WRT54G bricked. TFTP times out

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
cowwoc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 17:44    Post subject: WRT54G bricked. TFTP times out Reply with quote
Hi,

I got my WRT54G v2.2 router into a bad state. On startup I see the Power and Internet LEDs flashing and DMZ is solid for 5-10 seconds before turning off. About 10 seconds later, DMZ turns on for another 5-10 seconds and turns off again. This repeats forever.

I tried the usual recovery instructions found at http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Recover_from_a_Bad_Flash

Things I tried but did not work:
- 30/30/30 hard reset. Ping always returns "timeout" or "Reply from 192.168.1.2: Destination host unreachable". My PC ip is 192.168.1.2, the router is 192.168.1.1.
- TFTP from Linksys or from Windows7 64-bit.
- NIC configured in 10MBit half-duplex mode.

I'm not sure what else to do. Everything I read online indicates that the boot loader is fine and only the firmware is corrupt. This is supposed to be recoverable but TFTP always fails with "Timeout occurred. Connect request failed."

Please help.

Thanks,
Gili
Sponsor
Peabody
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 1517

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 17:50    Post subject: Re: WRT54G bricked. TFTP times out Reply with quote
Quickest sure way to fix it is with jtag, but try the steps at number 6 of the peacock announcement and a windows XP machine to do tftp. Correct instructions for tftp are at #11 of the peacock
_________________
I fix "shortcuts". If you don't have time to read thoroughly, I don't have time to re-type what you missed.
nukevil
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jan 2010
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 17:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try TFTPing right when you power the router on.
_________________
If your router constantly resets for no apparent reason, CHECK YOUR POWER ADAPTER!!!
cowwoc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 17:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
nukevil wrote:
Try TFTPing right when you power the router on.


I'm pretty sure I've tried that numerous times already. I run TFTP within the first second of plugging the router in. Is this fast enough?

UPDATE: I just discovered the following:

When I run arp -a I get:

Interface: 192.168.1.2 --- 0xb
Internet Address Physical Address Type
192.168.1.255 ff-ff-ff-ff-ff-ff static
224.0.0.22 01-00-5e-00-00-16 static
224.0.0.252 01-00-5e-00-00-fc static

My router isn't showing up anywhere on this list. Its mac address is supposed to be 00-0f-*
redhawk0
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 10941
Location: Wherever the wind blows- North America

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 17:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
also check your power supply...make sure you have 12V when it's plugged in. These units are starting to age...and bad power seems to be a more and more common occurrence.

redhawk

_________________
I currently test dd-wrt on Asus, Buffalo, Linksys, and Netgear. Too many to list.

Looking for more test units (newer models) for the project...got a brick?...PM me to make a hardware donation. (USA) A donation is not a debricking service....it is a way to "Give back" to the dd-wrt project.

I do NOT provide personal assistance through chat or phone....so please don't ask.
crashfly
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 2025
Location: Sol System > Earth > USA > Arkansas

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 18:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
When you ping the router, you never did mention if you got a "TTL=100" or even a "TTL=64". Either of these would indicate if you router is bricked. (The first waits for firmware, the second is working just fine.)

Make sure to set your computer to a static IP before starting the ping process.

_________________
E3000 22200M KongVPN K26
WRT600n v1.1 refirb mega 18767 BS K24 NEWD2 [not used]
WRT54G v2 16214 BS K24 [access point]

Try Dropbox for syncing files - get 2.5gb online for free by signing up.

Read! Peacock thread
*PLEASE* upgrade PAST v24SP1 or no support.
cowwoc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 18:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
crashfly wrote:
When you ping the router, you never did mention if you got a "TTL=100" or even a "TTL=64". Either of these would indicate if you router is bricked. (The first waits for firmware, the second is working just fine.)

Make sure to set your computer to a static IP before starting the ping process.


crashfly,

Ping always returns "Request timed out" or "Reply from 192.168.1.2: Destination host unreachable." I don't see a mention of TTL anywhere...?

Gili
RenRenRen
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Jan 2008
Posts: 195
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 19:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Only if you receive a ping response will it have the TTL value.

You could try manually adding the IP/MAC combo to the ARP table, it's a longshot but it won't do any harm to try (Just remember to delete it afterwards).

_________________
In Use:
Linksys E3000/WRT610N v2 Conversion, Big Build 15778 (21/11/2010)
Linksys WRT54G-TM +7 dBi, Standard NoKaid Build 15437 (12/10/2010)
Linksys BEFSR81 v3.1

In Testing:
Buffalo WHR-HP-G54, Standard Build 15962 (24/12/2010)
Linksys WAP54G v2.0, Micro Build 15962 (24/12/2010)
D-Link DIR-615 D2, Standard Build 18007 (14/12/2011)
Donny
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 5266
Location: CENTRAL Midnowhere

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 19:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Did you read the peacock note 6?

1. Ping (you've done that)
2. Power cycle while pinging and post results.(?)
3. Hard reset while pinging and post results. (?)
4. Jtag.

_________________
Warning: I'm "out of my element!"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjYJ7zZ9BRw&NR=1

Peacock Thread Sticky- Just read it! (Anyone using SP1 will be taken out back and shot)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
cowwoc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 19:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Donny wrote:
Did you read the peacock note 6?

1. Ping (you've done that)
2. Power cycle while pinging and post results.(?)
3. Hard reset while pinging and post results. (?)
4. Jtag.


Off the top of my head (I'll retest in a few hours) I get the same results for #2 and #3 (timeout and destination host unreachable).

Doesn't #4 require special hardware? If I have to get a new router, what do you guys recommend?

Thanks,
Gili
cowwoc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 20:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
RenRenRen wrote:
Only if you receive a ping response will it have the TTL value.

You could try manually adding the IP/MAC combo to the ARP table, it's a longshot but it won't do any harm to try (Just remember to delete it afterwards).


What command-line should I run?

Thanks,
Gili
cowwoc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 0:53    Post subject: SOLVED Reply with quote
Trip to Future Shop: $5
New Linksys router: $80

Finding out that you tried fixing your "bricked" router by plugging the PC into the "Internet port" instead of "Port 1": Priceless

I guess I better return this new router to Future Shop :)

Thank you for your help. Sorry for the screw up :)

Gili
crashfly
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 2025
Location: Sol System > Earth > USA > Arkansas

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 5:11    Post subject: Re: SOLVED Reply with quote
cowwoc wrote:
Trip to Future Shop: $5
New Linksys router: $80

Finding out that you tried fixing your "bricked" router by plugging the PC into the "Internet port" instead of "Port 1": Priceless

I guess I better return this new router to Future Shop :)

Thank you for your help. Sorry for the screw up :)

Gili

lol .... that is the best one yet! We will make a DD-WRT hoe out of you yet. Wink

_________________
E3000 22200M KongVPN K26
WRT600n v1.1 refirb mega 18767 BS K24 NEWD2 [not used]
WRT54G v2 16214 BS K24 [access point]

Try Dropbox for syncing files - get 2.5gb online for free by signing up.

Read! Peacock thread
*PLEASE* upgrade PAST v24SP1 or no support.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum