How to scan for ANY OPEN WIFI? SOLVED!!! - AutoAP

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 99, 100, 101  Next
Author Message
Cool Dude
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2006 3:57    Post subject: How to scan for ANY OPEN WIFI? SOLVED!!! - AutoAP Reply with quote
ORIGINAL GOAL:
To create a script that would have intelligence and run in a loop inside dd-wrt and continuously scan for open wifi connections, test them for validity, and connect to the strongest signal... If the connection is lost, the device will scan again and find the strongest valid signal again, maintaining a continuous connection to the internet in a mobile or portable environment... Certain mac addresses and ssid's need to be capable of being excluded.....
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

THIS HAS BEEN ACCOMPLISHED!!! and it is actually very simple to implement for users on all levels...

If you are just finding this thread, you will be glad to hear that this has been accomplished by a custom firmware developed by JohnnyPrimus, which utilizes V23_SP2_NOKAID_GENERIC and has a script embedded in it that is a pure stroke of genius by JohnnyPrimus.....

The complete downloads of the custom firmware and the tutorial on how to make it work, along with a configuration file already set to drop in and plug and play, are on page 6 of this thread...


Last edited by Cool Dude on Thu Nov 16, 2006 2:07; edited 4 times in total
Sponsor
Cool Dude
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2006 15:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sad

Last edited by Cool Dude on Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:50; edited 1 time in total
JohnnyPrimus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Oct 2006
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2006 17:31    Post subject: How to scan for any open Wi-Fi. Reply with quote
Spent a bit of time bug fixing tonight, the latest version should not only alleviate all bugs mentioned so far, but should also show you a lot more than you've been seeing. I tested this moving around my apt. complex and it worked quite well.

To run the script, just log in via ssh and type 'autoap'. It'll work a lot better than it has previous runs. The only output you'll see on the screen is the open networks found. To view the full log output, point your web browser at http://10.0.0.1/autoap.html (replacing 10.0.0.1 with your own routers IP...obviously). The log will auto refresh every five seconds.

The script will no longer disconnect or start a new scan if the current SSID is functioning well. This will save from frequent disconnects.

:arrow:To have this launch at boot and continue running, just add '/bin/autoap' to your rc_startup.

http://www.partners.biz/autoap/dd-wrt_v23sp2_autoap-generic.bin
md5sum: cdbabe4441b8bcea4a762492bcdfd405

All other (trx, tftp binaries, etc) builds of the firmware image are available within
http://www.partners.biz/autoap/dd-wrt_v23sp2_autoap.zip



:!: edit 12.05.06 - new versions below: :!:

:arrow: http://www.partners.biz/autoap/sp3/dd-wrt.SP3_AAP-generic.bin

:arrow: http://www.partners.biz/autoap/sp3/dd-wrt.SP3_AAP_mini-generic.bin

:arrow: http://www.partners.biz/autoap/sp4/dd-wrt.v24_AAP-generic.bin

http://www.partners.biz/autoap/sp3/autoap-nvram.txt

-JP


Last edited by JohnnyPrimus on Tue Dec 05, 2006 8:11; edited 6 times in total
Cool Dude
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 2:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sad

Last edited by Cool Dude on Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:49; edited 2 times in total
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 5968
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:12    Post subject: Re: How to scan for ANY OPEN WIFI? Reply with quote
Chuck D wrote:
Does anyone know how I can make dd-wrt scan for multiple ssid's, such as NETGEAR, linksys, ACTIONTEC, default, etc... and connect to the strongest signal? Or how do I make it scan for ANY "open" wifi and connect to it?

The WGA54G game adapter does this, and I am sure it can be done with a script in dd-wrt, but I have alot of reading to do to be able to pull that off... The WGA54G will switch access points on you and there is no way to disable that feature.. It can be problematic, but I can see positive uses for the feature also, BIG TIME!! The WGA54G is the weakest piece of junk I have ever tested though, and there is no external antenna connector.. But I do find the fact that it scans for open wifi and auto-connects very intruiging and I am on a quest to get the same function out of dd-wrt....

I was hoping one of you could point me in the right direction...

Thanks in advance,

Chuck D

http://www.ilovemywifi.com

nvram set wl_ssid=""
nvram commit
reboot

will let you do this (in client mode for sure)

_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

DD-WRT supported Concerts @ Bunker Dresden
6.4. - Black Celebration Depeche Mode Fanmeeting LIVE: Blind Passenger vs. Modular Majesty
28.6. - Fixmer & McCarthy
17.8. - Frontline Assembly & Haujobb
Cool Dude
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 4:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sad

Last edited by Cool Dude on Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:50; edited 2 times in total
Cool Dude
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sad

Last edited by Cool Dude on Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:50; edited 1 time in total
anectine17
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 1536
Location: Idaho

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 6:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
Uhhh....I could be wrong, but I think he means you're supposed to put the desired SSID in place of the " " .

Also, where in Oregon are you?

_________________
Clear 4G Wimax.
Linksys WRT54G-TM w/14929 std-nokaid, fan-cooled, 2 GB SD mod, Primary Router.
Linksys WRT54G v.3 w/15230 std-nokaid, Client Bridge.
Linksys E2000 w/15200 "Big"
Linksys WRT54G v.4
La Fonera 2100, fan-cooled
Linksys WRT54G v.3.1
Linksys WRT54G v.1.1
Linksys WRT54GS v.1
2x Linksys WRT54G v.2.2

Peacock Thread - READ THOROUGHLY
JohnnyPrimus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Oct 2006
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 6:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'd assume he meant leave the SSID blank, and it will auto connect to the nearest available, open, strong signal.

Chuck D: I certainly didn't mean any offense, forgive me for assuming the worst, I guess I've fielded too many questions regarding pirating internet. As such, I didn't even read your question carefully enough to give you the answer you sought. Sorry.


Last edited by JohnnyPrimus on Wed Nov 01, 2006 6:31; edited 1 time in total
Cool Dude
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 6:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sad

Last edited by Cool Dude on Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:51; edited 1 time in total
Cool Dude
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 6:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sad

Last edited by Cool Dude on Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:51; edited 1 time in total
JohnnyPrimus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Oct 2006
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 6:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Chuck if none of this is working some sort of script (on cron?) will probably fit the bill nicely...

#!/bin/sh
wl scan -t active -c 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11
wl scanresults > /tmp/scanresults

to put the scan results in /tmp/scanresults for further processing. I gotta run but will look into this more shortly
Cool Dude
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 7:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sad

Last edited by Cool Dude on Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:51; edited 1 time in total
Seth7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 670
Location: DN17IQ

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 7:59    Post subject: Re: How to scan for ANY OPEN WIFI? Reply with quote
[quote="BrainSlayer"


nvram set wl_ssid=""
nvram commit
reboot

will let you do this (in client mode for sure)[/quote]

SWING !!!!!

_________________
WRT54G,GS v1.1, V2, V3 V4, V5
WR850G V2, V3
Fonera 2100
Cool Dude
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Wed Nov 01, 2006 16:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sad

Last edited by Cool Dude on Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:51; edited 1 time in total
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 99, 100, 101  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 101
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum