K26 Build Supported Router List

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 15, 16, 17 ... 19, 20, 21  Next
Author Message
0sAND1s
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jan 2010
Posts: 26
Location: Bucharest, Romania

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2010 10:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you LOM.

I extracted the CFE (the url didn't work in browser, I used wget method from command line) and it seems I have the 2006 version, 'cause
"strings cfe.bin | grep 2006"
returns
"12 22:21:19 CST 2006".
I will send you the CFE anyway.

Thank you!

_________________
ASUS WL500g Premium V1, CFE 3.91.7.0;
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/12/10) mega (SVN revision 14929); Optware, the right way
Sponsor
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7213

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 5:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
0sAND1s wrote:
it seems I have the 2006 version, 'cause
"strings cfe.bin | grep 2006"
returns
"12 22:21:19 CST 2006".


yes, it is the 2006 CFE and I was hoping that maurer had a later one.
The WL-500W CFE based on the same driver and compiled at roughly the same date did among other things cause radio instability and the WL-500W has to be updated to a 2007 build to overcome those problems.

I suspect it is the same case with 500gP v1 and that maurer has a later CFE than yours since he doesn't have any radio problems.

_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already
0sAND1s
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jan 2010
Posts: 26
Location: Bucharest, Romania

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 6:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, maurer has a different wireless module inserted in the Asus board, and I suspect it's a different chipset.
I did a fresh install again yesterday, with 30/30/30 reset, I can connect to the router trough wireless, but the speed is very low (100-200 Kbps instead of 2-3 MBs) and unstable with K26.
I will try to find a newer CFE.


Thank you.

Later edit:
I searched for a newer CFE (newer than my 2006) but I could only find 2005 and 2006 versions (on CFE dump thread). Anything else I can do to make it work?

_________________
ASUS WL500g Premium V1, CFE 3.91.7.0;
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/12/10) mega (SVN revision 14929); Optware, the right way
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7213

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 15:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
I got the cfe from maurer and it is indeed a later version than yours, still from 2006 though.

Your's is version 3.91.7.0 while maurer's is 3.91.23.0, and I'm positive that this is the reason for your wireless problems.

The date string is inserted by the compiler at compile time and the developer has unfortunately used Chinese setting on his computer so the day and the month are from a Chinese character set, hence the strange display of the date string.

_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already
0sAND1s
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jan 2010
Posts: 26
Location: Bucharest, Romania

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 19:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
OK, great!
Should I dare to write that version on my router?
I can disassemble it and maybe see what's different.

Thanks.

_________________
ASUS WL500g Premium V1, CFE 3.91.7.0;
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/12/10) mega (SVN revision 14929); Optware, the right way
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7213

PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 9:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
0sAND1s wrote:
OK, great!
Should I dare to write that version on my router?


Yes, if you know what you are doing then it should be risk free to update.
No jtag on this router afaik so it will be difficult to unbrick if you do something wrong.

_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already
0sAND1s
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jan 2010
Posts: 26
Location: Bucharest, Romania

PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 10:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
OK, let me have it!
Please send me the newer CFE, i'll have a try.
Where can I find instructions for updating the CFE?

Thanks.

_________________
ASUS WL500g Premium V1, CFE 3.91.7.0;
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/12/10) mega (SVN revision 14929); Optware, the right way
0sAND1s
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jan 2010
Posts: 26
Location: Bucharest, Romania

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 9:31    Post subject: It's alive! Reply with quote
I successfully upgraded the bootloader and DD-WRT to build 14311 K26. Wireless worked much better, at first, but...i don't know if it's related...later started to have problems, I cannot connect anymore using wireless, tested with 2 clients, I see the network on the client, I see the client MAC on the router trying to connect, but it doesn't connect. dmesg keeps saying:

Code:

br0: topology change detected, propagating
br0: port 1(vlan0) entering forwarding state
device vlan0 left promiscuous mode
br0: port 1(vlan0) entering disabled state
device vlan0 entered promiscuous mode
br0: port 1(vlan0) entering learning state
device br0 left promiscuous mode
device br0 entered promiscuous mode
device br0 left promiscuous mode
device br0 entered promiscuous mode
device vlan1 entered promiscuous mode
device vlan1 left promiscuous mode
br0: topology change detected, propagating
br0: port 1(vlan0) entering forwarding state


Edit...
It seems that the wireless works OK only until the first reset. After that I get strange behavior, unencrypted connection is not even detected, the encrypted one is detected, but the clients cannot connect.

Edit2...
The problem is that eth1 is excluded from lan_ifnames nvram variable at each reboot.

Thanks.

_________________
ASUS WL500g Premium V1, CFE 3.91.7.0;
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/12/10) mega (SVN revision 14929); Optware, the right way


Last edited by 0sAND1s on Wed Jun 02, 2010 10:32; edited 1 time in total
devros
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jun 2006
Posts: 49
Location: Boston, USA

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 23:19    Post subject: CFE for 350N and 600N Reply with quote
Are there working CFE's for 350n or 600n(v1.1) that will allow for k26 builds to run?

thanks,

-dev
gogydm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Dec 2009
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 1:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
I decided to upgrade my WRT160n v1.1 to k2.6 with 13527 and it worked perfectly, but when I upgraded to 14471 it became bricked and I had to serial flash it back to life. Was anything that had to do with the kernel version changed? K2.4 with newd 2 also works with any firmware version.

Last edited by gogydm on Thu Jun 03, 2010 5:11; edited 2 times in total
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2430
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 1:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
gogydm wrote:
I decided to upgrade my WRT160n v1 to k2.6 with 13527 and it worked perfectly, but when I upgraded to 14471 it became bricked and I had to serial flash it back to life. Was anything that had to do with the kernel version changed? K2.4 with newd 2 also works with any version.
AFAIK this is a K2.6 only device.
_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
gogydm
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Dec 2009
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dark_Shadow wrote:
gogydm wrote:
I decided to upgrade my WRT160n v1 to k2.6 with 13527 and it worked perfectly, but when I upgraded to 14471 it became bricked and I had to serial flash it back to life. Was anything that had to do with the kernel version changed? K2.4 with newd 2 also works with any version.
AFAIK this is a K2.6 only device.


Nope, the v3 is a k2.6 only device, and the 160n I tested was actually a v1.1, sorry about that.
osyrixx
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jun 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 10:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Linking myself to this discussion...
I`ve got an Asus WL500Gp V1. Flashed brains K26 (dd-wrt.v24-14537_NEWD-2_K2.6_big) onto it. Because of samba3 and ntfs-3g I need this damn kernel upgrade Wink.
After flashing everything works except the wireless lan connection. DD-WRT reports radio is on. Checked the settings over and over againg but I couldn`t find a solution why my other devices can`t find the access point.
Same issue as 0sAND1s: wl:ver ->wl driver adapter not found
My CFE is 3.91.7.0 (the old one). I followed your discussion and think thats the point.

0sAND1s can you supply me with the new CFE (and maybe with informations how to upgrade it?). Thanks.
Have you found a solution for the wlan instability after reset. wanna try myself and see if my 500g is acting different than yours.

I hope my english is not that bad that you havn`t understand my issues Smile
0sAND1s
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jan 2010
Posts: 26
Location: Bucharest, Romania

PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 9:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry for the late reply.
My problem with the wireless connection is that eth1 (the wireless one) is excluded from lan_ifnames nvram variable at each reboot. I don't know what's causing that, but I've seen some modifications in the later builds that affect lan_ifnames variable. I will flash the last build and try again.
For K2.6, the correct command for wl is "wl -i eth1 ver", so that's not an issue.
You can manually set the correct configuration after each reboot using the VLANS tab, the wireless combo box, should be set to LAN instead of None.
I will PM you the CFE. The instructions to update it are here: http://dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/CFE_backup .

Edit1:
With the latest BS build 14594, the problem still persists...eth1 is removed from lan_ifnames.

_________________
ASUS WL500g Premium V1, CFE 3.91.7.0;
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/12/10) mega (SVN revision 14929); Optware, the right way
showgun
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 May 2008
Posts: 21
Location: BC. Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 15:39    Post subject: Is there a CFE update for the WRT54GL Reply with quote
I s there a cfe update for the WRT54GL that will work with the K26 build?
if where can I get it?
Thanks

_________________
Rick
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 15, 16, 17 ... 19, 20, 21  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 16 of 21
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum