Rosewill RNX-Easy4N

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
ermax
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Dec 2008
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
I sucsesfully flashed my RNX-EasyN4 this weekend using this cable:
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2177609

It cost almost as much as the router but I have been needing a USB TTL cable for some time and I wanted to get it locally (didn't want to wait).

Anyways, I am unable to connect any higher then 54Mb using my Intel 5100. If I set the wireless mode to N-only my laptop will not connect at all. I need to try with another laptop.
Sponsor
elizle
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 May 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 13:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have the same card, you have to use AES encryption TKIP won't connect faster than 54Mbps.
ermax
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Dec 2008
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 13:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
elizle wrote:
I have the same card, you have to use AES encryption TKIP won't connect faster than 54Mbps.


I just read the same thing somewhere else. I made the change but I am away from the house right now so I can't test. I will report back later.

Thanks for the response.
elizle
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 May 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 14:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just figured that I would update you on the status of the video I made. I have it edited but I just need to either narrate it or add text to it.

I also got some antennas and pigtails in the mail this week an had a little fun with my soldering iron.
EricGus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 May 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 17:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
As luck would have it my colors are black, yellow and green. Suggestions on how to test which is which or do I need to open up the usb end of my ca-42 to see where they're soldered and hope they're labeled..

elizle wrote:
The video will show it, but the colors on mine were red, blue, and orange.

Blue was rx
Red was tx
Orange was ground
DoesItMatter
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 May 2008
Posts: 1373
Location: Pacific North West, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 19:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
You don't have to open up the USB end

You can do this:

Get a voltmeter and put it on the 20volt range

Strip the ends of the wires, and test 2 wires at a time

One of those has to be the GND wire

TX/RX - if you reverse them, you'll see garbage, just switch them back.

If you choose 2 wires, and you get a reading of 3.3volts,
that means 1 is ground and 1 is RX or TX

The wire that is using your black (ground) probe from the
volt meter is gonna be your GND signal.

TX & RX is trial/error.

_________________
Evil or Very Mad Soylent Green Is People ! Evil or Very Mad
Twisted Evil =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-= Twisted Evil
2x Asus RT-N16 - Asuswrt-Merlin 3.0.0.4.376.47
Belkin F7D3302 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
Linksys E3000 - Toastman Tomato USB VPN 1.28.7505
-------------------------
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 - OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 42830 / Gargoyle 1.6.2
TP-Link WR1043ND V1.8 - OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 42830
2x Engenius ESR900 - Stock Firmware 1.3.0 / OpenWRT Chaos Calmer 42830
EricGus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 May 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 17:32    Post subject: flashing - timeout Reply with quote
I keep receiving a timeout, retry when attempting to flash. I got in (via pressing 2), specified ip's (192.168.99.*), and my putty screen kept displaying T. When it hit about 10 of them it put up the errmsg and retried. Solarwinds tftp never showed anything onscreen except for when I started/stopped the server.

win7x64. firewall/antivirus/etc all turned off. all apps started with admin rights.
ca-42 cable with prolific drivers.

suggestions?
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7216

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 18:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is the tftp server setup for sending files?
Do you see the 192.168.99.xxx address in Solarwinds binding list?

_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already
EricGus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 May 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 13:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
Is the tftp server setup for sending files?
Do you see the 192.168.99.xxx address in Solarwinds binding list?


yup. when I added the ip, it added as 99.x/32.

My easyN4 was at factory firmware 1.02 so after the failure with the tftp server, I reset my ip's & router, logged into the web interface and just for the heck of it updated to 1.06 (successfully). Then I went thru the whole attempt again at dd-wrt with the same timeouts. I even switched over to my laptop under vista32 and tried.

Set to 192.168.99.2 /255.255.255.0 & verified bound in tfpt. options were to bind to all addresses in list (only 1) and under security tab the default of send and receive files, & Allow all IP addresses to send/receive files.

Nothing ever shows in the tftp server window other than starting/stopping the server...is there typically more info when the router connects? The statusline properly said the dir of my firmware.bin, the binding ip, and status: Started.

Putty Log:
Code:
U-Boot 1.1.3 (Oct 18 2008 - 15:52:12)

Board: Ralink APSoC DRAM:  32 MB
relocate_code Pointer at: 81fa8000

 Set info->start[0]=BFC00000
flash_protect ON: from 0xBFC00000 to 0xBFC24D37
protect on 0
protect on 1
protect on 2
flash_protect ON: from 0xBFC30000 to 0xBFC3FFFF
protect on 3
============================================
Ralink UBoot Version: 3.1
--------------------------------------------
ASIC 3052_MP1 (MAC to GigaMAC Mode)
Product Name: ESR-9752
DRAM COMPONENT: 256Mbits
DRAM BUS: 16BIT
Total memory: 32 MBytes
Flash: 4 MBytes
Date:Oct 18 2008  Time:15:52:12
============================================
icache: sets:256, ways:4, linesz:32 ,total:32768
dcache: sets:128, ways:4, linesz:32 ,total:16384

 ##### The CPU freq = 384 MHZ ####

SDRAM bus set to 16 bit
 SDRAM size =32 Mbytes
 SDRAM CAS = 3

Please choose the operation:
   1: Load system code to SDRAM via TFTP.
   2: Load system code then write to Flash via TFTP.
   3: Boot system code via Flash (default).
   4: Entr boot command line interface.
   9: Load Boot Loader code then write to Flash via TFTP.

You choosed 2
                                                                              0
Net:
 eth_register
Eth0 (10/100-M)
 enetvar=ethaddr,Eth addr:00:AA:BB:CC:DD:18
 00:AA:BB:CC:DD:18:

 eth_current->name = Eth0 (10/100-M)


2: System Load Linux Kernel then write to Flash via TFTP.
 Warning!! Erase Linux in Flash then burn new one. Are you sure?(Y/N)
 Please Input new ones /or Ctrl-C to discard
        Input device IP (192.168.99.9) ==:

        Input server IP (192.168.99.8) ==:192.168.99.2
        Input Linux Kernel filename (uImageESR-9752-rosewill) ==:firmware.bin

 netboot_common, argc= 3
 *************buf = 0x81fccea0
 **********NexTxPacket = 81fe4f40

 NetTxPacket = 0x81FE4F40
 NetRxPackets[0] = 0x81FE5540
 NetRxPackets[1] = 0x81FE5B40
 NetRxPackets[2] = 0x81FE6140
 NetRxPackets[3] = 0x81FE6740
 NetRxPackets[4] = 0x81FE6D40
 NetRxPackets[5] = 0x81FE7340
 NetRxPackets[6] = 0x81FE7940
 NetRxPackets[7] = 0x81FE7F40
 NetRxPackets[8] = 0x81FE8540
 NetRxPackets[9] = 0x81FE8B40
 NetRxPackets[10] = 0x81FE9140
 NetRxPackets[11] = 0x81FE9740
 NetRxPackets[12] = 0x81FE9D40
 NetRxPackets[13] = 0x81FEA340
 NetRxPackets[14] = 0x81FEA940
 NetRxPackets[15] = 0x81FEAF40
 NetRxPackets[16] = 0x81FEB540
 NetRxPackets[17] = 0x81FEBB40
 NetRxPackets[18] = 0x81FEC140
 NetRxPackets[19] = 0x81FEC740

 KSEG1ADDR(NetTxPacket) = 0xA1FE4F40

 NetLoop,call eth_halt !

 NetLoop,call eth_init !
Trying Eth0 (10/100-M)

 Waitting for RX_DMA_BUSY status Start... done

 Mac to giga Mac mode

 rx_ring = A1FCD2C0, tx_ring0 = A1FCD180

 Header Payload scatter function is Disable !!

 RT2880_PDMA_GLO_CFG=00000020

 *************************************************

 RX_CALC_IDX0=19

 RX_DRX_IDX0 = 0

 *************************************************

 ETH_STATE_ACTIVE!!
Using Eth0 (10/100-M) device
TFTP from server 192.168.99.2; our IP address is 192.168.99.9
Filename 'firmware.bin'.

 TIMEOUT_COUNT=10,Load address: 0x80100000
Loading: Got ARP REPLY, set server/gtwy eth addr (00:13:d4:d1:b5:34)
Got it
T T T T T T T
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7216

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 14:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
The file firmware.bin is present in the folder that is specified in Solarwinds setup as TFTP_Root ?

You could try another simpler tftp server where you have to specify the file to send instead of relying on the request from the routers client.

tftp.exe or tftp2.exe are available somewhere in the dd-wrt download section and there should be links to them in the dd-wrt wiki.

_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already
netmind
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Jul 03, 2010 19:51    Post subject: how to video Reply with quote
Quote:
I just figured that I would update you on the status of the video I made. I have it edited but I just need to either narrate it or add text to it.


How are you making out on your video?
elizle
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 May 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 14:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
The video is up, but it isn't done processing yet.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GeDcAyBVYC8
EricGus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 May 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 16:37    Post subject: CA42 cable color coding Reply with quote
The following thread has a lot of good info on the numerous CA42 clones. 6 wire, 4 wire, 3 wire, different colors, drivers, etc.

http://www.overclock.net/hard-drives-storage/457286-seagate-bricked-firmware-drive-fix-pics-5.html
netmind
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Jul 2009
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2010 0:54    Post subject: Successful Flash Reply with quote
I'm happy to report that I was finally able to flash my rnx-easyn4. Yay!

Big thanks to bsanborn, mshneour, elizle, and ericgus for their help and answering noob questions. Especially to mshneour and elizle for the very detailed write up and video. Couldn't have done it without that.

I pretty much followed the steps / tutorial verbatim. The only things I have to add that might be of some help to others is:

Cable:
My first cable ended up being one of those ones made in thailand with 5 wires underneath instead of 3. I ended up tearing that one apart and breaking it while trying to figure out which wires were tx,rx,gnd. I had to order another one from eBay but this time specifically asked the seller first if the cable was made in China and had 3 wires. Read the link the Ericgus posted for more info on the cables (very helpful).

Highly recommend that you do this - not all will be able to answer you, but you'll find one. I bought this one from yallstock. The seller was very quick to respond to my questions so I recommend him.

http://cgi.ebay.ca/New-CA-42-CA-42-USB-DATA-CABLE-NOKIA-6100-6101-6103-/230444644812?pt=PDA_Accessories#ht_2109wt_960

As a bonus, the cable had wires which matched the colors noted by another posting from Erigus' overclock.net link, so I didn't even need to figure out which wires were which:

BLUE wire -- GND
GREEN Wire -- RX
WHITE wire --TX

The cable didn't come with drivers and the vista/win7 PL2303 drivers on Prolifics site didn't work with it. However I found a posting on page 6 of the overclock.net thread where someone had posted some slightly older version of the PL2303 drivers that did work. Apparently the v3.2 drivers work but not the current v3.3.11.152. That was a life saver as the older drivers don't seem to be available on the Prolific site anymore.

I did have to order a soldering iron & solder as well since I didn't have any of this. But that was cheap, both were 3 - 4 bucks off of eBay.

The entire process is fairly simple once you read the tutorial and watch the video. Very doable for someone who has never done a serial flash and didn't even own any of the equipment.

Now I just have to play with this thing. I managed to get it up and running as a Repeater Bridge but don't see a Client Bridge option?? I'm using build 14896. Any know if this is available?
PatrickH
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jun 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2010 4:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you for your guide mshneour.

I installed DD-WRT on mine without any problems. The cable I used was a USB-TTL-5V. I figured it would work fine since the 5V isn't used... and it did. =)

Now the router work, currently using it! There's only one problem, the activity lights for the 4 lan ports seems to be dead. Am I the only one with that weird bug?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 4 of 6
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum