Asus WL-500W not responding

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 13, 14, 15  Next
Author Message
pock
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 104
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 1:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Im told you get into restore mode by holding down the restore button as you power the device on.. and the power LED will flash.. it does that but as soon as I plug my laptop into the back, it goes solid its in the same state it always has been.. I'll keep messin around with it.. if you think of anything else throw me a line ;P


Pock
Sponsor
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12834
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 1:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Have you laptop pluged in and powered on when you put it into restore mode. Don't plug it in when it is in restore mode.

I gotta get another beer.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
pock
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 104
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 1:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've tried it both ways, and everything twice lol. The power LED flashes once and goes back to solid. Thanks for the help but I think this thing is toast.. I don't get it though.. all I did was change the IP address, here I was worried that me flashing software onto it was going ot brick it, when it was an ip setting change lol.. is this normal or do I just got bad luck


Pock
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12834
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 1:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Don't be scared...

Don't give up. I read through the thread I linked you to as well as the links in that thread. You'll get it. As I said, you do not seem to be the only one.

Where are you at. If you are in the states, send it to me. I fix'em for fun, not for money (except shipping).

Here's the deal, you send it to me. If I get it going, you pay shipping back. If I fail, I'll pay shipping back or shipping to donate it to the project (unless you shorted pins). At that time, it's your choice.

Keep searching & reading... You'll get it.

Has anyone asked you to read the peacock sticky? Razz

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
pock
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 104
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 1:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes I've read through and tried many many things.. I'm in the states, Peoria Illinois actually. Where bouts you from?
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 2:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
NO WAY....You can't send it to Barryware yet.

I'm back.

Asus routers are bloody hard to brick, and that one isn't. I have only heard of one, (maybe two) bricked asus routers. They had all the lights on...THAT's a brick.

Now..I'm just a triage nurse around here. Barryware's the doc, and Redhawk (who appears to be off duty) is the surgeon.

Lemme read through what's happened and see if we can sort this out.


Be back...

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
pock
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 104
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 2:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't think it is bricked, I think it is in the 4th dimension. All I did was change the IP address and its been out of sync with this universe every since.
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 2:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Okay....from the number of beers that Barryware has had...he must still be at work. Laughing

There is an oddball bit of data. That router should not be on 192.168.1.5. The fact that it is responding to pings on that is somewhat troubling, if you did your hard reset properly.

I think you should try the Asus utility. It will tell you, if you try to flash, whether the router is in restore mode or not.

Also, use a mini build, but try the erase nvram bin first. You do not need to do the .trx file again.

Give details of what you do.

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
pock
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 104
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 2:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
This asus util everyone is talking about, it wasnt on my disk and I can't find it listed in downloads for this hardware? Do you have a link or file name?
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 2:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'll see if I can find it.

In the meantime, please repeat the ping process using 192.168.1.1. Change your gateway to 192.168.1.1 on your computer as well. See if you have any response. I'll find that asus utility...

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
pock
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 104
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 2:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
The 30/30/30/ thing, I hold the restore for 30 seconds, unplug, continue hold for another 30, plug device back in and continue hold for another 30 and release. I've done that 3 times and it still responds to that single TTL 100 on 192.168.1.5


I'll try to tftp the wl500g-clear-nvram.trx


Last edited by pock on Thu Feb 26, 2009 2:41; edited 1 time in total
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 2:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Need you to try 192.168.1.1.....just to be sure.

This should be the utility:
'
http://support.asus.com/download/download.aspx?SLanguage=en-us

I can't open it and check it as I am on my OSX system....

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
pock
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 104
Location: Peoria Illinois

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 2:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
What did you search for? that link just takes to me their download section, where I gotta select hardware, OS, etc


I tried with 192.168.1.1 couldn't get any response.
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 2:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
And read this post by redhawk0:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=45772&

Here is a link to the files you need to flash:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=26194

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 2:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
pock wrote:
What did you search for? that link just takes to me their download section, where I gotta select hardware, OS, etc


I tried with 192.168.1.1 couldn't get any response.


You have to tell what the response is....you always get a response when you ping.

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 13, 14, 15  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 15
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum