(Pixelserv) This page cannot be displayed

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Gennoise
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Dec 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 23:44    Post subject: (Pixelserv) This page cannot be displayed Reply with quote
Hi

I was recently checking out Frater's optware: the right way. I was happily surprised when I saw a preconfigured version of pixelserv, but there seems to be a problem. Sad

Knowing myself, I can say I've probably missed something obvious, but I just can't figure out what's the cause. Pixelserv does succeed in blocking advertisements, but rather than replacing ads with 1 square pixel, the ads are being replaced with an ugly "This page cannot be displayed" message.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsor
jumran
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Jul 2009
Posts: 492
Location: Toronto, ON, CA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 23:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Make sure your DNS service settings match the following on your router.

Also make sure optware service xinetd is on and started.



DD-WRT DNS.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  20.1 KB
 Viewed:  7467 Time(s)

DD-WRT DNS.jpg



_________________
Asus RT-N16 [Build King Kong 18050M NEWD-2 K2.6 + Optware + My Page] Mr. Green
Gennoise
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Dec 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 0:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
No luck, my dnsmasq settings are the same as yours and xinetd is running.


service.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  63.65 KB
 Viewed:  7463 Time(s)

service.png



dnsmasq.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  6.46 KB
 Viewed:  7463 Time(s)

dnsmasq.png


Gennoise
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Dec 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
shameless bump

I can't be the only one who has this problem right? All I did was start xinetd and start pixelserv on a clean install... Help me out please.
Gennoise
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Dec 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 18:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
bump for justice!

Breaking news: I turned on system logging, and this error pops up every few webpages:

Code:
Feb  5 19:07:20 WRT610N daemon.err xinetd[1832]: execv( /opt/usr/sbin/pixelserv.pl ) failed: Exec format error (errno = 8)


What does it mean?

By the way, the "Page cannot be displayed" message appears about 7 out of 10 times when I repeatedly refresh a page with advertisements. On the remaining 3 out of 10 times, the pixel loads just fine. What the duck?
frater
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2777

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 18:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
As I wrote in another thread...
I broke pixelserv a while ago when I tried to add support for pixelserv.pl.
I just discovered it today.

It should run pixelserv, not pixelserv.pl

Code:
wget -O /opt/etc/init.d/S45pixelserv http://wd.mirmana.com/S45pixelserv

_________________
Asus RT16N + OTRW
Kingston 4GB USB-disk 128 MB swap + 1.4GB ext3 on /opt + 2 GB ext3 on /mnt
Copperjet 1616 modem in ZipB-config
Asterisk, pixelserv & Pound running on router
Another Asus RT16N as WDS-bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 vpn (c) 2010 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/16/10 (SVN revision: 15758M)
Gennoise
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Dec 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 18:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Good stuff! After updating, the same advertisement displayed the message only 2 out of 10 times using firefox. Very Happy

Internet Explorer still displays it almost every time though Sad. (I'm talking about the top banner on the Belgian MSN's web portal: http://be.msn.com/default.aspx). But I don't use anything other than firefox anyway, and I can live with a success rate of 80%.
frater
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2777

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 19:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
You also need to restart the service...
It should have no problem to get a 100% success rate

_________________
Asus RT16N + OTRW
Kingston 4GB USB-disk 128 MB swap + 1.4GB ext3 on /opt + 2 GB ext3 on /mnt
Copperjet 1616 modem in ZipB-config
Asterisk, pixelserv & Pound running on router
Another Asus RT16N as WDS-bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 vpn (c) 2010 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/16/10 (SVN revision: 15758M)
Gennoise
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Dec 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 19:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
I did restart pixelserv, I even rebooted the router after removing the old S45pixelserv and downloading the new one. But it still pops a "page cannot be displayed" bar every now and then.

Edit: It probably has something to do with my cached webpages because pixelserv works 100% of the time when viewing webpages on a virtual machine. Thanks again frater

http://10.63.63.1/ returns a 1x1 GIF as it should


Last edited by Gennoise on Sat Feb 05, 2011 19:15; edited 2 times in total
frater
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2777

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 19:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
What happens if you go to http://10.63.63.1 ?
_________________
Asus RT16N + OTRW
Kingston 4GB USB-disk 128 MB swap + 1.4GB ext3 on /opt + 2 GB ext3 on /mnt
Copperjet 1616 modem in ZipB-config
Asterisk, pixelserv & Pound running on router
Another Asus RT16N as WDS-bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 vpn (c) 2010 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/16/10 (SVN revision: 15758M)
frater
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2777

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 19:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just did some repeated requests on http://10.63.63.1 and noticed I'm able to overload it.
I then did another test using pixelserv listening on 10.63.63.1 itself (not using xinetd)

I will now start to rewrite S45pixelserv so it will work 100%.

Hold your breath!

_________________
Asus RT16N + OTRW
Kingston 4GB USB-disk 128 MB swap + 1.4GB ext3 on /opt + 2 GB ext3 on /mnt
Copperjet 1616 modem in ZipB-config
Asterisk, pixelserv & Pound running on router
Another Asus RT16N as WDS-bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 vpn (c) 2010 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/16/10 (SVN revision: 15758M)
bkmo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Oct 2007
Posts: 385
Location: Grecia, Costa Rica

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 19:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
frater wrote:
I just did some repeated requests on http://10.63.63.1 and noticed I'm able to overload it.
I then did another test using pixelserv listening on 10.63.63.1 itself (not using xinetd)

I will now start to rewrite S45pixelserv so it will work 100%.

Hold your breath!

I'm turning blue.........patiently
frater
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2777

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 19:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
redownload it and restart pixelserv

This is what happens if I run netstat...

# netstat -lntp | grep :8
Code:
tcp        0      0 <wanip>:80         0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      20313/xinetd
tcp        0      0 192.168.10.1:80         0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      20313/xinetd
tcp        0      0 169.254.255.1:80        0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      20313/xinetd
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:80            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      20313/xinetd
tcp        0      0 10.63.63.1:80           0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      16248/pixelserv
tcp        0      0 192.168.10.1:8080       0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      3804/pound
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:88              0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      1280/httpd

_________________
Asus RT16N + OTRW
Kingston 4GB USB-disk 128 MB swap + 1.4GB ext3 on /opt + 2 GB ext3 on /mnt
Copperjet 1616 modem in ZipB-config
Asterisk, pixelserv & Pound running on router
Another Asus RT16N as WDS-bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 vpn (c) 2010 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/16/10 (SVN revision: 15758M)
frater
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2777

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 21:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Still alive?
_________________
Asus RT16N + OTRW
Kingston 4GB USB-disk 128 MB swap + 1.4GB ext3 on /opt + 2 GB ext3 on /mnt
Copperjet 1616 modem in ZipB-config
Asterisk, pixelserv & Pound running on router
Another Asus RT16N as WDS-bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 vpn (c) 2010 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/16/10 (SVN revision: 15758M)
bkmo
DD-WRT User


Joined: 18 Oct 2007
Posts: 385
Location: Grecia, Costa Rica

PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2011 21:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
frater wrote:
Still alive?

Seems to be working fine for me. I was just kidding about holding my breath.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum