Please help me whit my actiontec

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> ARM or PPC based Hardware
Author Message
notoyjose
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Feb 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 19:39    Post subject: Please help me whit my actiontec Reply with quote
i need to revert to original firmware my actiontec mi424wr V.D
but i don´t find any manual or help that clearly show how to do that
my router has ddwrt sp2 firmware already working but my wan port dosn't work i'll try every mod that could be find on the web
please can anybody help me i don't big skills into linux commands or redboot
but i already flashed my actiontec with the manual
Sponsor
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17417
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2011 0:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
read the openwrt wiki
_________________
GEGEN die EEG-UMLAGE auf EIGENVERBRAUCH!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
Phylum
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Mar 2010
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 21:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Not sure if you still need help with this, but I'm putting this here for those of who actually perform searches.

Quote:
The original image can be restored using the following procedure:

1.Get a copy of rb-mi424wr-RAM.img .
2.load -h <ipaddress> rb-mi424wr-RAM.img
3.go
4.Close telnet session and start another one; may require setting IP address on host. Verify that RAM version is running with version command.
5.load -h <ipaddress> -r -b %{FREEMEMLO} mi424wr-xxxxxxxxxx.bin
6.fis unlock RedBoot
7.fis write -b %{FREEMEMLO} -l 0x800000 -f 0x50000000
8.Close telnet session and power cycle.


Some keywords:
restore original firmware reinstall original firmware
mitchellfletcher
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Mar 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2011 16:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Phylum wrote:
Not sure if you still need help with this, but I'm putting this here for those of who actually perform searches.

Quote:
The original image can be restored using the following procedure:

1.Get a copy of rb-mi424wr-RAM.img .
2.load -h <ipaddress> rb-mi424wr-RAM.img
3.go
4.Close telnet session and start another one; may require setting IP address on host. Verify that RAM version is running with version command.
5.load -h <ipaddress> -r -b %{FREEMEMLO} mi424wr-xxxxxxxxxx.bin
6.fis unlock RedBoot
7.fis write -b %{FREEMEMLO} -l 0x800000 -f 0x50000000
8.Close telnet session and power cycle.


Some keywords:
restore original firmware reinstall original firmware




thanks for the info.Smile
agaurav
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jun 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 18:50    Post subject: Help restoring original firmware for Actiontec M1424-WR Reply with quote
I have an Actiontec M1424-WR Rev D. router handed down to me by a friend who has no use for it. I already have Verizon FIOS Internet (no TV or Phone) service and my router is connected to the ONT via ethernet. I plan to use my friend's router as a secondary router to setup a "MoCA bridge" to get ethernet in a room that has coax only with little/no possibility of wiring Cat5 cable. My plan is to attach this secondary Actiontec to the ONT via Coax and keep my current primary Actiontec as-is (no changes).

So my friend had installed DD-WRT on the Actiontec but I have no use for it since I want MoCA capabilities enabled. I got to the Redboot> prompt and was able to load the RAM img which I downloaded from wiki.openwrt.org site.

Question is - what is mi424wr-xxxxxxxxxx.bin image and where do I get it from? Verizon website gives an image for their OEM Action routers that is called roughly: 4.0.16.1.56.0.10.11.6-MI424WR.rmt. Is this the file or do I get the mi424wr-bin from somewhere else? I searched dd-wrt/openwrt wiki and Google'd as well but I guess the problem is that this is so basic that I am probably missing the whole point. Perhaps this is how all firmware versions are specified and I just need to search appropriately but I am unable to figure out.

Any other tips or pointers greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot,
Guraaf
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> ARM or PPC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum