WRT54GL and OSLR

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
waverider
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Nov 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 2:21    Post subject: WRT54GL and OSLR Reply with quote
Hello - this is my first post - please be kind :-)

Hardware: Linksys WRT54GL v1.1
Firmware: DD-WRT v24 (05/24/0Cool std (SVN revision 9526)

I have it up and runnng and can access via http and telnet.

I have read the wiki but can't resolve the following issue:
Trying to set up OSLR but things don't seem to be going too well.

The wiki tells me that RSSI: 0 dBm noise: 0 dBm is not correct.
I also do not have my WLAN IP and Netmask showing at eth1, even though I have it set under wireless>IP address/subnet mask
I have tried following the instruction onm the WIKI (v.24 Final Broadcom) with no success. My build is later than 9503


Any thoughts on what to do? I have probably missed something somewhere :-(

Thanks


Details are below:

root@nodekbw:~# wl status
SSID: "myssid"
Mode: Ad Hoc RSSI: 0 dBm noise: 0 dBm Channel: 10
BSSID: 72:D5:61:57:F5:47 Capability: IBSS
Supported Rates: [ 1(b) 2(b) 5.5(b) 6 9 11(b) 12 18 24 36 48 54 ]


root@nodekbw:~# ifconfig
br0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:18:39:C9:09:F6
inet addr:192.168.72.9 Bcast:192.168.72.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:922 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:929 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:71738 (70.0 KiB) TX bytes:480574 (469.3 KiB)

br0:0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:18:39:C9:09:F6
inet addr:169.254.255.1 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:18:39:C9:09:F6
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:918 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:948 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:91264 (89.1 KiB) TX bytes:495533 (483.9 KiB)
Interrupt:4

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:18:39:C9:09:F8
UP BROADCAST RUNNING ALLMULTI MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:2 Base address:0x5000
Sponsor
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 2:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Someone who knows something about mesh networks will have to help, but geez, louise!....any chance that problems could be due to the age of the build....versions are up to 10923 now...
waverider
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Nov 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 3:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Donny wrote:
any chance that problems could be due to the age of the build....versions are up to 10923 now...


I downloaded it this morning????
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 3:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Were there cobwebs on it? Laughing

Link to the path to the newer builds is given in the Peacock thread. Worth a read. It's a sticky at the top of the first page of the forum. (You just need to look at the first two posts).
waverider
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Nov 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 4:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for that Donny. Read through it and downloaded the std image.. Before I flash the router, what does the _NEWD_ mean in the filename?
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 4:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
It means NEW DRIVER...which is, as I understand it, the new wireless driver as opposed to the Vintage driver. The vintage driver is for the old wrt54g and wrt54gs routers (but not for the wrt54g2 which are not the same as the wrt54g v.2 Embarassed).

For a linksys wrt54gl, you should use the NEWD driver.
waverider
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Nov 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 5:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
OK - finally got it upgraded. However, it won't let me login via telnet to check the settings. I can log into the web interface perfectly, but not using telnet. I could before the upgrade. Any thoughts?

Since the upgrade the IP now shows up correctly in eth1, but wl status still shows:

SSID: "myssod"
Mode: Ad Hoc RSSI: 0 dBm noise: 0 dBm Channel: 10
BSSID: 72:6A:16:A6:B5:31 Capability: IBSS
Supported Rates: [ 1(b) 2(b) 5.5(b) 6 9 11(b) 12 18 24 36 48 54 ]

RSSI: 0 dBm noise: 0 dBm stiil remain the same??
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 13:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
waverider wrote:
Any thoughts?



You are using the wrong username. It is always Root in telnet. And your password for the password.

Just a thought.
waverider
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Nov 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 20:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for that - I didn't realise the root login changed to the new password
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum