Atheros AR2317 on TP-Link WR340G????

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
cybermiguel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jun 2009
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 0:42    Post subject: Atheros AR2317 on TP-Link WR340G???? Reply with quote
Hi guys.

I've been reading this forum for a while, but I haven't posted anything until now. xD

Anyway, doing some research on a router that I have, it seems that the TP-Link WR340G has an Atheros AR2317-AC1A chip which will allow (eventually) to install DD-WRT on it.

Is it possible?

Does any of you have more details?

Right now, I'm looking at an FCC page with the chips on it. Here's the link:

https://fjallfoss.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/reports/ViewExhibitReport.cfm?mode=Exhibits&RequestTimeout=500&calledFromFrame=N&application_id=991915&fcc_id=%27TE7WR340G%27

Regards.
Sponsor
meno
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 5:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
flash size too small
cybermiguel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jun 2009
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 20:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
meno wrote:
flash size too small


what's the size? can it fit the "micro" version? Confused
meno
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 3:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
it doesnt avaliable the micro version for atheros, 4Mb minimum
cybermiguel
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jun 2009
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 1:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes, but what's the flash size for this router?

I don't know how to see it. :?

I saw a Marvell chip that I think it controls the hub and stuff like that (since the Atheros controls the router itself being a SoC...)

the other thing I found was a small chip with the following numbers:

z1zpsczb
016S338
s8171pb5

and a big letter "i" on it.

and the last chip I found was the Elpida one that appears on this site wiki.

Now, if this router is based on Atheros AR2317, in theory could be used with DD-WRT. Again, I don't know what chip is ram and what chip is flash, so I don't know if I can flash it.
meno
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 14:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
send me a photo of ur board, and I´ll see the flash chip size
liverpoolatnight
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 May 2008
Posts: 174
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 13:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Did anyone come a success with the TL-WR340G v5
https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?pid=109141
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7214

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 13:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
liverpoolatnight wrote:
Did anyone come a success with the TL-WR340G v5
https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?pid=109141


Why don't you ask in the OpenWRT forum?
The TL-WR340G v5 has a 2MB flash chip and is not supported by dd-wrt and will never become supported either.

_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already
tspilk
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Dec 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Dec 11, 2010 23:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
meno wrote:
send me a photo of ur board, and I´ll see the flash chip size


I am sending you some links via PM.

I looked up the flash chip online at http://www.esmt.com.tw/DB/manager/upload/ProductSelectionESMTDRAMNov06.pdf


Let me know what you think. I can read chips for you if they are illegible.

ESMT is M12L64164A- 7T
next line is ANM1P00YS 1019

Big Atheros chip says
AR2317-AC1A
T003072.1C
1029
CHINA

Little Atheros chip says
AR8236-AL1A
SFKN282
1018
TAIWAN

This is Ver 3.1
FCC ID TE7WR340GV3

Thanks

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/7771567/router/2010-12-11%2015.09.59.jpg

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/7771567/router/2010-12-11%2015.10.17.jpg

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/7771567/router/2010-12-11%2015.10.28.jpg

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/7771567/router/2010-12-11%2015.11.22.jpg

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/7771567/router/2010-12-11%2015.11.33.jpg

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/7771567/router/2010-12-11%2015.14.03.jpg
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7214

PostPosted: Sun Dec 12, 2010 1:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
tspilk wrote:


I looked up the flash chip online at http://www.esmt.com.tw/DB/manager/upload/ProductSelectionESMTDRAMNov06.pdf



That is the DRAM , not the flash.
It is 8MB and that is not enough work memory for a dd-wrt Atheros build.

_________________
I'm on a whiskey diet, lost 3 days already
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum