Routers that will and won't support VLAN

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 17, 18, 19  Next
Author Message
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2430
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 2:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Add

Code:
insmod switch-core
insmod switch-robo


To save startup in the commands tab of the GUI

_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
Sponsor
fggs
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 1716

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2010 17:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Should I update the topic?
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2430
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 3:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
fggs wrote:
Should I update the topic?
If you could gather all the info into the first post i can start a wiki page for it, as I am not able to find one.
_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
fggs
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 1716

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 5:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sure, can you help me gather all the info? I think I will put that WNR3500 v2 as working. I started this but I'm newbie regarding vlans..
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 7:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
The information from this thread is old and there's been a handful of confirmations of working VLAN's on gigabit switches by setting nvram variables as explained on the Switched Ports wiki page.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=464626#464626

_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
fggs
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 1716

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 8:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks phuzi0n, I will update the first post.
fggs
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 1716

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 8:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Okay, information was added, please check and post back.

Thanks for the support
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 8:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Eh, that just made it more confusing. It seems that you just moved over a chunk of models to the supported list without getting any real confirmation for them and there's still some in the unsupported list that probably will work.
_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
fggs
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 1716

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 9:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Like you said on the other thread, vlan is confusing, there's lots of switch chips and I'm still confused about a better way to create a list (router name/model or chipset), but I'm open for suggestions.
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 12:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't know either, otherwise I would have done it myself. I feel like the appropriate place to list VLAN support would be on the supported devices page but it already looks like a mess with its tables overflowing beyond the edge of the background...

I don't think we can really ever rule out the possibility of it being functional and all we can do is provide a general idea of what seems to work backed up with user verification. Getting user verification is the hard part though because first we need a clear understanding of how to configure them in DD-WRT so that they should work.

Speaking of which, when you set up your VLAN trunk, did you set any of your nvram variables to include a "t" to indicate the port should be tagged, such as: nvram set vlan3ports="0 1 2t 3"? In your thread you never mentioned doing so but another user got their trunk to work by doing so, and in several very old threads there's talk about it.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=464504#464504

_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
fggs
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 1716

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 13:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, my router was a GL, so VLAN page was working fine, problem was I was too dumb to configure it, but after a few tries it worked. I can get the values if you want. I'm using WAN as trunk and each port as one subnet.

About the thread, I would feel more confortable if you did, but I decided to start this, don't know why, because you know your stuff and I don't.. like I said, I'm open for suggestions, I can reorganize or whatever..
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 13:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
If you didn't set "t" in the variables directly then I doubt the GUI did but we might as well check. This should cover all the variables needed + some that aren't.

nvram show | grep vlan | sort

_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
fggs
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Jan 2008
Posts: 1716

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 13:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here is:

root@DD-WRT:~# nvram show | grep vlan | sort
size: 24061 bytes (8707 left)
bridgesif=br1>eth1>63 br1>vlan3>63
dtag_vlan8=0
lan_default=vlan0 eth1 eth2 eth3
port0vlans=2 3 4 5 16 18 19
port1vlans=2 18 19
port2vlans=3 18 19
port3vlans=4 18 19
port4vlans=5 18 19
port5vlans=2 3 4 5 16
rc_startup=route add default gw 192.168.75.1 dev vlan5
vlan0_bridged=1
vlan0_mtu=1500
vlan0_multicast=0
vlan0_nat=1
vlan0hwname=et0
vlan0ports=3 2 1 0 5*
vlan1_bridged=1
vlan1_mtu=1500
vlan1_multicast=0
vlan1_nat=1
vlan1hwname=et0
vlan1ports=4 5
vlan2_bridged=1
vlan2_mtu=1500
vlan2_multicast=0
vlan2_nat=1
vlan3_bridged=1
vlan3_mtu=1500
vlan3_multicast=0
vlan3_nat=1
vlan4_bridged=1
vlan4_mtu=1500
vlan4_multicast=0
vlan4_nat=1
vlan5_bridged=0
vlan5_ipaddr=192.168.75.2
vlan5_mtu=1500
vlan5_multicast=0
vlan5_nat=0
vlan5_netmask=255.255.255.0
vlan_tagcount=0
vlan_tags=
vlans=1
wl0_vlan_prio_mode=off
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2430
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 13:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't use vlan's but have routers I am willing to test, I just need to know how to test.
_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2430
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 15:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Started the Wiki page. It's pretty much a copy of te first post.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Routers_that_will_and_won%27t_support_VLAN

_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 17, 18, 19  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 19
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum