dhcp problem- will not reserve IP, assigns wrong IP

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
monger
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 May 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 8:01    Post subject: dhcp problem- will not reserve IP, assigns wrong IP Reply with quote
I just flashed to micro on a wrg54 that my sister gave me. She was having frequent dropouts and so I decided to try ddwrt. I dont know if she was having this exact problem, but I have it set to dhcp, and I expect to have the 1st IP address assigned as 192.168.1.100, but it keeps getting set to 192.168.1.140. I tried to assign this pc to a static IP and it completely ignores the IP I assign. Is this some kinda bug with the micro, or is it just me? Anybody else have similar probs? Thanks for the help.
Sponsor
oxygenx
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Posts: 566

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 8:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
the dhcp server will first try to assign the ip the client asks for, if the client used to get the .140 it will request this ip and the server will assign it. there is nothing wrong about that. second thing is, dnsmasq usually dont give out consecutive ips, but calculate it based on the mac address, so its normal that .100 is not assign.
ESKIMOn00b
DD-WRT User


Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 8:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
is the ip your assigning the computer out of the DHCP range? if not then the DHCP serv may override the static ip, also have you tried Static leases from the router its self?

the previous statement about DNSmasq changing up ip's based on MAC is also true, as long as you can put 2 or 3 computers on the router and they all recieve different ip's within the DHCP range, everything is skippy, contigious ip's are not nessicary, and if you'd like it to function that way try disabling DNSmasq, just realize that its probably enabled to save space

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/DNSMasq_as_DHCP_server
ReadtheAnnouncements!
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 Mar 2010
Posts: 1362

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 12:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
See my sig about important information to post and correct processes to follow. Failing to follow them can lead to problems.
_________________
If I've said it once, I've must have said it a thousand times! READ the announcements at the start of the broadcom forum!
THESE:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=54889
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=54845
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=52043
(We'll wait....!) Wink
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12855
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 12:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you uncheck "Use DNSMasq for DHCP", it will use uDHCPd deamon and will then assign dhcp client ip's sequentially.
_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
ESKIMOn00b
DD-WRT User


Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 12:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
will that cause memory issues on these neutered routers? heard that DNSmasq is enabled by default to save space

im just assuming that this guy's not dumb and didnt flash micro to a non neutered router...
monger
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 May 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 16:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for all the answers so far.

Just to clarify:
I've got wrt54g v8.2, which is the reason that I chose the micro. Yes I did read all the stickys, the FAQs, peacock, and I chose the v24_micro_generic because as far as I could find it was the latest and most stable for my router. In fact I hit a few snags in the process of flashing, but I was able to recover with TFTP, and now almost every aspect of the router is working well except for this dhcp thing. I may have missed it and if I did can anyone point me to the best micro build to use? Again, thanks for all the help.
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12855
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 16:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
ESKIMOn00b wrote:
will that cause memory issues on these neutered routers? heard that DNSmasq is enabled by default to save space


I have a V5 running in a small office environment with 8~10 dhcp clients mixed wired & wireless and no problems using uDHCPd.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
ReadtheAnnouncements!
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 Mar 2010
Posts: 1362

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 16:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Peacock announcement, notes 3 and 7.....
_________________
If I've said it once, I've must have said it a thousand times! READ the announcements at the start of the broadcom forum!
THESE:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=54889
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=54845
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=52043
(We'll wait....!) Wink
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 12855
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 17:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
ReadtheAnnouncements! wrote:
Peacock announcement, notes 3 and 7.....


I think #1 will fix it assuming #3 isn't the problem Wink

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
monger
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 May 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 17:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for all the tips and comments, especially to barryware who suggested to uncheck "Use DNSMasq for DHCP." That seems to have done the trick! Very Happy
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum