HTTP device admin not responding

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
dog134
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 12
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2006 22:45    Post subject: HTTP device admin not responding Reply with quote
Hi, today the HTTP administration on my router seemed to have stopped working completely...so I can't get onto the routers admin at all. I can still get into SSH fine and everything is still working ok, it's just the web admin which is ballsed.

It's a Linksys WRT54GL 1.1 running DD-WRT 23 SP1 standard I think. Is there any way I can check if the HTTPD is running on the router or something?

Thanks.
Sponsor
sophana
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
do you have the httpd process?
On which port did you enable web management?

_________________
Regards
http://worldspot.net , the definitive hotspot management system.
Chillispot and DD-WRT compatible.
dog134
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 12
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 10:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
I haven't changed anything on there and the web administration was on the standard port...I tried to wget irssi onto the WRT earlier and the SSH session froze half way into extracting the gzip...that's when it stopped working.

Any solutions, eg can I fix it by doing the factory reset or do I have to reflash the firmware completely, because I could REALLY do without having to do that.

Edit: I'm guessing I fucked it when I tried to extract irssi, since the source is over 6mb...will I have to reflash the firmware over TFTP again? Crying or Very sad
dog134
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 12
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 14:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Bump. Unf.
rolothree
DD-WRT User


Joined: 17 Jul 2006
Posts: 96
Location: Austin, Texas USA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 15:03    Post subject: Reflash? Reply with quote
If you had backed up your configuration I would reflash and then upgrade the firmware from your backup to what you had before this problem came to be. Shouldn't take to long..................... JMHO!
dog134
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 12
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 15:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yeah, I'll probably do that. So annoying that you have to do the compact and then standard...stupid Linksys.
rolothree
DD-WRT User


Joined: 17 Jul 2006
Posts: 96
Location: Austin, Texas USA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 15:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Maybe one of the smarter folks will come around and know an easy fix. When I run into problems and if the 30 second reset can't get me back then I'll reflash while I can still communicate with the router.
dog134
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 12
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 15:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Update: over ssh, I ran /usr/sbin/httpd and it apparently did something, as I can now get to the login prompt (enter root and the pass) but once I hit enter, I just got a white screen. I reckon I will need to reflash it, which is easy with TFTP.
dog134
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 12
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 17:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Bump Twisted Evil
dog134
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 12
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 16:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Cool
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 16:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Code:
killall httpd
cd /www
httpd -h /www
rkloost
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 1247
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 16:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
powercycle Smile
_________________
Firmware: DD-WRT v24 SP1 std
1xWRT150Nv1.1
2xWRT54GLv1.1
2xWRT54GSv1.0
1xWRT54Gv2

In need of WRT54GS <= v3 EU/UK for firmware-debugging purposes. Buffalo's are welcome too! PM me if you have a spare one.
dog134
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 12
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 22:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Eko wrote:
Code:
killall httpd
cd /www
httpd -h /www


Oh my fucking god, I could have your babies. If I were female. That's another matter though.

THANKS SO MUCH

What was the problem?

EDIT: that fixed it, but when I powercycled the modem it's just fucked again and I have to do those commands Confused
GrumpY54gsv4
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 5:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
use the startup script to do it automatically ( howto in the wiki and everywhere in the forum using the "search" button )
_________________
- WRT54gs v4 @ 225 Mhz - DD-WRT V24 vpn -
- SD/MMC Mod 128 MB - Serial port & JTAG -
- Diversity switch removed -
koitsu
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Sep 20, 2006 5:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just purchased a WRT54GL and encountered the exact same problem dog134 did. I've also TFTP'd the mini_wrt54g.bin to the router directly during CFE/PMON, and it made no difference.

The problem appears to be that httpd is segfaulting or crashing in some way.

After Linux loads, init scripts are started, and eventually httpd starts. Upon visiting port 80, you'll be prompted for a username/password. When entering the correct information, all you get is a blank page. That blank page consists the HTML DOCTYPE, the html and head start tags, and that's it. Yes, you read that correctly.

If using -h /www (which specifies a docroot directory for the webserver), works around the problem, then I'm left thinking this is a bug in DD-WRT SP2. I've quite a lot of experience with the WRT* series of routers (I've worked on the HyperWRT and Sveasoft firmwares providing code fixes), so it's definitely not "user error".

Other posts about this problem:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=696
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=3015 (worthless posts, but still...)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=3700
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=4395
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=4551

I've opened up Bugtracker ID #0001801 for this problem.


Last edited by koitsu on Wed Sep 20, 2006 5:58; edited 1 time in total
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum