*SOLVED* WHR-G300N won't take firmware.bin from TFTP server.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
ivski
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jan 2009
Posts: 28
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 11:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
<< But after flashing WHR-G300N-webflash.bin and waiting for 40 minutes, no restart of the router, and two flashes of DIAG LED.>>

I have the same case.

So, I made serial cable, but I am not pretty sure about flashing with TFTP.
Sponsor
AA666
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jan 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 12:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry guys, its looks like "firmware.bin" is right one for flashing via this intermediate web interface, but not "webflash". I flashed via serial a week or two ago from linux-based tftp server with this "firmware.bin".
Menkatek
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Nov 2008
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 16:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
firmware.bin is correct. Try tftp and good luck!
ivski
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jan 2009
Posts: 28
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 17:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Now I try tftp - firmware.bin (21.01.09) - no luck, it's restarts and flashes 2 times again.

And one more thing - when boot sequence start, WHR-G300N look for file named "firmware.ram".
So if firmware.bin -> firmware.ram, the .ram file uploads automatically from tftp server.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17393
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 18:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WHR-G300N
_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
ivski
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jan 2009
Posts: 28
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 21:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
...later...
I have no response from terminal. I power off/on (serial cable is conected to GND, Tx, Rx), but no terminal output. I try serial port sniffers, but no communication router <-> COM1.
Any ideas?

offtopic
http://dox.bg/files/dw?a=56b2a34d2b
latest firmware 1.61 (dld from a Jp support site)
AA666
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jan 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 10:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
ivski you need "shifter board" to connect to router via serial port. When you connect directly it will no responce.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17393
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 11:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
if u connect directly u will fry your device
_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
ivski
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jan 2009
Posts: 28
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 12:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Problem solved (bad soldering).

<<if u connect directly u will fry your device>>
Sash - yes the levels are different.

<<ivski you need "shifter board" to connect to router via serial port. When you connect directly it will no responce.>>
AA666 - I use MAX232 for level shifter & windows HypeTterminal.

So, now everything is OK!

Thanks!
FriedChicken
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jan 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 20:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've flashed my WHR-G300N by the webinterface. It worked, but not without trouble. The intermediate preflash-firmware just showed nothing in firefox and konqueror couldn't stop asking me after username and password again and again...
I thought something has gone wrong (and probably it has or the freflash isn't perfect yet) but I played around a bit and it worked using the console browser w3m. :-)

Sorry if this is off-topic, but I didn't know if I should start a new topic or not
cdkiller
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Jun 2007
Posts: 258
Location: Trinidad & Tobago

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 15:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey I was reading this topic and I was wondering if anyone has more details of the internal hardware of the WHR-G300N? I can't seem to locate a datasheet for the cpu Sad.

For those of you who don't have a serial port or just prefer an easier way out there is a well designed usb to serial converter here. It works perfectly for these kinds of operations, I had bought one to program some Atmel 8051 chips so it will work for this as well.

_________________
[everything is to be replicate]
ASUS RT-N10, ASUS RT-N12, Linksys E900.
CosmikDebris
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Mar 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 13:18    Post subject: WZR2-G300N Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WHR-G300N


I'm trying [unsuccessfully] to flash an English buffalo firmware into a Japanese WZR2-G300N. web-if rejected it. And by tftp it was transferred successfully but after 5 minutes of digesting it and a reboot - I'm back with the Japanese interface. Sad

Now, I know WZR2-G300N is not supportted by ddwrt.
But I saw recent progress and techniques with flashing ddwrt to the WHR-G300N. And I thought it might contribute to my endeavors.
Any ideas where to start ? Rolling Eyes
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17393
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 13:23    Post subject: Re: WZR2-G300N Reply with quote
CosmikDebris wrote:
Sash wrote:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WHR-G300N


I'm trying [unsuccessfully] to flash an English buffalo firmware into a Japanese WZR2-G300N. web-if rejected it. And by tftp it was transferred successfully but after 5 minutes of digesting it and a reboot - I'm back with the Japanese interface. Sad

Now, I know WZR2-G300N is not supportted by ddwrt.
But I saw recent progress and techniques with flashing ddwrt to the WHR-G300N. And I thought it might contribute to my endeavors.
Any ideas where to start ? Rolling Eyes


sorry but this was dumb!

_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
CosmikDebris
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Mar 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 13:39    Post subject: Re: WZR2-G300N Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
CosmikDebris wrote:
Sash wrote:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WHR-G300N


I'm trying [unsuccessfully] to flash an English buffalo firmware into a Japanese WZR2-G300N. web-if rejected it. And by tftp it was transferred successfully but after 5 minutes of digesting it and a reboot - I'm back with the Japanese interface. Sad

Now, I know WZR2-G300N is not supportted by ddwrt.
But I saw recent progress and techniques with flashing ddwrt to the WHR-G300N. And I thought it might contribute to my endeavors.
Any ideas where to start ? Rolling Eyes


sorry but this was dumb!


You are absolutely right. No need to be sorry. Embarassed
I'm sorry that I'm off-topic here.
I was totally unaware of the measures Buffalo are taking to block this.
Anyway I thought, that with the serial-port or some preflash.enc technique I might be able to workaround it and flash the English Buffalo firmware.

Should I bother ?
wisam
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Sep 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 0:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Very Happy thank you very much
it works perfectly.
thanx
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum