Wide Channel on Client Bridge WNDR3300

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
yargok
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Apr 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:16    Post subject: Wide Channel on Client Bridge WNDR3300 Reply with quote
Hi there,

I've searched the forum and couldn't find a solution to my problem. I'm trying to achieve 270 mb/s mode on a client bridge that I have set up. Both routers are WNDR3300's, and the firmware version is DD-WRT v24-sp2 (01/16/10) std (SVN revision 13637).

I am able to setup the access point router to have a wideband. When I look at the wireless info screen I see:

Code:
Channel 56 + 54
TX Power 71 mW
Rate 270 Mbps


When the client bridge is not attached. Notice how two channels are present.

When I attach the client bridge I see the following for the wireless info on the client bridge router:

Code:
Channel 54
TX Power 71 mW
Rate 135 Mbps


Notice how only one channel is enabled. How do I get the client bridge to use the second channel?

I have both radio's set to N-only 5ghz.

I hope I covered all of the pertinant information. Anyone have a solution? I saw this problem mentioned a few times in the long (locked) WNDR33300 thread without a solution.
Sponsor
diabel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Apr 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2010 19:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Same problem here. Any help would be appreciated.
yargok
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Apr 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2010 19:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
So I got this to work mostly. The actual throughput speeds are disappointing, but that is another story. I was able to get it working by doing the following:

On the AP:
Choose wide band, and select a channel to work on (not auto)

On the client bridge:
Set the mode to AP temporarily. Then you have more options as to channel etc. I select the same channel and wideband settings as above. I apply them, then set the router to client bridge mode.

I was then able to see it connecting at 270 mb/s. My security setting is WPA2/AES.
diabel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Apr 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2010 19:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
yargok thanks for the quick reply.

Tried this but still no go. It starts of at 270 but drops to 135 within few seconds.

Throughput on the wl0 doesn't change and hovers around 30 mbps with occasional spikes to 40 mbps.

I got the same security WPA2/AES.
yargok
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Apr 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2010 19:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
diabel wrote:
yargok thanks for the quick reply.

Tried this but still no go. It starts of at 270 but drops to 135 within few seconds.

Throughput on the wl0 doesn't change and hovers around 30 mbps with occasional spikes to 40 mbps.

I got the same security WPA2/AES.


Unfortunately that is about the same throughput that I am experiencing, even though the interface claims it is operating at >200. I was accepted that that is the max throughput for this very cheap router. I'd love to get it working even better. I'm just out of ideas.
diabel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Apr 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2010 15:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
That's a shame. I specifically picked up two of those to replace wnr834b I have. It seems like the only advantage will be riding 5ghz instead of 2.4ghz. Speeds stayed the same.

O well got to do more research next time.

Thanks for your input.
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1372
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2010 19:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
How far apart are you testing these?

Have you seen the inside of the WNDR3300's?

The antenna's are just traces on the PCB.

They are not even pieces of metal, they are part of the PCB.

I would say MAX useable distance for these, with line of sight, would be about 10 metres / 10 yards.

If you have any obstructions/walls, drop that down to 5 metres / 5 yards.

Some people have modified and added external antennas and their signals have improved.

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
2x Asus RT-N16 - Asuswrt-Merlin 3.0.0.4.374.42
Belkin F7D3302 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
Linksys E3000 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
-------------------------
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 - OpenWRT Barrier Breaker 40820
TP-Link WR1043ND V1.8 - Gargoyle 1.6.1
Engenius ESR900 - Stock Firmware 1.2.2.23
yargok
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Apr 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2010 19:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
DoesItMatter wrote:
How far apart are you testing these?

Have you seen the inside of the WNDR3300's?

The antenna's are just traces on the PCB.

They are not even pieces of metal, they are part of the PCB.

I would say MAX useable distance for these, with line of sight, would be about 10 metres / 10 yards.

If you have any obstructions/walls, drop that down to 5 metres / 5 yards.

Some people have modified and added external antennas and their signals have improved.


Yeah, I hear you. Mine are one bedroom apart (goes through 2 walls). Signal strength as reported by the routers is just under 50%.

Do you think switching to WDS and disabling wireless clients would improve performance relative to this client bridge setup?
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1372
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've never used WDS, never saw the need for it for my setup.

Access Point and Repeater Bridge have been working fine for me.

I've been using Eko's 13491 for a while now, and I get uptime of 1 month.

I manually reboot once a month just to keep the connection fresh.

As far as signal/bandwidth, it can vary. It is usually anywhere from 150mbps -> 270mbps.

It's never one solid speed, it always fluctuates up and down, but its fast enough for what I do.

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
2x Asus RT-N16 - Asuswrt-Merlin 3.0.0.4.374.42
Belkin F7D3302 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
Linksys E3000 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
-------------------------
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 - OpenWRT Barrier Breaker 40820
TP-Link WR1043ND V1.8 - Gargoyle 1.6.1
Engenius ESR900 - Stock Firmware 1.2.2.23
buddee
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 7382
Location: Little Rock

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 11:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Not to mention N is still in draft stage, never really seen anything final, so its gonna flux up and down, nothing solid, just one of the woe's of new technology, always notice when they advertise N router they make sure to say 'speeds up to 300mbit'
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum