WRT160N v3 Access point

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
min0me
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jul 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 12:54    Post subject: WRT160N v3 Access point Reply with quote
Hi,

i have setup an WRT160N v3 as an access point in the office, but for some strange reason, when a laptop and/or any mobile devices, ipods, phones connect to the wireless they all fail to get the dns settings, but they get everything else (dhcp,netmask, gateway).

the only way to solve this atm is to enter a static dns, which is kind of a pain for these netbooks as they usually have xp and dont support several network setups


the dns is the same as the gateway and dhcp server which is a watchgard III running SmoothWall express 3
if you connect though a wired connection, there is no issue, it works 100%
which makes me belive that its only a wireless issue

any help would be much apreshaetd

i have included a copy of my config file


Last edited by min0me on Fri Jul 09, 2010 9:20; edited 2 times in total
Sponsor
nihilo666
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 May 2010
Posts: 384
Location: Surgut, Western Siberia

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 13:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
There is a typo: either you have WRT610N v2 or WRT160N v3
min0me
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jul 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 15:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
yes, it was a typo it is a WRT160n v3
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 0:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Did you follow the WAP guide on the wiki to configure it properly?
_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
min0me
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Jul 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2010 9:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
hi, yes i have, i just cleared everything and started over and i still have the same problem, the clients do not get any dns infomation...


thankx
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum