D-Link DIR-615 D2

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 65, 66, 67  Next
Author Message
mrnorm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Nov 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 17:38    Post subject: D-Link DIR-615 D2 Reply with quote
Hello everyone,

I recently recieved a new D-Link DIR-615 D2 wireless-n router from my ISP as a 'upgrade gift'.

Unfortunately, this router is absolutely rubbish. It's very slow and gets unresponsive quite frequently .. It's time for DD-WRT.

Now, I couldn't find anything for my specific hardware revision, so I'm guessing this router is quite new?

I've opened it up and written down the details on all of the chipsets I can see below .. Can somone tell me if the router is compatible?

I'll be more than happy to provide any other information if you like. Pictures, demos, testing .. I'll do it all because if I brick this, It's not the end of the world. Isn't doing me much good being plugged in Razz .. However, If I get this working, another lucky user will be able to escape this routers horrific firmware!

Cheers,
Ollie

Chipset Details:

(This one had a metal plate covering .. Guessing it's a intererence thing?)
Ralink
RT3052F
P0P9080B0
0923ST

(These two are next to eachother)
Winbond
W9812G6IH-6
0929W
691534800

(This one was below them)
MX
T092144
29LV320DBTI-70G
3A648000
U114BE1

Just behind the ethernet ports, I found this:

DELTA
LFE8688-R 0929J

and

DELTA
LFE8793B-R 0929
Sponsor
mrnorm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Nov 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 9:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nothing? Nobody wants to get this working then?
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1372
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 10:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Definitely RaLink chipset based router, so its the right forum...

If there are 2 of those Winbond chips, then you have 32MB of Ram

Looks like the MX flash chip is a 4MB flash

so VERY similar specs to the Buffalo WHR-G300N

I think its almost identical actually - check this link out:

http://dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WHR-G300N

The main thing about getting DD-WRT on new routers is to get a router to the Dev's

They need one to put test builds on and make sure its working.

They can't just compile something, and send it out for others to try.

Now - the specs are so similar, it may be identical hardware to the WHR-G300N.

MAY be... not is, so you MIGHT be able to just flash the WHR-G300N firmware on it.
BUT - you MIGHT brick it as well doing that!

Only way to try is actually test it...

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
2x Asus RT-N16 - Asuswrt-Merlin 3.0.0.4.374.42
Belkin F7D3302 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
Linksys E3000 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
-------------------------
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 - OpenWRT Barrier Breaker 40820
TP-Link WR1043ND V1.8 - Gargoyle 1.6.1
Engenius ESR900 - Stock Firmware 1.2.2.23
mrnorm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Nov 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 12:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey, DoesItMatter. Thanks for the reply!

Very interesting! As I said, this router was free and it's useless in its current state. The firmware is a shambles. So, testing time it is then!

I'll post back with my results.
mrnorm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Nov 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 16:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey everyone.

Not sure if its me or the box, but no TFTP response from this router. Tried in Ubuntu, Win 7 and Win Vista and the box isn't having any of it.

Serial next? Anyone have suggestions?
TheStockBroker
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Nov 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 18:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Evening everyone,

I'm very much in the same situation as mrnorm.

Virgin Media, in conjuction with their wireless 50Mb cable package have sent me a D-Link DIR-615 Router, H/W ver D2.

The firmware supplied on it, Ver: 1.00VG [Virgin Group?] is crippled in every which way, purportedly to reduce their technical service costs?

As such, the router is completely useless as anything other than a distributor for the internet.

QoS doesn't work, WPA2 only mode is disabled, the router frequently freezes and requires resetting daily to continue to accept client connections.

You say your devs require a sample to get DD-WRT working on it - How long would the turnaround be?
If less than a month, I'd be more than happy to loan it to you for dev purposes; I am based in the UK.

Please get back to me if this would be acceptable.

Regards

TSB
mrnorm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Nov 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 18:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'll go one further than that TheStockBroker to save you the hassle of not having a router.

I've already got a Linux firewall doing all of the internet jobs anyway. So I'll send the router to the devs for as long as they want if they're willing to accept (obviously if I get it back if you get it working! Razz)?
TheStockBroker
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Nov 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 19:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ah, top bloke!

Saves me running a 20m LAN cable through the house for the forseeable future..

Can't wait to have this on the move; been watching the C1 & D1 revisions as work in progress, hoping I'd be able to use it on my D2.. But they've been listed as 'wip' for weeks now, and I'm desperate to get some real functionality out of what could be a top piece of kit!

TSB
tinytoes
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Sep 2007
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
yes

i've seen it listed as wip but have no idea who is atually working on them

my email to brainslayer was not replied either
liverpoolatnight
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 May 2008
Posts: 166
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
tinytoes wrote:
yes

i've seen it listed as wip but have no idea who is atually working on them

my email to brainslayer was not replied either


thats just for the C1,D1 ?

mrnorm wrote:
Hey everyone.

Not sure if its me or the box, but no TFTP response from this router. Tried in Ubuntu, Win 7 and Win Vista and the box isn't having any of it.

Serial next? Anyone have suggestions?


Got the same problem as you!!!



OKAY guy and girls Decided to flash with "WHR-G300N-webflash.bin" as i have a linksys WRT54G2v1 for a backup, Tryed it with the web interface but no look, so ill try it the tftp way.

Update/b]

tryed tftp.exe from the linksys WRT54GS v7 database page and followed the wiki on [b]WHR-G300N
but didnt work.

https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?pid=82415#p82415 very intressing Rolling Eyes Reading via on the openwrt's wiki http://nuwiki.openwrt.org/oldwiki/hardware/dlink is working on: Kamikaze trunk 2009-01-15 but thats just for the HW:C1 verson.

HmmmMMMmmm Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes Any other ideas?

_________________
D-Link DIR-615 D2: DD-WRTv24-sp2 (07/24/13) std (SVN revision 22118)
ISP: Virgin Media Cable, 60/3


Last edited by liverpoolatnight on Fri Jan 22, 2010 12:31; edited 1 time in total
mrnorm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Nov 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 11:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey liverpoolatnight,

Hmm .. I wonder what we can do to crack it? I've fond my old soldering iron, so I might see if I can flash it through serial.

Anyone have any tips, suggestions? I wasn't going to put a plate on the box as suggested, as this is for test.

Will it be a problem just soldering the serial cable onto the board?

Cheers,
Norm.
liverpoolatnight
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 May 2008
Posts: 166
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 11:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
mrnorm wrote:
Hey liverpoolatnight,

Hmm .. I wonder what we can do to crack it? I've fond my old soldering iron, so I might see if I can flash it through serial.


https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?pid=82415#p82415

Take a quick look Smile

_________________
D-Link DIR-615 D2: DD-WRTv24-sp2 (07/24/13) std (SVN revision 22118)
ISP: Virgin Media Cable, 60/3
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17379
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 13:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
try to flash the EAP-9550 build
_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
mrnorm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Nov 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 14:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey Sash,

Through the web, serial or TFTP?

Norm
liverpoolatnight
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 May 2008
Posts: 166
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 14:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
try to flash the EAP-9550 build


Dont get you? EAP-9550

what that under?

_________________
D-Link DIR-615 D2: DD-WRTv24-sp2 (07/24/13) std (SVN revision 22118)
ISP: Virgin Media Cable, 60/3
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 65, 66, 67  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 67
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum