{NOW SUPPORTED} - Hardware Request (NETGEAR WNR2000 v2)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 18, 19, 20  Next
Author Message
darth_tater
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2010 5:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Also, i have one other question...

the router is equipped with

Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet Controller 5.10.56.28

which means it can do gigabit Ethernet, no?

Is it just as simple as a software thing or is there a hardware limitation on the board?
Sponsor
Orbiting234
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Feb 2010
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2010 6:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
darth_tater wrote:
Also, i have one other question...

the router is equipped with

Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet Controller 5.10.56.28

which means it can do gigabit Ethernet, no?

Is it just as simple as a software thing or is there a hardware limitation on the board?


Dear GOD no!!!!!!!

Your very own pics answer this question. A BCM5325E 10/100 switch chip is physically incapable of running gigabit. Period. Just because this router (like all) uses universal Broadcom driver within the firmware does not change the capabilities of the ethernet switch chip on the PCB one bit. Think!

(probably sounds overly harsh but it wasnt my intent)
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7078

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2010 7:17    Post subject: Re: Wow! Reply with quote
darth_tater wrote:
ok. you don't even want to know how hard i tried to get that image.

i tired everything i could think of.

Oh well, Eko. check your PM inbox.

Image and a serial log of the damn thing booting up are attached.

And thanks =D


Good job, darth_tater !!
Can you pls pm me the image as well, I collect bootloaders. It's like a hobby for me..

_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already
darth_tater
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2010 15:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Orbiting234 wrote:
darth_tater wrote:
Also, i have one other question...

the router is equipped with

Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet Controller 5.10.56.28

which means it can do gigabit Ethernet, no?

Is it just as simple as a software thing or is there a hardware limitation on the board?


Dear GOD no!!!!!!!

Your very own pics answer this question. A BCM5325E 10/100 switch chip is physically incapable of running gigabit. Period. Just because this router (like all) uses universal Broadcom driver within the firmware does not change the capabilities of the ethernet switch chip on the PCB one bit. Think!

(probably sounds overly harsh but it wasnt my intent)


Thats why i asked. i was kinda confused about why the software was saying one thing, but the hardware another.


---

and yes, LOM, check your inbox.
darth_tater
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 7:08    Post subject: {it works!} NETGEAR WNR2000 v2 IS NOW SUPPORTED :D Reply with quote
Yes, that's right friends. Many thanks to Eko, LOM, ReadtheAnnouncements!

This router now works :D


Its got a few cosmetic things (lan/wlan led's not the proper color, power led lights...sometimes)

but all the core functionality is there.

----

I'll let Eko publish links to the files needed to get this guy up and running or if he says its OK, you can PM me for the files.
darth_tater
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 8:25    Post subject: LINKS Reply with quote
http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/other-downloads?path=others%2Feko%2FV24-K26%2Fsvn14536%2F

Go there. get the CHK file and use the stock firmware's web interface to flash this.

welcome to ddwrt Smile
darth_tater
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
for those interested, here is the router for $20. and free shipping.


http://www.newegg.com/Special/ShellShocker.aspx?cm_sp=ShellShocker-_-33-122-275-_-06022010
backslash
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 11:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
is everthing working or just the core components?
darth_tater
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 16:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
everything.


Except lan LEDs 1 and 2 will be orange with a 100 mb connection instead of green. ports 3 and 4 will be green with a 100 mb connection.
HerbCSO
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jun 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry if this is a daft question, but once you install the mini image with the .chk file, can the big one then be installed? I'm kind of assuming yes, since it should have plenty of RAM (32 MB)...?
Gingernut
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Jul 2007
Posts: 221

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 17:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Does anybody know how to get it into recovery mode?
Orbiting234
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Feb 2010
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 17:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
HerbCSO wrote:
Sorry if this is a daft question, but once you install the mini image with the .chk file, can the big one then be installed? I'm kind of assuming yes, since it should have plenty of RAM (32 MB)...?


You assume WRONG. RAM has nothing to do with what DD-WRT version you can run. Flash memory is everything. You can't fit an 8MB DD-WRT "big" fw onto a device that only has a 4MB flash memory chip no matter how much RAM it has.
HerbCSO
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Jun 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 17:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Duh, I stand corrected, thank you Orbiting234! ;]

So, that being said, could somebody please clarify for me which of the file versions the build that darth_tater supplied corresponds to? I'm trying to figure out the feature set I would have access to so as to decide whether the buy it refurb on buy.com for $25... ;]

Thanks!
darth_tater
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 17:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
any of the file version i uploaded will work.

you must start with the chk file.

from there, you can flash any image designed for routers with 4mb of flash memory.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7078

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 18:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
darth_tater wrote:


from there, you can flash any image designed for routers with 4mb of flash memory.


No, see peacock thread paragraph 6 (if memory serves me).
Netgear routers with their board_data partition in flash has slightly lower size limit than normal 4MB flash routers.
Be careful not to use a too big sized build or you will overwrite your board_data and is then in for a long session of manual programming (see Dark_Shadow's thread about his WNDR3300 a week ago)

_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 18, 19, 20  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 3 of 20
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum