Will dd-wrt support RT-N13U?

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13 ... 57, 58, 59  Next
Author Message
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7647

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 16:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
gouryella wrote:
Just enable USB core support in GUI and connect to RT-N13U by putty and type:
Code:
wget http://www.home.karneval.cz/10102207/fat.ko
wget http://www.home.karneval.cz/10102207/vfat.ko
wget http://www.home.karneval.cz/10102207/nls_iso8859-1.ko
wget http://www.home.karneval.cz/10102207/nls_cp437.ko
wget http://www.home.karneval.cz/10102207/ext2.ko
insmod fat.ko
insmod vfat.ko
insmod nls_iso8859-1.ko
insmod nls_cp437.ko
insmod ext2.ko
echo now try to plug in fat/fat32/ext2 drive

that's all but as i say no ipkg, samba no fun Cool


So what about ext3, isn't that fs already included in the firmware?
Have you tried to format a flash stick or hd to ext3, does dd-wrt mount it?

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
Sponsor
gouryella
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Mar 2010
Posts: 107
Location: Plzeň, CZE

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 17:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:

So what about ext3, isn't that fs already included in the firmware?
Have you tried to format a flash stick or hd to ext3, does dd-wrt mount it?

No, hacked ext3.ko what i have from eko's rt-n16 build cannot be loaded (checked by dmesg, lsmod jbd is fine), need to be compiled from svn ver 2.6.23.17 r14594 (my guess).
I also make some USB write/reade test thru SCP (slow because ssh) 1MB/0.5MB per sec [ext2]
I believe that fw with build in ext3 and ipkg come soon Idea


Last edited by gouryella on Mon Jun 21, 2010 17:59; edited 1 time in total
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7647

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 17:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
hmm.. I thought ext3 was mandatory when compiling a linux kernel since it is linux native file system.

Other routers with USB has always had ext3 as minimum and the user has been forced to install the ntfs-3g driver themselves.
vfat, if memory serves me right, is said to be buggy..

Sure there ain't native support for ext3?

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
gouryella
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Mar 2010
Posts: 107
Location: Plzeň, CZE

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 18:58    Post subject: ext3 Reply with quote
ext3 is hijacked by me now (XVI32 mod of RT-N16 fs drivers)

1) enable USB core support, storage support and auto mount in GUI (S&A)
2) unplug USB drive, reboot
3) connect to RT-N13U by putty and type:
Code:
wget http://www.home.karneval.cz/10102207/jbd.ko
wget http://www.home.karneval.cz/10102207/mbcache.ko
wget http://www.home.karneval.cz/10102207/ext3.ko
insmod jbd.ko
insmod mbcache.ko
insmod ext3.ko

4) plug in ext3 drive, it should be mounted

Wait a minute(hours), now im working on ipkg
dvijen
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 20:51    Post subject: Re: ext3 Reply with quote
gouryella wrote:
ext3 is hijacked by me now (XVI32 mod of RT-N16 fs drivers)

1) enable USB core support, storage support and auto mount in GUI (S&A)
2) unplug USB drive, reboot
3) connect to RT-N13U by putty and type:
Code:
wget http://www.home.karneval.cz/10102207/jbd.ko
wget http://www.home.karneval.cz/10102207/mbcache.ko
wget http://www.home.karneval.cz/10102207/ext3.ko
insmod jbd.ko
insmod mbcache.ko
insmod ext3.ko

4) plug in ext3 drive, it should be mounted

Wait a minute(hours), now im working on ipkg

Thanks
dvijen
gouryella
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Mar 2010
Posts: 107
Location: Plzeň, CZE

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 21:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Im running Optware buts it's too huge for me Very Happy
debaj
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Jun 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 21:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
gouryella wrote:
Im running Optware buts it's too huge for me Very Happy

Hi gouryella,

how exactly did you manage that? I try to install optware, but after the reboot I need to mount my external drive manually (with the commands you provided and with reconnecting the drive), and when I type the "service" command, it says that "No services found", and it seems that optware isn't running at all.

Can You give me some pointers what should I check?

Thanks,
Tamas
gouryella
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Mar 2010
Posts: 107
Location: Plzeň, CZE

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 21:48    Post subject: ext3 addon & optware Reply with quote
Automount ext3 start script (inc FAT/FAT32/NTFS) Idea
The device has just 4MB flash and is almost filled up. ext3 needs 200KB extra storage, driver not present in FW yet [BS].
I wrote smart script that download ext3 drivers and mount 1st partition to /opt during boot (after WAN is up).
You may follow wiki too, but in here they are most actual strokes, but only about fs and Optware basics.
Updated 8. 2. 2011, news:
  • Only one 160KB gziped archive is wgeted from my server
  • Ext3, jbd and mbcache updated to the latest
  • FAT/FAT32 is updated and back
  • Fuse module for read/write from NTFS (do not forget ipkg install ntfs-3g)
  • Optware guide improved
  • Fixed the "problem" with nmbd, it's possible to acces by netbios name
  • Changed some directories for ftp/samba to /opt/share/www
  • Added webserver (busybox httpd as daemon)
  • Added dlq for downloading from free rapidshare
  • Added pxe boot server, memtest image for testing included

  • Edit configuration on first line to get NTFS or FAT/FAT32 support!
  • Use username root, guide is written for!
1) Just paste to Administrations -> Commands and Save Startup
Code:
EXT3="YES"; EXT3P="part1"; NTFS="NO"; NTFSP="part2"; FAT="NO"; FATP="part3"; mkdir /tmp/etc/config
echo "wget http://home.karneval.cz/10102207/fs.gz -P /tmp/root" >> /tmp/etc/config/fs.wanup
echo "tar -xvzf /tmp/root/fs.gz -C /tmp/root" >> /tmp/etc/config/fs.wanup
if [ "$EXT3" == "YES" ]; then echo "sh /tmp/root/ext3" >> /tmp/etc/config/fs.wanup; fi
if [ "$NTFS" == "YES" ]; then echo "insmod /tmp/root/fuse.ko" >> /tmp/etc/config/fs.wanup; fi
if [ "$FAT" == "YES" ]; then echo "sh /tmp/root/fat" >> /tmp/etc/config/fs.wanup; fi
echo "mount /dev/discs/disc0/$EXT3P -o noatime,nodiratime /opt" >> /tmp/etc/config/fs.wanup
echo "/opt/bin/ntfs-3g /dev/discs/disc0/$NTFSP /mnt" >> /tmp/etc/config/fs.wanup
echo "mount /dev/discs/disc0/$FATP /jffs" >> /tmp/etc/config/fs.wanup
echo "rm /tmp/root/*.ko /tmp/root/fs.gz /tmp/root/ext3 /tmp/root/fat" >> /tmp/etc/config/fs.wanup
chmod +x /tmp/etc/config/fs.wanup
echo "nobody:*:65000:65000:nobody:/mnt:/bin/false" >> /etc/passwd
2) Enable Services -> USB
Code:
Core USB Support (recommended but works with disabled with loosing automount)
USB 2.0 Support
USB Storage Support
Automatic Drive Mount
3) Install Optware
Code:
wget http://home.karneval.cz/10102207/optware-install.sh -O - | tr -d '\r' > /tmp/optware-install.sh
sh /tmp/optware-install.sh; ipkg update; ipkg upgrade
wget http://home.karneval.cz/10102207/sort -P /opt/bin; chmod +x /opt/bin/sort
#Gateway is hard set to 192.168.1.1, if u have problem with this replace in optware-install.sh by vi or sed
4) Install xinetd, vsftpd, samba, webserver, pxe boot server, wget, nano, htop, dlq rapget
Code:
ipkg install xinetd htop nano samba2 vsftpd tftp-hpa wget; killall xinetd smbd nmbd
rm /opt/etc/samba/smb.conf /opt/etc/vsftpd.conf /opt/etc/init.d/S80samba /opt/etc/xinetd.d/tftp
wget http://home.karneval.cz/10102207/opt.gz -P /opt; tar -xvzf /opt/opt.gz -C /opt
sh /opt/etc/init.d/S10httpd; sh /opt/etc/init.d/S10xinetd; rm /opt/opt.gz
  • samba: \\192.168.1.1 (net use a: \\192.168.1.1\www to add as hardrive in W7/XP)
  • web: http://192.168.1.1:8080
  • ftp: ftp://192.168.1.1
  • pxe: add: dhcp-boot=pxelinux.0,dd-wrt,192.168.1.1 to Services -> Services -> Additional DNSMasq Options

Samba 2 on some W7 SP1 x64 not work by default and require auth...
run secpol.msc
Control Panel - Administrative Tools - Local Security Policy- Local Policies - Security Options - Network security: LAN Manager authentication level: Send LM & NTLM responses
5) Open to the world (paste to Administrations -> Commands and Save Firewall)
Code:
iptables -t nat -I PREROUTING -p tcp -d $(nvram get wan_ipaddr) --dport 80 -j DNAT --to 192.168.1.1:8080
iptables -t nat -I PREROUTING -p tcp -d $(nvram get wan_ipaddr) --dport 22 -j DNAT --to 192.168.1.1:22
iptables -t nat -I PREROUTING -p tcp -d $(nvram get wan_ipaddr) --dport 21 -j DNAT --to 192.168.1.1:21
iptables -I INPUT -p tcp -d 192.168.1.1 --dport 8080 -j logaccept
iptables -I INPUT -p tcp -d 192.168.1.1 --dport 22 -j logaccept
iptables -I INPUT -p tcp -d 192.168.1.1 --dport 21 -j logaccept

6) Design is what you paid for


Last edited by gouryella on Tue Apr 26, 2011 19:09; edited 129 times in total
debaj
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Jun 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 11:18    Post subject: Re: Startup script Reply with quote
gouryella wrote:

Still working on please do not quote
Idea
Thanks for your efforts.
debaj
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Jun 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 22:06    Post subject: Re: Startup script & Optware Reply with quote
gouryella wrote:

6) Now it's time to little celebration Wink
Sorry for language bugs, regards from czech rep.
Works like charm, thank you.

Btw, your link for the Optware install package doesn't seem working, I used the one from this link: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Optware
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7647

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 3:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Good work goyruella!

I filed a track ticket for ext3 support in the firmware and Brainslayers response was "the device has just 4 mb flash and is almost filled up. ext3 needs 200 kb extra storage".
So you will all have to do it the goyruella way.

There is something to learn from this (see my sig line as well), don't buy a 4MB flash based router if you want to use it for anything else than traditional routing.

Asus themselves had to make the B1 version with 8MB flash when they added hdspa software to their firmware.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
gouryella
DD-WRT User


Joined: 06 Mar 2010
Posts: 107
Location: Plzeň, CZE

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 6:24    Post subject: Re: Startup script & Optware Reply with quote
debaj wrote:

Btw, your link for the Optware install package doesn't seem working, I used the one from this link: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Optware


Fixed, i changed GATEWAY=192.168.1.1 in the script no more...
Code:
wget http://www.home.karneval.cz/10102207/optware-install.sh -O - | tr -d '\r' > /tmp/optware-install.sh
sh /tmp/optware-install.sh

Revision of RT-N13U comming to shops, have 64MB RAM and 8MB flash (3G support in native fw), but better buy is WNR3500L, DIR-825 with Gbit for same price or RT-N16.
For the money wr1043nd is very interesting choice, but i hear there is some problems with N radio.
We want more then 1 device with 128MB RAM Rolling Eyes
tzjwxpre
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Mar 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
ekampreet wrote:
strangely when I installed DD-WRT again , it worked like charm.
thanks guys


strange to me too!! The first time I flashed to dd-wrt is working great~ but when I flash back to asus then flashed dd-wrt again, I could not have internet!!

Thus, the only thing I could do is flash back to asus and got internet! Does anyone have solution for this? I need the dd-wrt back to me..... Crying or Very sad
enduser
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Apr 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 15:32    Post subject: thanks gouryella for bring the usb alive, Reply with quote
That would be nice if the next revision have them out of box, consider internet is a must for gouryella's method to work.
ekampreet
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Mar 2010
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 17:58    Post subject: Re: thanks gouryella for bring the usb alive, Reply with quote
enduser wrote:
That would be nice if the next revision have them out of box, consider internet is a must for gouryella's method to work.


I am wishing the same.

as When I followed the method one time the USB got detected, but not mounting automatically next time :
getting following message
Code:
--- /dev/discs/disc0/disc
Block device, size 964.0 MiB (1010826752 bytes)
DOS/MBR partition map
Partition 1: 964.0 MiB (1010794496 bytes, 1974208 sectors from 63, bootable)
Type 0x0B (Win95 FAT32)
FAT32 file system (hints score 4 of 5)
Volume size 960.0 MiB (1006600192 bytes, 245752 clusters of 4 KiB)
Status: Not mounted


dont knw wht to do , again goin back to ASUS Firmware. Will wait for next release
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13 ... 57, 58, 59  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 12 of 59
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum