DIR-600 Rev A1

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
Kelwing
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2009 21:48    Post subject: DIR-600 Rev A1 Reply with quote
I have taken a look at http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Broadcom_detection and it doesn't really tell you what you are looking for when you look at the pictures on the FCC website or when you open it up. The FCCID for the device is KA2DIR600A1. Can it be supported by dd-wrt? I noticed rev B was.
Sponsor
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17395
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 12:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
no...it tells u everything we need to know.
if u'r not familar with the things asked u should stay away from porting requests anyway

_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
ssardinajr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Aug 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 4:21    Post subject: I would be willing to donate a version DIR-600 A1. Reply with quote
were you saying "No" to the question, can the DIR-600 A1 be ported?

I will be willing to donate a version A1 to port if its possible, I dont have a DIR-600 yet so just wondering if it possible to port based on the FCC ID shadowandy provided above?

or do I need to get a DIR-600 A1 first, for you to be able to tell if it can be ported? I'm not an expert, but far from a novice so I think I could open it up and provide the information you require for port, just don't want to buy couple of them if they cant be ported is why I ask this.

Thanks in advance for any information you can provide on this subject.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17395
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
its wasted money until i get the info i requested
_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
crazycracker
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jul 2006
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 21:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just got a free DIR-600 REV A and was wondering if anyone has gotten DD-WRT working on it

I noticed you mentioned the FCC stuff about it like pictures and whats inside it and i found
https://fjallfoss.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/reports/ViewExhibitReport.cfm?mode=Exhibits&RequestTimeout=500&calledFromFrame=N&application_id=663367&fcc_id=%27KA2DIR600A1%27 which has all the info on the router like its got pictures of everything inside it and what the hardware inside it is

I'm not sure but is that what you need to know to know if dd-wrt will work on it or not?
bgils
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Sep 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 23:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
FCC-ID: KA2DIR600A1
Atheros AP9002AP-1S (AR7240 SoC & AR9285 wireless) http://www.atheros.com/pt/bulletins/AR9002AP-1SBulletin.pdf

4MB Flash winbond 25x32VFIG http://www.winbond-usa.com/products/Nexflash/pdfs/datasheets/W25X16_32_64h.pdf

D-Link GPL source ftp://ftp.dlink.com/GPL/DIR-600/DIR-600A1_GPL.zip
I have attached console output

sorry, no camera for pictures
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17395
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 7:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
there is no official support on this chipset atm...will take some more time.
_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
James.Burke
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Dec 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 19:29    Post subject: DIR-600A1 Reply with quote
How goes the progress for the support for this router?
eean
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Jan 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jan 21, 2010 16:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just got this router in the form of a $20 Frys.com router. It runs Linux 2.6.15 already actually. The full source code is at:
http://www.frysnetworksupport.com/Product/View.aspx?ProdID=5

It even has the .asp files it uses for the internal webserver... I get the impression you could build the original .ROM from scratch with what is included.

Googling yielded:
https://dev.openwrt.org/changeset/19100/trunk
But no sign from openwrt website itself that the device is supported.
khunter
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jan 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jan 22, 2010 14:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
DIR-601 Rev A1 uses the same chipset as DIR-600 Rev A1?

From the FCC pictures I can see both have:

Atheros AR9285-AL1E

FCC ID for DIR-601 Rev A is KA2DIR601A1.

Link:

https://fjallfoss.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/reports/ViewExhibitReport.cfm?mode=Exhibits&RequestTimeout=500&calledFromFrame=N&application_id=161863&fcc_id=%27KA2DIR601A1%27

FCC ID for DIR-600 Rev A is KA2DIR600A1

Link:

https://fjallfoss.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/reports/ViewExhibitReport.cfm?mode=Exhibits&RequestTimeout=500&calledFromFrame=N&application_id=663367&fcc_id=%27KA2DIR600A1%27

DIR-601 A1:



stains
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jan 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 0:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey guys!!!

First off let me say that I love this forum, and everyones hard work!!!!
You guys are great! and I love sash's pure facts Wink ... ME > /dev/brownnoser :)

I've been watching this post from the get-go and waititng to see what happens
and for a while there it went silent, so I went out a got a few of these at fry's ($20)
and started working on it myself and thought I should stop lurking and share a bit..

The DIR-600 A1 aka FR-54RTR aka DIR-601 Smile is a great router, speeds and distance are great
hardware seems solid, fast and responsive, and for it's size, it pack a punch!
Ive flashed it with a ton of different firmware, stock and 3rd party, im starting to think its unbickable :)

eean, thanks for the link!!
also get the source here ftp://ftp.dlink.com/GPL/DIR-600/ Keep in mind that D-link has listed it as EOL as of December 1, 2009
http://www.dlink.com/DIR-600

fyi... also you can get the open-wrt firm here if you want to help with the progress
with this wonderful router, http://downloads.openwrt.org/snapshots/trunk/ar71xx/
You'll find these files there along with the latest snapshot of source...
openwrt-ar71xx-dir-600-a1-jffs2-universal.bin
openwrt-ar71xx-dir-600-a1-squashfs-universal.bin

khunter, I do believe your right, Ive seen the specs and have even flashed
the 601 firm on the 600 and it worked flawless, keep in mind it downgrades the firm though :)

dir600_firmware_101NA.bin (AP91-AR7240-RT-090223-00)
DIR601A1_FW100NAB01_nml.bin (AP91-AR7240-RT-090223-02)

Info i got while running open-wrt in regards to chipset, mem and stuff
cat /proc/version
Linux version 2.6.30.10 (buildbot@gauss) (gcc version 4.3.3 (GCC) )

cat /proc/cpuinfo
system type : Atheros AR7240 rev 2
machine : D-Link DIR-600 rev. A1
processor : 0
cpu model : MIPS 24Kc V7.4
BogoMIPS : 232.65

cat /proc/meminfo
MemTotal: 29284 kB
MemFree: 18540 kB
Buffers: 980 kB
Cached: 3464 kB
Active: 3556 kB
Inactive: 2364 kB
Active(anon): 1532 kB
Active(file): 2024 kB
Inactive(file): 2364 kB
AnonPages: 1492 kB
Mapped: 980 kB
Slab: 3068 kB
SReclaimable: 652 kB
SUnreclaim: 2416 kB
PageTables: 184 kB
CommitLimit: 14640 kB
Committed_AS: 3784 kB
VmallocTotal: 1048404 kB
VmallocUsed: 612 kB
VmallocChunk: 1040528 kB

With all of the flashing around on this router though ive found that flashing from the page seems
to be a bit buggy as in times out sometimes regardless of the browser/os/firm ive used could just
be the router itself ... maybe the link, who knows... but this is how I do it on XP...

Even though you can't access redboot, and (my?) firm upgrade page seems buggy, Ive found that
running a batch file to tftp the firmware seems to do the trick very well!!!

Rename the firmware to firmware.bin and put on root of c:\
make a batch like the one below (Found on web) and also put it on c:\

@Echo Off
set DEFAULT_FW=firmware.bin
set FMFILE=%1
if X"%FMFILE%" == X"" (
set FMFILE=%DEFAULT_FW%
)

if NOT EXIST %FMFILE% (
echo.
echo ERROR: File %FMFILE% does not exist
GOTO HELP
)
Goto BEGIN
:HELP
echo.
set FW_PARAM=firmware_file
echo Use %0 [%FW_PARAM%]
echo By default %FW_PARAM% is %DEFAULT_FW%

Goto END
:BEGIN
echo ============================================
ping -n 1 -w 10 192.168.0.1
If ERRORLEVEL 1 Goto BEGIN
If ERRORLEVEL 0 Goto FLASH
Goto END
:FLASH
echo ============================================
echo *** Start Flashing ****
tftp -i 192.168.0.1 put firmware.bin
:END
pause.

Fire it up and watch for progress when its flashing you'll see the lan1 port blinking very fast for about 10 secs
if all went well you'll see it say so and it'll tell you to press any key

Important!!! at this point just wait!!! dont unplug or anything!

After about 3-5 mins or so the router will reboot GIVE IT TIME, once you've see it reboot you'll be able to ping it
at what ever ip the build your using uses ie 192.168.1.1 ... also take note that the snapshot posted above is a work
in progress and some things are missing/needs to be setup like the wireless needs to be loaded and you might need to
install a few packages in order to use the webpage ... do not attempt if you cant use google :)

With all that said, it seams as though this router should run dd-wrt and my guess is that it won't
be long before the devs here port it over so stay tuned peeps Smile
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17395
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 9:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
we need donated HW
http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/community/donations

_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
khunter
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jan 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
stains wrote:
Keep in mind that D-link has listed it as EOL as of December 1, 2009
http://www.dlink.com/DIR-600



DIR-600 Wireless 150 Router
The version of this product sold in the US and Canada (H/W version A1) is End of Life as of December 1, 2009. However, the version sold in other regions (H/W version B1 and later version) is not affected by this EOL. For US and Canadian customers, please see our latest product: DIR-601


So flashing DIR-600 with DIR-601 firmware would be an upgrade (not downgrade)?
adriaticc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Feb 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 14:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Despite the EOL status of the DIR-600, Fry's has started stocking big stacks of their own branded FR-54RTR for $20 Very Happy. A readme in the downloadable firmware states:

"This firmware is made by modifying GPL software to provide functionalities of its product DIR-600 h/w ver. A1. Copyright (C) 2009 D-Link Corp./D-Link Systems, Inc."
rajing
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Feb 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 22:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Stains, did you have to replace the redboot as is needed for the DIR-300 a1? I'm following your steps with the ones for a dir-600 a1 but can't seem to do either. Flashing the firmware via tftp ends up in a non-responsive router until reboot. Trying it the tftp server way, like the dir-300 a1, doesn't do anything - i'm unable to ping the route via the WAN port on 192.168.20.80. Any insight?
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 6
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum