WRT610N

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 144, 145, 146  Next
Author Message
kaja69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Oct 2009
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Looking for people with WRT610N V2 + OpenVPN experience. Which build is stable and include the easiest/newest OpenVPN configuration?
_________________
WRT-610N v2 - build 14594 (first flash)
Sponsor
jkelso
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 Jan 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 6:27    Post subject: Some clarification please Reply with quote
Hello,

I have stock WRT610N v2 and am headed towards E3000 as per this thread.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=75183&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=wrt610nv2&start=0

First I need DD-WRT installed but wiki not clear on one point. All over the forums and Wiki people stress hard reset before and after each firmware flash yet wiki seems to say hard reset is not needed before first mini dd-wrt flash....
http://dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_WRT610N_v2.0

Installation
NOTE: During configuration or flashing a device, the only cables that should be attached to the device are the network cable to your computer and the power cable.
Warning: This unit MUST use K2.6 firmware.
Make sure you use a firmware with wrt610nv2 in the filename for the initial installation like the one below:

ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/03-24-10-r14144/broadcom_K26/dd-wrt.v24-14144_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_wrt610nv2.bin

a. Flash firmware through the Linksys WebGUI.

b. After a couple minutes you should see an "Update Completed Succesfully" Screen.

c. Wait...at least three minutes after that just to be safe.

d. Do a power cycle of the router. (Unplug the cord, count to 10 and plug it back in.)

e. Wait for the lights to return to normal, usually about 2 minutes.

f. Do a HARD reset. Wait. Check for the password page and login to change the password.

g. After you have DD-WRT on the router you can then flash the latest mega build: ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/03-24-10-r14144/broadcom_K26/dd-wrt.v24-14144_NEWD-2_K2.6_big.bin

Make sure that you do not flash any build to your router that has the name of a different model router at the end of the filename.

Yet this same wiki page warns "NO "Easy recovery" after 30-30-30!"


Is it missing or am I reading it wrong?

Thanks
gielie
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jan 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 8:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi all,
I have an WRT610 V1 and i flashed my router following the rules with the latest DD-WRT (dd-wrt.v24-15962_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega.bin)
I have some performance issues. The speed is a bit lower compared to the stock firmware, wifi and with a cable. For the wifi i see signal drops so i can not stream a video file over the wifi network. For the cabled signal my max is 40 Mbit(of a 60Mbit connection) and with the stock firmware i reach 58 Mbit.
Does anyone have a solution for me, what kind of settinf do i have to change to get a good signal.
stephensuley
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Feb 2008
Posts: 421
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 19:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
WhizzWr wrote:
Hi, new DD-WRT user here.

So I got myself a WRT610nv2 last week, and decided to try Dd-WRT last night.

I bricked my router on my first attempt. Laughing Due to me being careless, I didn't notice I was flashing a wrong firmware. (I knew which firmware to flash but I just didn't bother to recheck its filename. Laughing ).

No FW mgmt mode after 30-30-30, so I had to use eko's trick.
(So long warranty!Shocked).

I've also had it converted to E3000. :P

Right now I'm running DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/24/10) mega.



I've done the same thing...

I get the ping ttl=100 every reboot, but no matter what I do, I can't get my 610nv2 into mangement mode.

I've tried all 3 methods listed here;

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_WRT610N#Recovery_.28Unbricking.29



Whats the trick?

UPDATE: I used the magic pin short trick and thast worked for me.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=63371&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

_________________
1x 610Nv1, 1x 610Nv2 , 1x e3000 ,1x e4200
Latest stable build + OTRW
bmwnick
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2011 5:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
gielie wrote:
Hi all,
I have an WRT610 V1 and i flashed my router following the rules with the latest DD-WRT (dd-wrt.v24-15962_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega.bin)
I have some performance issues. The speed is a bit lower compared to the stock firmware, wifi and with a cable. For the wifi i see signal drops so i can not stream a video file over the wifi network. For the cabled signal my max is 40 Mbit(of a 60Mbit connection) and with the stock firmware i reach 58 Mbit.
Does anyone have a solution for me, what kind of settinf do i have to change to get a good signal.


I have been using DD-WRT v24-sp2 (11/09/10) mega with little issues
mifronte
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2011 23:48    Post subject: LAN Ports Sleep/Suspends? Reply with quote
Do the LAN ports on this router automatically sleep or suspend when there is no activity?

I have a Seagate FreeAgent Theater+ media streamer that thinks there is no network connection everytime it has been idle for a period of time. A reboot of the Seagate device gets the network working again.

I do not have this problem when I connect it to my WRT54GL LAN port or a TrendNet switch.

I am just trying to figure out what could be the problem? The problem also happens if I have it connected to a WRT320N LAN port.

Running DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/17/10) std-usb-ftp - build 14974M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko
boelkstoff
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Feb 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2011 19:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
hello,
I bought the Linksys WRT610N rev2.

I am having huge problems with the WLAN. It is totally unstable. I used to use a fritzbox and had no problems with my iPhone and my my squeezebox.

But when using dd-wrt with the WRT610N, my iphones looses connection every 5min and I have to activate WLAN on the iphone by hand again. With the squeezebox again.

What did I do wrong? is there a solution for this?

Please help me.

Thank you very much in advance.
hippotek
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Feb 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 1:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
@boelkstoff

Which version of DD-WRT do you have installed?
Did you follow the 30-30-30 reset procedure?

I had stability issues too, with earlier builds.

Use 14929 - 02/17/11
Follow the instructions in the peacock thread:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=51486
boelkstoff
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Feb 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 8:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
@hippotek
Thanks for your reply.

I did it like in the install howto here:
http://dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_WRT610N_v2.0

I used the images from the main website, which is:
dd-wrt.v24-14896_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_wrt610nv2.bin
THen I used:
dd-wrt.v24-14896_NEWD-2_K2.6_big.bin
dd-wrt.v24-14896_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_usb_ftp.bin

After a couple of hours I gave up and downloaded the original firmware and flashed it with the webgui to the original firmware.
boelkstoff
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Feb 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 11:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
@hippotek

Hey I have looked thru the thread and the download links and did not find it.

Can you give me the link to the firmware you are using?

Thanks

Edit: this one?
ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2010/08-12-10-r14929/broadcom_K26/
Peabody
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 1517

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 22:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
boelkstoff wrote:
@hippotek

Hey I have looked thru the thread and the download links and did not find it.

Can you give me the link to the firmware you are using?

Thanks

Edit: this one?
ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2010/08-12-10-r14929/broadcom_K26/


ALWAYS read the announcements very carefully. That is the current recommended build. That 14896 build wasn't great IHO. Lots of people reported wireless dropouts. Make sure you follow the proper process for flashing set out in the peacock announcement. Top of this forum. Read Carefully!

_________________
I fix "shortcuts". If you don't have time to read thoroughly, I don't have time to re-type what you missed.
boelkstoff
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Feb 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
@Peabody
Sorry I just went to ht main HP, searched for my router and took these files.


But now I have a different problem. The flashing seemed to work. I did 303030 mini 303030 mega 303030.
The Wlan seems to be stable from my laptop and my squeezebox.
But somehow now from my iPhone. When I don't use my iPhone for a while (30min), I have to manually choose the Wlan and type the wpa2 key in.
I have already diabled dnaseq and WWM on the router. But still this seems strange.
Can anybody help me?
Tech nicolour
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Nov 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 20:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Looking into getting native IPv6 on my WRT610N. Just wondering if anyone has had experience with this before?

Keen to get it working in my local network in preparation for the dual stack trial my isp is running.


Cheers
Masterman
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2059
Location: South Florida

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 22:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tech nicolour wrote:
Looking into getting native IPv6 on my WRT610N. Just wondering if anyone has had experience with this before?

Keen to get it working in my local network in preparation for the dual stack trial my isp is running.


Cheers


If your router is a V2, this is the only "proper" option as of now:

http://lampiweb.com/virtual/tomatok26/basic-ipv6.html

_________________
Optware, the Right Way
Asus RT-N66U
Asus RT-N10
Asus RT-N12
Asus RT-N16 x5
Asus WL520gU
Asus WL500gPv2 x2
Asus WL500W
D-Link DIR-825B
Engenious ECB3500
Linksys WRT320Nv1
Linksys WRT600Nv1.1
Linksys WRT610Nv1
Linksys E2000
Netgear WNDR3300
SonicWall NSA220W
SonicWall TZ215W
SonicWall TZ210W
SonicWall TZ205W
SonicWall TZ200W
SonicWall TZ190W
SonicWall TZ180W
SonicWall TZ170W
SonicWall TZ105W
Tech nicolour
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Nov 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
So there is a significant difference in v1 and v2 that you have to worry about it?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 144, 145, 146  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 145 of 146
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum