How to scan for ANY OPEN WIFI? SOLVED!!! - AutoAP

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 99, 100, 101  Next
Author Message
Edmund
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 15:09    Post subject: Re: How to scan for ANY OPEN WIFI? Reply with quote
! The WGA54G is the weakest piece of junk I have ever tested though, and there is no external antenna connector..
Chuck D

http://www.ilovemywifi.com[/quote]

What? according to the info in the shop-page there should be an RP-SMA connector!
Please confirm, because I wanted to order one but I need an external antenna!


Edmund
Sponsor
Seth7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 670
Location: DN17IQ

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 16:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
its on the status -- wireless page..at the bottom .. and only hows AP's ...

Id like the setup up have the ability to exclude ssid's or mac adress's (or both) ... not all open wireless have internet conections... and hence are not useable as such.

_________________
WRT54G,GS v1.1, V2, V3 V4, V5
WR850G V2, V3
Fonera 2100
Cool Dude
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 18:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sad

Last edited by Cool Dude on Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:54; edited 1 time in total
Edmund
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 20:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
[quote="Chuck D"]The WGA54G and A/G both do not have external antenna connectors... They also are set to a much lower power level, so they ony get about 1/3 of the signal strength of other devices...

Sorry I mixed up the type numbers, the one I want to order is the WHR-HP-G54
Cool Dude
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 4:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sad

Last edited by Cool Dude on Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:54; edited 1 time in total
JohnnyPrimus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Oct 2006
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 6:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
you make too enticing an offer to pass up. after looking at your hardware, it looks like the only viable solution would utilize soley stock components.

stay tuned....
Cool Dude
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 6:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sad

Last edited by Cool Dude on Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:55; edited 1 time in total
JohnnyPrimus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Oct 2006
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 8:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
i've got a scripted solution coming along nicely, using only the stock dd-wrt. i'll add in support to specify MACs, SSIDs or BSSIDs to ignore. (Stored in nvram to make it a bit easier to keep configured)
Cool Dude
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 14:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sad

Last edited by Cool Dude on Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:55; edited 1 time in total
JohnnyPrimus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Oct 2006
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 5:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
ive spent too much time hammering down the details, but this thing has turned out pretty damn nicely. completely native, modular, expandable, and quite stable. if you're around tonight let me know, i'm quite happy with the end result
Cool Dude
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 5:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sad

Last edited by Cool Dude on Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:55; edited 1 time in total
JohnnyPrimus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Oct 2006
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 5:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://www.partners.biz/autoap/autoap.zip is the final version.

I believe it is small enough to successfully save as a startup script.

I can hammer out a micro version of this that's a 80-90% smaller, but this seemed like a robust way to keep things expandable, something it sounds like you guys may be doing with city wide projects.

im out the door to snag food, back in just a few
Cool Dude
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 5:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sad

Last edited by Cool Dude on Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:55; edited 1 time in total
Cool Dude
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 5:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sad

Last edited by Cool Dude on Wed Nov 15, 2006 7:56; edited 3 times in total
JohnnyPrimus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Oct 2006
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 5:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
no problem

the easiest way to get it up and running will be to fire up ssh, log on to your router, and do the following:

cd /tmp
wget http://www.partners.biz/autoap/autoap.sh
chmod 777 ./autoap.sh
./autoap.sh

at that point it should be running. i have noticed a bug intermittantly that requires starting it twice before it begins to spit out the things you're looking for. if you don't see output ~15-30 seconds after running ./autoap.sh, just run that command again and it should begin informing you of new networks it's found.

there are plenty of settings to adjust (you can get at them by editing the file, I'll compile a list of the nvram settings i included shortly). i'd hoped to have a web interface cooked up for it by now too, but the shell-only scripting took some getting used to. ill definitely make one available as soon as i have a few minutes to tinker with it
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 99, 100, 101  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 101
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum