TP-Link WR741ND Firmware.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Author Message
chest3r
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jun 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 20:41    Post subject: TP-Link WR741ND Firmware. Reply with quote
According to FCC-ID the TP-Link WR741ND has an Atheros Chipset, im unsure about the flashmem size - but a compatible Firmware for this Cheap Wlan router would be very nice.
Sponsor
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7161

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 4:08    Post subject: Re: TP-Link WR741ND Firmware. Reply with quote
chest3r wrote:
According to FCC-ID the TP-Link WR741ND has an Atheros Chipset, im unsure about the flashmem size - but a compatible Firmware for this Cheap Wlan router would be very nice.


The only thing you can see from the FCC filed photos is that the router has an Atheros AR9285 wifi chip.
That is not info enough to get dd-wrt ported to it.

_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already
hnws
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jun 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 8:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here is sth from openwrt's wiki page.

*
Atheros AR7240 CPU
*
4 MB flash memory
*
32 MB RAM
*
Atheros AR9285 wireless chip

http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/tl-wr741nd
BloKNoD
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 12:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Please do fimmware for this router! Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad
BloKNoD
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jul 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 16:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tell me,u do this firmware for this router???
vr2ng
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Aug 2010
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2010 17:18    Post subject: WR741ND - build 14911 ? Reply with quote
BloKNoD wrote:
Please do fimmware for this router! Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad


in the table http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices

they say firmware support for WR741ND is
v.24 sp2 - build 14911 - 20100810
but I cannot get in from the download page:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-database


Anyone know whereabout?
Burned
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Aug 2010
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2010 17:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/08-12-10-r14929/tplink_tl-wr741ndv1/
Here you go.
*Flash using factory-to-ddwrt!
vr2ng
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Aug 2010
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 6:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Burned wrote:
ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/08-12-10-r14929/tplink_tl-wr741ndv1/
Here you go.
*Flash using factory-to-ddwrt!


Thanks, I have already flash 2 garbages from my drawer to feature-rich DD-WRT
FON+ : telnet backdoor + computer as TFTP server
Belkin F5D7330 : computer as TFTP client

However, there isn't howto for WR541ND
Should I do Web-based upgrade from the TP-LINK original interface, using factory-to-ddwrt.bin?

What is tl-wr741nd-webflash.bin (in the same ftp folder) for?
Burned
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Aug 2010
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 6:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
The second one is if you already have DD-WRT and newer version is released and you want to upgrade to it.
I used web-based flash on my TP-Link and everything's fine.
vr2ng
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Aug 2010
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 9:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Burned wrote:
The second one is if you already have DD-WRT and newer version is released and you want to upgrade to it.
I used web-based flash on my TP-Link and everything's fine.


Thanks Razz , I will try that tonight.
Do you get OpenVPN and/or PPTP with DD-WRT on WR741ND?
Burned
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Aug 2010
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 12:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have WR841ND and I haven't tried these things. Still WR841ND and WR741ND are pretty similar.
vr2ng
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Aug 2010
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 18:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Burned wrote:
I have WR841ND and I haven't tried these things. Still WR841ND and WR741ND are pretty similar.


Thanks

I flashed successfully on version 1.9

for general info to users interested to WR741ND, my router come with a V1.9 label on box. But when I view the factory firmware Web interface, it reveals hardware version 1. I suppose version 1.9 is a firmware vairant only.

The DD-WRT version I am using come with PPTP client and server, no OpenVPN. Also many wireless option include narrow band which I am looking for.

Without running any VPN connection, I got 12M memory free out of 32M. The boot up time is slightly longer than if I am using the factory firmware.

One strange thing that during the bootup process, seems that the router ack as a switch across WAN and LAN ports. As my WR741ND's WAN port is plugged to my old router's LAN port, I found my PC got an IP from the old router's DCHP server, and able to access the internet as if it is connected to my old router directly. This is not a problem for me as my WR741ND will replace my 8 years old router. I won't setup 2 subnets in my tiny home.
XnetPunk
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jun 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 15:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have just also managed to successfully flash the TL-WR741ND.

However has anyone managed to get the Wireless N working? I can only seem to get access to the G band and not the N band? I have set it to N-only, NG-mixed and still find only G is available to access. When set to N-only it doesnt work at all.

Thanks
Burned
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Aug 2010
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Thu Aug 26, 2010 15:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Set Channel Width to Turbo.
no1chan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Aug 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 1:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello everyone. Can anybody tell me the way to restore the factory firmware from using v24 sp2 r14929? I dont kow if it is the problem of the firmware. I always need to restart the router after sometimes otherwise the network seems to be jamed. I always get disconnected from the Internet.
Can I simply using upgrade function and select the firmware from tplink?
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 10
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum