WRT320N Debrick / Pin Short / Serial Console

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
lost+found
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Location: North~Sea~Coa~s~~t~~~

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 9:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
lost+found wrote:
catseatcats wrote:
lost+found wrote:
Maybe helpful info for Linux users... I managed to debrick the WRT320N using a Nokia DKU-5 cable, USB TI 3410/5052 Serial Driver (module in the Linux kernel), CuteCom, and atftp (no linksys password needed).

Cheers!


Can you post which pin are TX, RX & GND?I will try to fix My brick TP-LINK router with it.


I cut off and stripped the phone connector with a small knife to discover the pinout. Colors might differ per manufacturer.
http://pinouts.ru/CellularPhonesCables/nokia_dku-5_cable_pinout.shtml
http://pinouts.ru/CellularPhones-Nokia/nokia_pop_pinout.shtml

pin 1: not on connector!
pin 2: GND (white on my cable)
pin 3: not needed (yellow on my cable)
pin 4: V Out, probably not needed; 3.3V (green on my cable)
pin 5: not used
pin 6: RX (red on my cable)
pin 7: TX (blue on my cable)
pin 8: not used (but could be GND instead of pin 2)
pin 9: not used
pin 10: not used
pin 11: not used
pin 12: not used
pin 13: not used
pin 14: not used

For the WRT320N, I opened the router case, but this model has a debug adapter inside the WAN port too.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=384470#384470

I didn't solder, but pressed the wires to the board using a match and a wooden clothespin.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=254697#254697
This picture shows the WRT610N, but looks similar to the WRT320N. I attached the wires in this order (top-down): green, blue, red, nothing, white. Use of CuteCom is like HyperTerminal in above thread. The command for atftp is somewhere in the Wiki.

Good luck!



Here is a reconstruction how I debricked my WRT320N... (from my memory and a found command log)

- Remove power from the router, connect the router to a computer using a network cable and the usb-serial converter.
- Install/load the drivers. Windows: from CD or driversguide.com or something; Linux: modprobe usbserial and ti_usb_3410_5052. My cable has a Texas Instruments chipset: TUSB3410 Microcontroller.
- Start a serial console (like HyperTerminal on Windows, CuteCom on Linux). Read on here what settings to use:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=254820#254820

- Connect power to the router.
- During router booting: hold Ctrl-C from the start, to get a command prompt, release when you see:
Code:
CFE> ^C
CFE> ^C
CFE> ^C
CFE> ^C
...

- In the serial console type:
Code:
CFE> nvram erase
CFE> reboot

- During router rebooting: hold Ctrl-C to get the command prompt again.
- After router reboot, prepare it to accept the firmware over the network cable:
Code:
CFE> flash -ctheader : flash1.trx

...within 3 seconds after Enter, the image must be sent from tftp, prepare tftp on the computer to be ready... get the dd-wrt.v24-13493_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_wrt320n image from http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-database [1], because this one is intended for tftp with the WRT320N. Read on here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Installation#Method_2:_Flashing_with_TFTP

- Not sure this nvram erase and reboot is needed, just in case. In the serial console type:
Code:
CFE> nvram erase
CFE> reboot

- The router reboots, but we still have to erase nvram one time... hold Ctrl-C to get the command prompt again.
Code:
CFE> nvram erase
CFE> reboot

- The router reboots from the new firmware, check if you see "DD-WRT login:" in the serial console, at the end of the boot process. HURRAY!!! I guess you debricked it! Cool
- Shut down serial console, disconnect power from the router, remove cables, revert networking to dhcp on your computer

[1] Update 2010-12-14: Don't use the Router Database anymore, but get the current recommended firmware version here:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=52043, click on the link after "For models that REQUIRE the K26 build (like the WRT610nV2, WNR3500L, RT-N16...etc...see note above)" and download the image with a trailing "_wrt320n.bin".

_________________
Linksys WRT320N
dd-wrt.v24-14929_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini.bin (previously using: dd-wrt.v24-13575_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini.bin, dd-wrt.v24-13493_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_wrt320n.bin)
Debricked once Embarassed ...using a DKU-5 cable.
+++ 2011: Finally distroyed from overheating. Lent it out, and on a hot summer day the router took a sunbath behind glass. +++


Last edited by lost+found on Tue Dec 14, 2010 8:48; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
jiangs
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 10:54    Post subject: My WRT320N back to work Reply with quote
Thanks for the post here, I managed to get my WRT320N back to work. :)

Two things to share:
1. the 5 pins on the board are:
pin 1 vc+
pin 2 tx
pin 3 rx
pin 4
pin 5 gnd
2. when you got connected, try CFE>nvram -erase first.

here is the link where i bought my RS232-TTL convert, only 3US$ shipping in China.
http://item.taobao.com/item_detail.jhtml?item_id=e7e3e1757d734d63220753a35c0e2796&x_id=db1
Hal9000
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2010 20:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
btw, this is what i see now:

Code:
CFE version 1.0.37 for BCM947XX (32bit,SP,LE)
Build Date: 亠 3æ 27 10:49:23 CST 2009 (root@localhost.localdomain)
Copyright (C) 2000,2001,2002,2003 Broadcom Corporation.

Initializing Arena
Initializing Devices.

No DPN
This is a Serial Flash
Boot partition size = 262144(0x40000)
Found a 8MB ST compatible serial flash
Partition information:
boot    #00   00000000 -> 0003FFFF  (262144)
trx     #01   00040000 -> 0004001B  (28)
os      #02   0004001C -> 007F7FFF  (8093668)
nvram   #03   007F8000 -> 007FFFFF  (32768)
Partition information:
boot    #00   00000000 -> 0003FFFF  (262144)
trx     #01   00040000 -> 007F7FFF  (8093696)
nvram   #02   007F8000 -> 007FFFFF  (32768)
BCM47XX_GMAC_ID
et0: Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet Controller 5.10.56.9
CPU type 0x19740: 354MHz
Total memory: 32768 KBytes

Total memory used by CFE:  0x80700000 - 0x807A1D80 (662912)
Initialized Data:          0x80735D20 - 0x80738920 (11264)
BSS Area:                  0x80738920 - 0x8073BD80 (13408)
Local Heap:                0x8073BD80 - 0x8079FD80 (409600)
Stack Area:                0x8079FD80 - 0x807A1D80 (8192)
Text (code) segment:       0x80700000 - 0x80735D18 (220440)
Boot area (physical):      0x007A2000 - 0x007E2000
Relocation Factor:         I:00000000 - D:00000000

Boot version: v5.4
The boot is CFE
Nothing...

### CLKDIV= 0x80a082c, SFlashClkDiv=8 clkdivsf=2 ###
### Change it to 0x20a082c (2) ###
CMD: [ifconfig eth0 -addr=192.168.1.1 -mask=255.255.255.0]
Device eth0:  hwaddr 00-25-9C-1B-B6-EC, ipaddr 192.168.1.1, mask 255.255.255.0
        gateway not set, nameserver not set
CMD: [go;]
Check CRC of image1
  Len:     0x2E2000     (3022848)       (0xBC040000)
  Offset0: 0x1C   (28)          (0xBC04001C)
  Offset1: 0x9A8  (2472)        (0xBC0409A8)
  Offset2: 0xE4C00      (936960)        (0xBC124C00)
  Header CRC:    0xEA4B829
  Calculate CRC: 0xEA4B829
Image 1 is OK
Try to load image 1.
CMD: [boot -raw -z -addr=0x80001000 -max=0x6ff000 flash0.os:]
Loader:raw Filesys:raw Dev:flash0.os File: Options:(null)
Loading: .. 3856 bytes read

### Start=238261852 E=238978436 Delta=716584 ###
Entry at 0x80001000
Closing network.
Starting program at 0x80001000


ctrl-c seems not to help, tried both hyperterminal and putty. any ideas?
dasdejavu
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jun 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 11:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hal9000 wrote:
btw, this is what i see now:

Code:
...
### Start=238261852 E=238978436 Delta=716584 ###
Entry at 0x80001000
Closing network.
Starting program at 0x80001000


ctrl-c seems not to help, tried both hyperterminal and putty. any ideas?


I know it's a little late, but I had the same problem.
The solution was to solder a cold soldering point. ("Kalte Lötstelle") again. The connection was interrupted.
You can see all the details in this tutorial:
http://www.marcelimig.de/index.php/tutorial/howto-debrick-a-linksys-wrt320n-router

greetings
Riffer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Mar 2008
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 22:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for your detailed information!

The same procedure worked for me and my Linksys E2000 too (with the right binary file, certainly - just download the one from Linksys.com).
lost+found
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Location: North~Sea~Coa~s~~t~~~

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
The topic title mentions "pin short", which is not recommended to do. I read somewhere that it may harm the hardware. I did a pin short several times, before buying an USB cable, because that would be the easiest thing to do. It didn't help, but didn't harm either in my case (everything works fine again). The Peacock Thread says to try USB debricking first! Laughing
_________________
Linksys WRT320N
dd-wrt.v24-14929_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini.bin (previously using: dd-wrt.v24-13575_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini.bin, dd-wrt.v24-13493_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_wrt320n.bin)
Debricked once Embarassed ...using a DKU-5 cable.
+++ 2011: Finally distroyed from overheating. Lent it out, and on a hot summer day the router took a sunbath behind glass. +++
Riffer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Mar 2008
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 12:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just to be clear: I did NOT use the pin shortcut, but used the usb cable to erase the nvram. After the next restart I flashed the device by tftp.
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12840
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 14:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
The "pin short" discussed in this thread, is not really a pin short. Around the processor there are a few "tp's" (test points). One is gpio6 which is the reset button. It is just like pushing the reset button but on the 320, the reset button does not work. Gpio6 does. It is not a "pin short" that shorts pins on a flash chip.

Problem with shorting gpio6 on this device, the tp's are very small and close together. It is easy to short the wrong tp if you are not paying attention.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
EvilGohan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jun 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 19:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
I think I bricked my E2000 today.
Is there any way to use a Cisco Serial Console Cable (pic attached)?

The E2000 has its pins exposed inside the WAN-Part...so maybe it's possible to unbrick him without opening the router and losing warranty?

The really hard thing is, that I'm still able to ping him, but the tftp put seems not to be working! :(

tia



cisco-console[13].jpg
 Description:
cisco console
 Filesize:  34.04 KB
 Viewed:  16760 Time(s)

cisco-console[13].jpg


vallan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Jun 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2011 15:32    Post subject: Oh NOOOOO! Reply with quote
So I've soldered on the appropriate wires 3.3v, gnd, rx and tx. I accidentally hit one of the wires and it lifted the copper pad off the printed circuit board (it was RX or TX, cant recall). I'm afraid I'm screwed. Is there any other point/pin on the printed circuit board I can get access to RX/TX to reprogram this?

Thanks
hajj_3
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 14:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi guys, i was wondering if you guys were using a serial ribbon cable in conjunction with the nokia cable to debrick your routers?

I'm thinking about getting the Nokia CA-42 USB cable which is alot cheaper and fast uk delivery. The guy in this tutorial used it to upgrade his router from wrt320n to e2000: http://www.mi-computersupport.de/index.php/tutorial

Do i actually need a serial ribbon cable inbetween the nokia cable and the router or can i connect them directly?

If you guys did you a serial cable could you attach a photo of how you did it.

I'm hoping to just use the Nokia CA-42 cable and stick the wires to the router's contact pads with sticky tape so not needing to solder. The pin out for this cable is here: http://pinouts.ru/CellularPhones-Nokia/nokia_pop_pinout.shtml

Anyone know if the nokia drivers work (http://europe.nokia.com/support/product-support/cable-drivers/driver-for-nokia-dke-2-dku-2-ca-42-ca-53-ca-70-ca-101) on Win 7 x64? I'd prefer not to have to use a linux live cd.
The Storm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Mar 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 23:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello,

I have a bricked wrt320n which is running E2000 CFE. Anyway on this cfe tftp on boot does not work. It is uploading successfully but no go after that so I'm going to serial flash it.

I have DKU-5 cable but I really don't want to cut it so I will try to just tiny wire the other end. Anyway I need to know which pins on the cable are the ones I need. I've saw the posted information about 14 pins but every time I count it I get only 13 so I guess that info for this cable is different...

Could you please point me to correct pins that I need to use?
buddee
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 7385
Location: Little Rock

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 0:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
The Storm wrote:
Hello,

I have a bricked wrt320n which is running E2000 CFE. Anyway on this cfe tftp on boot does not work. It is uploading successfully but no go after that so I'm going to serial flash it.

I have DKU-5 cable but I really don't want to cut it so I will try to just tiny wire the other end. Anyway I need to know which pins on the cable are the ones I need. I've saw the posted information about 14 pins but every time I count it I get only 13 so I guess that info for this cable is different...

Could you please point me to correct pins that I need to use?


Yes these, on the underside of the board. Not sure from here how you're going to get outta cutting the cable, these aren't standard 'pinout' style serial port here.



serial_pinouts_e3k-2.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  81.51 KB
 Viewed:  7859 Time(s)

serial_pinouts_e3k-2.jpg



_________________
Wireless N Config | Linking Routers | DD-WRT Wiki | DD-WRT Builds | Peacock - Broadcom FAQ

Having problems with port forwarding? Check out Port Forward Troubleshooting for more info.
lost+found
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Mar 2010
Posts: 6
Location: North~Sea~Coa~s~~t~~~

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 9:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
The Storm wrote:
...
I have DKU-5 cable but I really don't want to cut it so I will try to just tiny wire the other end. Anyway I need to know which pins on the cable are the ones I need. I've saw the posted information about 14 pins but every time I count it I get only 13 so I guess that info for this cable is different...

Could you please point me to correct pins that I need to use?


13 is correct. Pin(out) 1 was not on the connector in my case, and a few contacts of the connector without any wire. So pin 2 of the Russian schematic, is the first contact on your connector, if you don't hold it upside down.

Merge pinout 2 and 8, because you can't see which one is wired.

_________________
Linksys WRT320N
dd-wrt.v24-14929_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini.bin (previously using: dd-wrt.v24-13575_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini.bin, dd-wrt.v24-13493_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_wrt320n.bin)
Debricked once Embarassed ...using a DKU-5 cable.
+++ 2011: Finally distroyed from overheating. Lent it out, and on a hot summer day the router took a sunbath behind glass. +++
nasax
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 May 2009
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2013 20:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
is it posible to change the memory on the bord and if so wat woud hapen ?
_________________
I Love Linux !
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum