WRT610N

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 144, 145, 146  Next
Author Message
GregB
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jan 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 15:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
jmh9072 wrote:
Kris404 wrote:
GregB wrote:
Not much difference it seems besides the enclosure and of course the lack of external antennas. Which, based on the specs on Linksys site seem to be a bit inferior to the 600. Quite a bit actually...


Has 64 MB inplace of 600N's 32 MB.

Where'd you read that? (I'm not trying to be mean; I'd just like to know)


Jmh9072, not shure which comment you are referring to but clearly I should elaborate on mine...
When I say the 610 is inferior to the 600 I am talking about the specs on the Radio Performance. Most probably the difference is due to the lack of external antennas on the 610.
There is less detail in the 600 data sheet but what is there tells us that the 600 has a 3,5dBm advantage on 2,4Ghz and possibly even more on the 5Ghz band.
Which is a lot, in fact more or less double the range...
Sponsor
jmh9072
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 800
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 15:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
GregB wrote:
Jmh9072, not shure which comment you are referring to but clearly I should elaborate on mine...
When I say the 610 is inferior to the 600 I am talking about the specs on the Radio Performance. Most probably the difference is due to the lack of external antennas on the 610.
There is less detail in the 600 data sheet but what is there tells us that the 600 has a 3,5dBm advantage on 2,4Ghz and possibly even more on the 5Ghz band.
Which is a lot, in fact more or less double the range...

I wasn't referring to your comment, but I do completely agree with what you're saying. Those side antennas can't compete with the antennas on the 600N.

_________________
WRT54G v3 - v24 r14471M NEWD Eko - AP
WRT350N v1.0
WRT600N v1.1 - halfway there!
Se7en is Darker...
GregB
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jan 2008
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 17:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
jmh9072 wrote:

I wasn't referring to your comment, but I do completely agree with what you're saying. Those side antennas can't compete with the antennas on the 600N.
Yes, and sadly no 64MB of RAM will help out in that area...
mchipser
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 122
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 18:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
splinter911 wrote:
Just wanted to say I love the 600N

fantastic range (subjective)

a few issues with dd-wrt - dual radio issue and the "blinky light" issue

Has anyone tried svn9856 on it yet?

Splinter911


I am currently using svn9856. The only problem i currently see is the WPA in WDS mode.. (i think this i with the v24 though)


http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=34751&highlight=wpa+wds

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=33495&highlight=wpa+wds

_________________
Linksys WRT600N as AP v24
ASUS RT-N16 Client Bridge
Lafonera as travel AP
Kris404
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Nov 2007
Posts: 112
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 4:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
mchipser wrote:
Quote:
splinter911 wrote:
Just wanted to say I love the 600N

fantastic range (subjective)

a few issues with dd-wrt - dual radio issue and the "blinky light" issue

Has anyone tried svn9856 on it yet?

Splinter911


I am currently using svn9856. The only problem i currently see is the WPA in WDS mode.. (i think this i with the v24 though)


http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=34751&highlight=wpa+wds

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=33495&highlight=wpa+wds


My 610N is up and running now.

Firmware Version: 1.00.00 B16 Jun. 2, 2008

Unfortunately, the laptop's Intel 4965N connects only at 130Mbps max.

Have to try out my new WUSB600N.

Kris
Chacha
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jun 2008
Posts: 20
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 17:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
You most likely have not set the settings correctly. I have the INTEL 4965N as well and it works at 270Mbps. On the INTEL card check the QoS settings (must be enabled), the channelwidth (Automatic instead of 20MHz). Same goes for the WRT610N.
splinter911
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 18:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
mchipser wrote:
Quote:
splinter911 wrote:
Just wanted to say I love the 600N

fantastic range (subjective)

a few issues with dd-wrt - dual radio issue and the "blinky light" issue

Has anyone tried svn9856 on it yet?

Splinter911


I am currently using svn9856. The only problem i currently see is the WPA in WDS mode.. (i think this i with the v24 though)


http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=34751&highlight=wpa+wds

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=33495&highlight=wpa+wds


Thanks for the insight. I should have said my version is 1.1

a) any problems with the upgrade? did you factory default first then applied overtop? how did u apply it?

b)your version / "blinky" light issue - do you have it?

kind regards and thank u all for your time - great comunity.

Splinter911
mchipser
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 122
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 21:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
Thanks for the insight. I should have said my version is 1.1

a) any problems with the upgrade? did you factory default first then applied overtop? how did u apply it?

b)your version / "blinky" light issue - do you have it?

kind regards and thank u all for your time - great comunity.

Splinter911


Yes i get the blinky light issue.. ( power light blinks and the WIFI security lights do not function)

Ii didn't need to do a factory default first.. I opened the box then loaded the trailed version of dd-wrt located here

I then had to clear all the cache out of my browser then i was able update to the latest version

_________________
Linksys WRT600N as AP v24
ASUS RT-N16 Client Bridge
Lafonera as travel AP


Last edited by mchipser on Sat Jul 12, 2008 5:29; edited 1 time in total
Kris404
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Nov 2007
Posts: 112
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 2:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Chacha wrote:
You most likely have not set the settings correctly. I have the INTEL 4965N as well and it works at 270Mbps. On the INTEL card check the QoS settings (must be enabled), the channelwidth (Automatic instead of 20MHz). Same goes for the WRT610N.


I have since corrected the settings.

5Ghz = N-Only/40 Mhz and
2.4Ghz = G-Only/20Mhz

Both with different SSIDsand my laptops connect at 270Mbps. I badly want to get DD-WRT/Tomato on this.

Kris
mchipser
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 122
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 5:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
I have since corrected the settings.

5Ghz = N-Only/40 Mhz and
2.4Ghz = G-Only/20Mhz

Both with different SSIDsand my laptops connect at 270Mbps. I badly want to get DD-WRT/Tomato on this.

Kris


Kris Just so you know at this time DD-WRT will NOT support speeds over 130Mbps over N..

_________________
Linksys WRT600N as AP v24
ASUS RT-N16 Client Bridge
Lafonera as travel AP
Kris404
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Nov 2007
Posts: 112
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 8:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
mchipser wrote:
Quote:
I have since corrected the settings.

5Ghz = N-Only/40 Mhz and
2.4Ghz = G-Only/20Mhz

Both with different SSIDsand my laptops connect at 270Mbps. I badly want to get DD-WRT/Tomato on this.

Kris


Kris Just so you know at this time DD-WRT will NOT support speeds over 130Mbps over N..


Thanks for the heads-up.

I would still want get off this unstable Linksys firmware because:

a) Router reboots every few hours.
b) When transferring large files over the N only channel, G channel clients get disconnected completely.

I am tempted to go back to my WHR-G54S for the time being.

Kris
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17379
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 14:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
give us the fcc-id.
i need more info high res pics of the pcb would be nice
we need to know the switch, wlan chips, ram, flash, cpu

_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
jmh9072
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 800
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 18:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
give us the fcc-id.
i need more info high res pics of the pcb would be nice
we need to know the switch, wlan chips, ram, flash, cpu

All Linksys routers that I have seen have an FCCID of Q87-[model]. So this one has an ID of Q87-WRT610N.

_________________
WRT54G v3 - v24 r14471M NEWD Eko - AP
WRT350N v1.0
WRT600N v1.1 - halfway there!
Se7en is Darker...
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17379
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jul 12, 2008 19:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
https://fjallfoss.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/reports/ViewExhibitReport.cfm?mode=Exhibits&RequestTimeout=500&calledFromFrame=N&application_id=596240&fcc_id='Q87-WRT610N'

added here:
http://dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices#Linksys

what switch chip is on the board?

_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
mchipser
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 122
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 2:38    Post subject: what would it look like? Reply with quote
What will the chip look like... i will take mine apart and take pics of it..
_________________
Linksys WRT600N as AP v24
ASUS RT-N16 Client Bridge
Lafonera as travel AP
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 144, 145, 146  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 146
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum