Netgear 3500 v2 died after firmware upgrade

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
freesman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Mar 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 22:29    Post subject: Netgear 3500 v2 died after firmware upgrade Reply with quote
My router WNR3500 v2 died after firmware upgrade. New firmware: dd-wrt.v24_std_generic.bin(13972), old was: dd-wrt.v24-13309_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini.bin. I have upgraded via web gui, and when upgrading it says upgrade successfull, but after i cant access web gui not ping. Hard reset and 30/30/30 not solved my problem. Any suggestion?
Sponsor
compgeek
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Mar 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 18:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Same happened to me last night. Same circumstances and versions. Router Bricked? Solid amber power light and cannot make a successful tftp connection.
I see in the router database is reverted back to build: 13309 for a WNR3500 v2.

??????????

Can anyone explain?
kosskossy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 May 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 5:13    Post subject: New WNR3500 V2 solid orange light Reply with quote
I think I just bricked my router too
What a waste of money Sad
It said that the upgrade was successful but it just got stuck on that page and when I tried to power cycle, it's always stuck on that solid orange light no matter how many hard resets I do (30/30/30)

Have you guys found a solution for this problem?

If so, please share

Thanks
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7047

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 6:06    Post subject: Re: New WNR3500 V2 solid orange light Reply with quote
kosskossy wrote:


Have you guys found a solution for this problem?

If so, please share

Thanks


The solution for the 2 previous posters is that they should read the instructions for loading dd-wrt onto their routers before doing it...

What dd-wrt build file did you flash to your router?
kosskossy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 May 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 14:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
I flashed my WNR3500 V2 with dd-wrt.v24-13309_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-WNR3500v2.chk

It all went very well.. I did a hard reset and there were no problem... a month later I wanted to try Tomato on the router and see what the difference is. I did my research, I read, printed material and read some more and then I picked a firmware version that was 3.57MB which is less than the 4MB, available for flashing the router. It didn't go sooo well, it gave me a message that it upgraded successful but then it got stuck on the solid orange light no matter what I did next.

I have been trying to ping the router at 192.168.1.1 but no hope there until I did a hard reset and I saw 3 responses to my ping and then it goes back to operation timeout.

I should have just left it alone with DD-WRT running but you know us tinkerers, curiosity is damn $itch
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7047

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 15:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, so Tomato bricked it.
I wasn't even aware that there are Tomato builds for the new Broadcom cpu's but obviously there is since you checked.

You need a serial connection now to the internal serial port of the router.
A serial connection through a level converter since normal serial comm is 12V while the router has 3.3V TTL serial. You can also use a USB -> 3.3V TTL converter, get a Nokia DKU-5 cable or CA-42 cable from ebay (4-5$) and cut the phone connector. Connect 3 or 4 wires (depending on type of cable) to the solder pads of the routers serial port and use a terminal program on your pc to break into the bootloader. You can then erase the nvram and start a tftp transfer of a fresh dd-wrt binary.
kosskossy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 May 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 16:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here is how I solved my problem and I hope it benefits someone... I didn't have to buy a serial cable

Every time I sent the firmware.chk [this is the original firmware that you download from netgear website] via tftp (tftp -i 192.168.1.1 PUT firmware.chk) I get a blinking green light.. I honestly didn't know what that meant but I learnt that while the green light is blinking, I can ping the router at 192.168.1.1 and get 100% return (Make sure you set up you PC with a static ip address such as 192.168.1.48 and the gateway as 192.168.1.1)..

So I sent firmware.chk as soon as the router booted (of course while shorting the two pins shown in the picture using a screwdriver, the router light started blinking green and I got the message saying "transfer successful"... 5 seconds later, I RE-sent the same exact firmware.chk via tftp and this time I got a blinking orange/amber light (DON'T Short the 2 pins at this time). It took less than 5 minutes and the router was restored to its original status (solid green light, blue light (wireless), and orange light for the connected LAN port).

I managed to brick my router 4 other times after that, and every time I de-bricked it by transferring firmware.chk TWICE right after plugging the power back in.

I could never upload tomato firmware on WNR3500 v2. You can easily install DD-WRT latest build (4-26-2010) no issues at all, but every time I tried to put tomato firmware, I bricked my router no matter which tomato build I used.

If anyone knows how to put tomato on WNR3500 V2, please post. I'd love to try it



GetAttachment.jpg
 Description:
http://www.myopenrouter.com/article/13859/How-To-Debrick-Your-NETGEAR-WNR3500L-Using-A-USB-TTL-Cable-on-Windows/?page=2#3446
 Filesize:  48.12 KB
 Viewed:  32601 Time(s)

GetAttachment.jpg



GetAttachment.jpg
 Description:
tftp -i 192.168.1.1 PUT firmware.chk
 Filesize:  48.12 KB
 Viewed:  32601 Time(s)

GetAttachment.jpg


ttim
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Nov 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 22:04    Post subject: How to Re-cover My WNR3500L to Manufacture Default Reply with quote
Thanks a lot Kosskossy. You are very good.
I have learned [b]how to re-cover my router WNR3500L to Netgear manufacture default[/b] from your post. Here how I resolved the issue using my MS Windows 7.
1. I used T6 drive to open the router cover.
2. I plugged in the power, and I put the switch on; I wait all lights flash (about 10-15 seconds when turned on power). I used my T6 drive (or screw driver for you) to short pins 15 and 16 (as your pictures);
3. I turned off the router, and removed T6 drive;
4. Set IP address for my computer: 192.168.1.10/24, default gateway: 192.168.1.1(like you did);
5. Plug-in RJ45 to the router and my computer, and turned on the router.
6. I inserted the Netgear DVD (software and documents) that came with the router into my computer DVD drive.
7. About one minute or two, the DVD menu showed up. I chose recover the router from the menu.
8. Now, I just followed up Netgear wizard GUI.
9. While it was running, I went to my kitchen for a couple of coffee about five or seven minutes. I got my router successfully re-covered to manufacture default.
10. Closed my router cover; and it is operational now. Very Happy Very Happy

By the way, How did you know these two pins 15-16 can short?
kosskossy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 May 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 22:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well done mate

So, which firmware were you trying to install when you bricked your router?. I am kinna happy with the stock firmware at this point but would like to at least see what tomato firmware looks like Question

I am glad you managed to resurrect your router without having to mess with command line. Believe it or not, I could never put the router cover back without breaking the plastic pins on the side!!!!
So, I just attached the side panel using only the screws on the bottom.

Here is the original forum where I learnt about these 2 pins. http://www.myopenrouter.com/article/13859/How-To-Debrick-Your-NETGEAR-WNR3500L-Using-A-USB-TTL-Cable-on-Windows/?page=2 The picture has been taken down since then!!!
ttim
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Nov 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:01    Post subject: Kong firmware has no problem Reply with quote
I tried to upgrade Kong version dd-wrt-usb-ftp-samba3-vpn-O2-v24-K26-broadcom-3.bin
[url]http://www.myopenrouter.com/download/22510/DD-WRT- Kong-Mod-USB-FTP-SAMBA3-OpenVPN-Proxy/[/url]However, this firmware is fine. I lost power during upgrading. That was why I got problems with my router.
dreganxix
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jan 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 22:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
For those with netgear wnr2000 v2, interested in tomato, theres is Victek mod works great. http://cdn.redeszone.net/down/firm/tomato_raf/Tomato_RAF-K26-1.28.8706_MIPSR2_Mini.zip

first install dd-wrt then victeks tomato
kt_haddock
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Dec 2009
Posts: 625

PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 14:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Kong's FW ONLY support WNR3500L thats why you brick it.
Debrick it with this:
http://www.myopenrouter.com/article/13859/How-To-Debrick-Your-NETGEAR-WNR3500L-Using-A-USB-TTL-Cable-on-Windows/

_________________
[I prefer answere in whole sentence]
chetansha
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jul 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 15:15    Post subject: WNR3500L bricked Reply with quote
I am having problems with my router, the green light keeps flashing.
I have tried 30, 30/30/30 reset, same result. I tried to short the pins, light keeps flashing. I am able to get the ping reply.
Can any one guide me to de brick it ?



20120624_093203.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  582.7 KB
 Viewed:  19284 Time(s)

20120624_093203.jpg


chetansha
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jul 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2012 15:57    Post subject: Working Again Reply with quote
I was at my wits end and ready to do anything, till i found this
http://zipleen.blogspot.in/search/label/debrick
I used the firmware mentioned there http://www.dd-wrt.com/routerdb/de/download/Netgear/WNR3500L/-/dd-wrt.v24-14311_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-WNR3500L.chk/3467
and magically the green flashing light turned amber, and then every thing is back to normal now.

All this started with trying to reflash dd-wrt to default Netgear firmware, as I wanted to try tomato firmware.
lojden
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Nov 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 10:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hmm, i do not have those pins on my 3500L V2..


Capture_00168.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  3.88 MB
 Viewed:  8527 Time(s)

Capture_00168.JPG


Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum