WRT600N brick! SERIAL PORT DEBRICK. [SOLVED]

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
zargalo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jan 2009
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 23:32    Post subject: WRT600N brick! SERIAL PORT DEBRICK. [SOLVED] Reply with quote
HI. I have a router WRT600N. Before it belong to me i dont know what old owner "someone" did with it. What i really know is that i cant ping LAN ports or Wireless. The router self reboots every 20 seconds.

The power sequence:
1-The router Power up
2-power led stays on, others leds off.
3-then wireless leds all turn green at same time.
4-all four lan yellow ports leds blink once at same time.
5-router reboots.(I assume).

It keeps doing this in a loop.

Can anyone help me solving this...some tips to flash it?!!

I have tried tftp with no success, since i cant ping it and it keeps self rebooting.

Tried hard reset 30-30-30, no success.

I assume that the default ip is:192.168.1.1

Sad


Last edited by zargalo on Wed Apr 08, 2009 8:04; edited 6 times in total
Sponsor
zargalo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jan 2009
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Feb 01, 2009 12:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is this WRT600N a brick?!

Or is it possible to flash the firmware over serial port, or erase the nvram?


Please help!
gaganwalia
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Dec 2007
Posts: 447

PostPosted: Sun Feb 01, 2009 14:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
tihs happened to me too on another router.

do the following to revive it. it may start working

power on
press reset button for 30 secs
while holding the reset button down, take out the power
do not let go off the reset button
wait another 30 seconds
still holding down the reset button, plug in the power
still holding down the reset button, wait another 3 seconds

in all the reset button must be pressed continously for 90 seconds.

after the 90 seconds release the reset button, wait for 1 minute.

take out the power again.

wait for another minute and replugin the power.

it should start working. mine did.

if all this does not work, then try using ftp to send in the stock firmware first. then try dd-wrt again.
zargalo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jan 2009
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Feb 01, 2009 22:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
tihs happened to me too on another router.

do the following to revive it. it may start working

power on
press reset button for 30 secs
while holding the reset button down, take out the power
do not let go off the reset button
wait another 30 seconds
still holding down the reset button, plug in the power
still holding down the reset button, wait another 3 seconds

in all the reset button must be pressed continously for 90 seconds.

after the 90 seconds release the reset button, wait for 1 minute.

take out the power again.

wait for another minute and replugin the power.

it should start working. mine did.

if all this does not work, then try using ftp to send in the stock firmware first. then try dd-wrt again.


Hi. tried your tips but no luck. Sad

I think the wrt600n is really dead. I cant reset it to factory defaults, cant ping, cant tftp, cant see wireless. Maybe the nvram is corrupt i dont know...

There is another strange behavier: When i plug the lan cable to the Windows XP PC, the lan adapter keeps connected for 10 seconds and disconnect..i think its beacuse the router is self rebboting.

I think the only possibility is flash the wtr600n with serial port.
zargalo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jan 2009
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 20:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi. Is there any chances for this router?

Serial port firmware flash it possible?
Shadco
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Dec 2008
Posts: 214
Location: Lower Brackley on the Chesapeake

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 20:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try this

Power router off.

Set ip on PC to 192.168.1.10 netmask ff.ff.ff.0 (assuming subnet of 192.168.1)

make sure pc is connected to lan port 1 on the router

open terminal start to ping 192.168.1.1 from putty or you favoraite term pgm, watch the terminal screen

power router on

If you see a couple of ping responses 3 to 5 but probably not more with a ttl of 100 the router is probably tftp able.

_________________
Shad
-----
Linksys WRT600Nv1.1 v24-sp2 11667 BS std
Linksys WRT350Nv1 11650M NEWD Eko std
Linksys WRT300Nv1 11650M NEWD Eko std
Netgear WNR834bv2 v24-sp2 build 11667 BS mini
Linksys NSLU2 Unslung
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 20:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
See note 6 of the Peacock Thread sticky.
_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
gaganwalia
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Dec 2007
Posts: 447

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 20:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
checkout this thread first

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=46769

first download the stock firmware from the linksys website.

then set your computer ip to 192.168.1.10

start a continous ping to the router at 192.168.1.1
ping -t 192.168.1.1

open another cmd prompt
change to the folder where you have the stock firmware

upload using tftp

type: tftp -i 192.168.1.1 put filename.bin

in a few seconds the file should upload. then wait for 2 minutes or so and reboot ther router by taking out the power.

wait another 2 minutes, then replugin the power.

you should be able to getin to the web gui now.

now go ahead and use dd-wrt firmware (start with std version first)

then upgrade to any other NEWD versions

you should be ok. the only issue i am having is that my port 80 is very slow.
zargalo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jan 2009
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 0:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 8:52 pm Post subject:
checkout this thread first

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=46769

first download the stock firmware from the linksys website.

then set your computer ip to 192.168.1.10

start a continous ping to the router at 192.168.1.1
ping -t 192.168.1.1

open another cmd prompt
change to the folder where you have the stock firmware

upload using tftp

type: tftp -i 192.168.1.1 put filename.bin

in a few seconds the file should upload. then wait for 2 minutes or so and reboot ther router by taking out the power.

wait another 2 minutes, then replugin the power.

you should be able to getin to the web gui now.

now go ahead and use dd-wrt firmware (start with std version first)

then upgrade to any other NEWD versions

you should be ok. the only issue i am having is that my port 80 is very slow.


Tried this doesnt work. :(

Quote:
Try this

Power router off.

Set ip on PC to 192.168.1.10 netmask ff.ff.ff.0 (assuming subnet of 192.168.1)

make sure pc is connected to lan port 1 on the router

open terminal start to ping 192.168.1.1 from putty or you favoraite term pgm, watch the terminal screen

power router on

If you see a couple of ping responses 3 to 5 but probably not more with a ttl of 100 the router is probably tftp able.




This dosent work to.

The problem is that the adapter of PC (where the PORT LAN 1 router cable) is connected, turns disable and enable every 5 seconds in 5 seconds.

Thats why cant ping or tftp...

Is it possible through serial port erase flash?
zargalo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jan 2009
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 16:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi. The button name: "reserved", that is located in the top side front of the WRT600N dosent do anything??
zargalo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jan 2009
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 15:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can anyone help me? please...
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 19:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you have tried to tftp the firmware, and it hasn't worked, and you hav done it all properly, and you have tried step 6 of the peacock thread sticky, and it still doesn't work....it is time to look into jtag.

If you have a jtag connection in the router, erase the nvram and the kernal and see if you can then flash firmware on it.

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12855
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 19:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Donny wrote:
If you have tried to tftp the firmware, and it hasn't worked, and you hav done it all properly, and you have tried step 6 of the peacock thread sticky, and it still doesn't work....it is time to look into jtag.

If you have a jtag connection in the router, erase the nvram and the kernal and see if you can then flash firmware on it.


I thought I just read that there is no jtag support for the 600n (no jtag port). I just looked for the thread and couldn't find it so I may be mistaken.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 19:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
barryware wrote:
I thought I just read that there is no jtag support for the 600n (no jtag port). I just looked for the thread and couldn't find it so I may be mistaken.


That is what I was worried about. If bricked and no jtag....best to send it to Redhawk as a donation.....

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
zargalo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jan 2009
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 20:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
If you have tried to tftp the firmware, and it hasn't worked, and you hav done it all properly, and you have tried step 6 of the peacock thread sticky, and it still doesn't work....it is time to look into jtag.

If you have a jtag connection in the router, erase the nvram and the kernal and see if you can then flash firmware on it.


I thought I just read that there is no jtag support for the 600n (no jtag port). I just looked for the thread and couldn't find it so I may be mistaken.



Ok. I think i can go to serial connection:
http://wiki.zeropain.com/index.php/WRT600NV11_Serial_Port

But i want to avoid that! :(

Here are same foto of my router startup procedure:



DSC00259.JPG
 Description:
3º STEP:If i connect a lan cable the lan ligth turn yellow.
 Filesize:  107.94 KB
 Viewed:  15684 Time(s)

DSC00259.JPG



DSC00257.JPG
 Description:
2º STEP:then it stays like this:
 Filesize:  92.34 KB
 Viewed:  15684 Time(s)

DSC00257.JPG



DSC00258.JPG
 Description:
1º STEP: I plug the power adapter, the power led turn greenn solid.
 Filesize:  92.87 KB
 Viewed:  15684 Time(s)

DSC00258.JPG




Last edited by zargalo on Fri Feb 06, 2009 20:56; edited 1 time in total
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum