D-Link DIR-632

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 27, 28, 29  Next
Author Message
philwire
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Aug 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2010 12:05    Post subject: D-Link DIR-632 Reply with quote
Hi, I bought myself this little guy. It cost under 100$ and offers 8 LAN ports instead of the usual 4.

The FCC number is KA2IR632A1 and the firmware version is 1.01NA. Can it accept dd-wrt? thanks!

http://www.dlink.ca/products/?pid=DIR-632
Sponsor
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17393
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 23, 2010 21:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
do
http://dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-detection

_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
philwire
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Aug 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2010 1:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks,

According to the FCC site, there seems to be some Atheros chips. Does that automatically means it's an Atheros, or is it possible that Atheros made some secondary chips and I saw the completely wrong chip?

https://fjallfoss.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/reports/ViewExhibitReport.cfm?mode=Exhibits&RequestTimeout=500&calledFromFrame=N&application_id=640475&fcc_id=%27KA2IR632A1%27
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17393
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2010 8:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
and the rest?!
_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
philwire
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Aug 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2010 10:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
What do you mean, the rest?!
I tried to find the memory chips but I'm no professional in that field.

But if you refuse to at least have a look on the fcc description of the router then I don't know what else to do to help you helping me. The pictures are there, right?
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17393
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2010 10:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is the device incompatible in general?

There are several wireless and cpu chipsets we do not support (yet). Please check the following list for incompatible chipsets:

* TEXAS INSTRUMENTS
* MARVELL (maybe in future versions)
* Ubicom (no way, there is no Linux support available)
* Realtek

There are some vendors (for instance Realtek) that also do provide ethernet switch chipsets, some of them can be supported. So if you find other chipsets from Broadcom, Atheros or RAlink you might not be lost, yet.

Next check is for the devices flash chip size. Check out the chip (if you found it) at Datasheet Catalog. The following flash chip sizes are required:

* min. 2 MB for Broadcom and ADM5120 based devices
* min. 4 MB for Atheros and RAlink based devices

If the results show that the router could be supported and there is no forum thread regarding the related device you can start a new topic at the forum with the subject "<your device with revision>" and post all the information you did obtain:

* FCC-ID
* hires pictures of internals with CPU, RAM, FLASH, PCB
* maybe RAM/Flash sizes and types and CPU type if known

_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
philwire
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Aug 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Aug 27, 2010 1:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
Is the device incompatible in general?

There are several wireless and cpu chipsets we do not support (yet). Please check the following list for incompatible chipsets:

* TEXAS INSTRUMENTS
* MARVELL (maybe in future versions)
* Ubicom (no way, there is no Linux support available)
* Realtek

Looks like an Atheros to me.
Quote:

There are some vendors (for instance Realtek) that also do provide ethernet switch chipsets, some of them can be supported. So if you find other chipsets from Broadcom, Atheros or RAlink you might not be lost, yet.

Next check is for the devices flash chip size. Check out the chip (if you found it) at Datasheet Catalog. The following flash chip sizes are required:

* min. 2 MB for Broadcom and ADM5120 based devices
* min. 4 MB for Atheros and RAlink based devices

That's what I cannot get to know, I don't know that kind of stuff.
Quote:

If the results show that the router could be supported and there is no forum thread regarding the related device you can start a new topic at the forum with the subject "<your device with revision>" and post all the information you did obtain:

* FCC-ID -check
* hires pictures of internals with CPU, RAM, FLASH, PCB -on FCC pictures, otherwise I don't think I can open up my router without voiding my warranty.
* maybe RAM/Flash sizes and types and CPU type if known -Likely Atheros for the CPU, don't know for the others, since I don't even know what to look for. Good thing these pictures exist on the FCC website.


Thank you for helping me.
Could the memory be those Tonyo FM-268LLP and FM368LLF chips? I just can't find any descriptions of them anywhere on the net.
Barlos
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Apr 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2011 3:05    Post subject: DIR-632 hardware spect Reply with quote
I bought myself a DIR-632. I opened it and did some research on the web. My thought as the following.

DIR-632's CPU, RAM, Wireless NIC and rom are covered by metal plate. as you can see form below.


Hardware Spect:
PCB ver.: A1
D-Link Firmware: 1.0.2 dated: 2010/11/26
CPU: AR7241 or AR7242 @ 400Mhz(MIPS32 24Kc), see note.
Wireless NIC: AR9287 <= from FCC ID search's photo
8 port switch chip: RTL8309G
rom ROM size: 8mb <= The D-Link official rom is 7.6mb . see note.
RAM: 32MB <= my guess. see note.
KY capacitor <= not Japanese brand.
One USB, can connect to a USB hub, for more usb devices sharing.
USB 3G: It support D-Link its own DWM-156 3G nic.
Power in: 100~240V 0.4A, Power Out 5V 2.5A

Note:
CPU: CPU, RAM and ROM are covered by metal plate and photos form FCC ID search are not clear enough to identify the chips' model number. The above info is my guess based on my research from the web or some common technical sense. From Openwrt.com supported hardware, routers use Athero AR9287 wirelsss nic are based on Athero AR7241 CPU. I downloaded D-Link GPL source code for DIR-632, it states as AR7242. As from Openwrt.com, all the ar724x cpus use Target ar71xx for firmware source code compiling.

RAM: all the ar7241 cpu routers have 32mb of ram.

ROM: The official rom is around 7.6mb. The physical rom size can't be smaller that that. DIR-632 does have many help description written in asp and built into the ROM file, which make sense why it is 8mb rom.
flashdrive
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 May 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2011 2:54    Post subject: Under the shielding Reply with quote
Here are the photos of the chips underneath the two shielded areas. This is for the A1 revision.

So for all the answers:
FCC-ID: KA2IR632A1
Hires internals pics attached.
CPU: AR7242
RAM: 32MB
Wireless: AR9287
Ethernet: RTL8309G

Is this supportable?
mikltk
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Oct 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2011 20:43    Post subject: So firmware then??? Reply with quote
Hey, so we know the chipset, and all the rest of the details for the router, can a firmware be generated based on this alone or is there a firmware that might be compatible with this model router?
sufferer
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Oct 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2011 17:16    Post subject: wanted wrt for dlink dir-632 Reply with quote
Hello everybody. I want to install wrt to my router.I finded.I tried to find the firmware on this site but have not found anything suitable.Can anybody to help me with link to documentation so something usefull?
LKS
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Oct 2011
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 11:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Please, please... I need one router w/ 8ports.

Make the firmware for the 632 guys =(
Synth3t1c
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Oct 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2011 14:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've got one of these routers. What is left to get DD-WRT working on this? I would like to use it if possible Smile
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7045

PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2011 15:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Synth3t1c wrote:
I've got one of these routers. What is left to get DD-WRT working on this?


What makes you believe that anything has been done?
The developers can not make builds from hardware specifications only, they need a router to work on.
That is a router donated from the users and none has arrived so far.
DasShrubber2
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Oct 2011
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 15:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router has been purchased and will be shipped shortly.
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 27, 28, 29  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 29
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum