Asus RT-N16 /opt mounted twice on 2 separate - Build 15778

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
striker69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Dec 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 0:21    Post subject: Asus RT-N16 /opt mounted twice on 2 separate - Build 15778 Reply with quote
I installed optware on an external hard drive on my Asus RT-N16 by following Optware - The right way. Everything works fine except that when I reboot my router, two partitions are mounted as /opt (disc0/part1 & disc0/part3).

I found the same issue here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=74683&highlight=rtn16+opt, and it states it's been fixed in build 14818. Well, I still have that problem on 15778.

By doing umount /opt, the part3 unmounts correctly and optware starts ok.

Anyone knows a fix for this?

Thanks
Marc
Sponsor
Masterman
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2057
Location: South Florida

PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is one of your partitions NTFS?

Post an output of your mount properties from the Services->USB Web-GUI page like the following..



mount.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  49.33 KB
 Viewed:  10099 Time(s)

mount.png



_________________
Optware, the Right Way
Asus WL520gU
Asus WL500gPv2 x2
Asus WL500W
Asus RT-N10
Asus RT-N12
Asus RT-N16 x3
D-Link DIR-825B
Linksys WRT320Nv1
Linksys WRT600Nv1.1
Linksys WRT610Nv1
Linksys E2000
Netgear WNDR3300
TP-Link WR1043ND
striker69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Dec 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
No NTFS partition. I followed the tutorial for Optware the Right way.

3 ext3 partition + 1 swap.



0003.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  77.72 KB
 Viewed:  10082 Time(s)

0003.jpg


striker69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Dec 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2010 12:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Any feedback on this?
buddee
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 7371
Location: Little Rock

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2010 12:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Perhaps try the forum recommended 14929 build, the other later ones are more or less test builds.
_________________
Wireless N Config | Linking Routers | DD-WRT Wiki | DD-WRT Builds | Peacock - Broadcom FAQ

Having problems with port forwarding? Check out Port Forward Troubleshooting for more info.
blaughtmon
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Mar 2010
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2010 18:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Use build 15940. This is by far the best build I've come across for the RT-N16.
striker69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Dec 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 14:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried both builds, (14929 & 15940), I have the same problem with the /opt being mounted twice on 2 different partitions.

I also noticed that the router slows down a lot after less than a day. My internet connection becomes REALLY SLOW, It's like a 14.4Kbps modem :)

I reboot the router, and everything starts to go fast again. I validated that nothing is using the internet connection when it's slow.

Thanks
Masterman
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2057
Location: South Florida

PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 14:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Post an output of the following from a Command prompt:


Code:
service automount

_________________
Optware, the Right Way
Asus WL520gU
Asus WL500gPv2 x2
Asus WL500W
Asus RT-N10
Asus RT-N12
Asus RT-N16 x3
D-Link DIR-825B
Linksys WRT320Nv1
Linksys WRT600Nv1.1
Linksys WRT610Nv1
Linksys E2000
Netgear WNDR3300
TP-Link WR1043ND
striker69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Dec 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 14:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
When I boot service does not exist, since /opt is invalid. so it returns:

-sh: service: not found

and mount gives:

rootfs on / type rootfs (rw)
/dev/root on / type squashfs (ro)
none on /dev type devfs (rw)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
ramfs on /tmp type ramfs (rw)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
devpts on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
/dev/discs/disc0/part1 on /opt type ext3 (rw,data=ordered)
/dev/discs/disc0/part3 on /opt type ext3 (rw,data=ordered)

Once I umount part3 from /opt, optware starts and service returns:

Mounted partitions in automount:
/dev/discs/disc0/part1 on /opt type ext3 (rw,noatime,data=ordered)
/dev/sda4 on /mnt type ext3 (rw,noatime,data=ordered)
/dev/sda3 on /tmp/c type ext3 (rw,noatime,data=ordered)
Mounted partitions NOT in automount:
Unmounted attached partitions to be hotmounted:
Unmounted attached partitions (unassigned):
Unmounted attached partitions which should not be mounted:
Unattached partitions in automount:
Unrecognized partitions:
Masterman
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2057
Location: South Florida

PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2010 23:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Interesting. Try removing or expanding the JFFS partition in LVM or GParted and see what happens..Perhaps the smaller size of part3 compared to part 1 is creating issues (since Frater's script is dependent on FS size). You could also try changing either /opt or jffs to ext2 and see if that makes any difference..
_________________
Optware, the Right Way
Asus WL520gU
Asus WL500gPv2 x2
Asus WL500W
Asus RT-N10
Asus RT-N12
Asus RT-N16 x3
D-Link DIR-825B
Linksys WRT320Nv1
Linksys WRT600Nv1.1
Linksys WRT610Nv1
Linksys E2000
Netgear WNDR3300
TP-Link WR1043ND
mulebreath
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Sep 2010
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Jan 01, 2011 4:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Same problem. Things work if I uncheck USB 1.1 Support (UHCI) and USB 1.1 Support (OHCI). But then my printer doesn't work.
sagar777
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jan 2011
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 0:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have the exact same problem except the internet slow problem.

disabling USB 1.1 Support (UHCI) and USB 1.1 Support (OHCI) also does not help. I do have one NTFS whole disk partition on my second USB drive.

_________________
ASUS RT-N16.
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/19/10) mega - build 15943M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko.
Optware the Right way.
USB1=8GB Transcend Flash
USB2=2TB HDD (Not working yet)

----
USB1 partitioning:
* /opt 2048 megabytes
* swap 256 megabytes
* /jffs 1024 megabytes
* data remainder of the disk (/mnt 4.4GB)
---
roundbrown
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 17:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
It seems like the newest brainslayer release has some folks still experiencing this issue as well so I'm not sure it has been resolved yet.

https://secure.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=84771&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=60&sid=1aa92dcf4580c33b50e6652a99705587

For a quick fix, I re-enabled jffs2 in the UI and stuck a shell script in the /jffs directory.

Code:

#!/bin/sh

mount=/opt
mountregex="part3 on $mount"
command=$(mount | grep -c "$mountregex")

if [ $command = 1 ]
        then
        /bin/umount $mount
        echo "Unmounting duplicate $mount directory"
fi

/opt/usr/sbin/service automount start
                       
exit 0



I then added it as the script to run on automount back in the UI. It's not ideal, but it's working now after reboots.
Masterman
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2057
Location: South Florida

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 19:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
@roundbrown


That shell script defeats DD-WRT's automount, and fraters scripts are dependent on it.

What are the results when you issue a reboot command from a shell? Do the running optware services and partitions automatically unmount themselves?

Fraters newest automount fixed this issue, and I know this for a fact on B.S's latest build..

_________________
Optware, the Right Way
Asus WL520gU
Asus WL500gPv2 x2
Asus WL500W
Asus RT-N10
Asus RT-N12
Asus RT-N16 x3
D-Link DIR-825B
Linksys WRT320Nv1
Linksys WRT600Nv1.1
Linksys WRT610Nv1
Linksys E2000
Netgear WNDR3300
TP-Link WR1043ND
roundbrown
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 20:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
The problem is with DD-wrt's automount, not optware's automount from what I can tell. The issue just happened the other day. It was working fine and I added a usb hub and a printer to go along with my drobo raid-box. Next thing I know the automount is mounting the 1st partition and the 3rd partition to /opt, disabling any of the optware from getting going. For some reason dd-wrt's automount is having issues properly detecting the correct partition to mount. As mentioned above, a single umount of opt, unmounts the third partition and reveals the 1st partition where optware is under it. All this script does it automate that as I was going to have to do it by hand. I'd love a solution, but this is only a temporary fix for those with this issue.
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum