:592a:3216%8(Preferred
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 97.89.172.234(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.224.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, June 28, 2008 12:26:01 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, June 29, 2008 1:53:55 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
97.89.160.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.197.97.136
24.197.97.132
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : sc.charter.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:6159:acea::6159:acea(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.197.97.136
24.197.97.132
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
Tornado
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2087
Location: Odessa, Ukraine

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 17:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Maybe Im just explaining it wrong, I wanted you to issue this command when you were connected to the router, in the previous where I ask you to ping the router, I meant with only the router connected to the PC !

You should not be getting a reply from:
Reply from 97.89.172.234: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 97.89.172.234: Destination host unreachable.


this should say
Reply from 192.168.1.2: Destination host unreachable.

If your PC has a static IP of 192.168.1.2

_________________
Want JTAG support - Donate a router
or Donate with PayPal !

My preferred parallel jtag adapter:
TIAO Parallel adapter

Tjtag website - http://tjtag.com

Compiling DD-WRT on:
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3926.667 Mhz

Aptosid X64 - Debian SID X64
Ubuntu 10.10 X64 - Arch X64
Carson
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 17:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tornado wrote:
Maybe Im just explaining it wrong, I wanted you to issue this command when you were connected to the router, in the previous where I ask you to ping the router, I meant with only the router connected to the PC !

You should not be getting a reply from:
Reply from 97.89.172.234: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 97.89.172.234: Destination host unreachable.


this should say
Reply from 192.168.1.2: Destination host unreachable.

If your PC has a static IP of 192.168.1.2


You're explaining it clearly man, that is what I'm doing. Direct PC to Router, nothing else. I just tried it again, and this is what I get:

C:\Users\Philip>ping 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Users\Philip>ping 192.168.1.2

Pinging 192.168.1.2 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 169.254.50.22: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 169.254.50.22: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 169.254.50.22: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 169.254.50.22: Destination host unreachable.

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.2:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

Do I have any hope? haha, it's not looking to good.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum